Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS and Changes for R3 vs St Kilda

Best vs Giants

Bolton taking the piss :p
Whitfield's thought process was pretty clear: 'this blokes gonna step around me like a pot hole, no point looking foolish here, I'm just gonna drift up and out of frame, the perfect crime'.

Couldn't be happier with the win today, to the point it's hard to know where to start!

Huge thanks to Ferrari Cameron for fatally underestimating our rucks and somehow still failing to recognise that at the 'G - the scene of The Plastic's greatest humiliation - fast run and spread STILL counts for a hell of a lot. :cool:

I took Dimma at his word when he said Cotch had his best pre-season in years and was going to have a great season, so thrilled to see him give us that game. Hunted the footy and the man - in that order - like the champion he is and led from the front for every minute. Right up there for BOG.

Soldo was huge. The 4-goal buffer we kept holding through the 2nd and 3rd quarters was largely thanks to him with his couple of goals and fearsome centre square work. Nank really good too, set the tone and attacked the contest exactly the way you want a captain playing his 100th to do. Both showed what happens when you play a boy against very large, very aggressive men and both made GWS pay for that decision.

Massive effort from all our defenders today. Robbie 'The Fist' Tarrant was close to flawless and such a great anchorman, **** played a blinder (as he almost always does when we're stretched down back), Gibcus was Baby Rance-like again (how about that flat 60m bomb to Bolton on the wing and his freakish agility!!), Miller was really solid, Short and Rioli both excellent rebounding and really sound defensively. Between them they gave the GWS FWD line an absolute bath and were probably the difference in the game over four quarters all things considered.

And we still have Mansell and Biggie in the wings. Downright bloody exciting.

I'd like to never hear the words 'Swingman' or 'Key Defender' applied to Balta ever again.

He's too good to play anywhere else other than CHF. I thought we played him too deep too often today, but hopefully when Jack's back he'll play higher, keep dominating and keep causing coaches massive migraines at the match-up table. Ripper game, may there be 300 more.

Real breakout performances from several fringe players today. Ralphsmith was superb with his run and carry, can't wait to see the finished product 2-3yrs from now when the delivery really syncs up with the wheels. Parker and Pickett smashed their opponents in contested ball and run all day and were great contributors. Dow was impressive at the clearances (hope nothing serious with his subbing), Ross was solid, Chaos was passably good, really stood up when it counted with that crunch goal in the 4Q and deserved the other goal.

Shedda's performance was ominous. Reminded me exactly of past seasons where it takes him 4-6 games to get warm, his touch is off, the repeat effort and run is not there, he's not quite getting to the right spots yet, and then bang, he spends the rest of the season reminding the AFL why he's considered an absolute champion. If he can stay fit, bookmark the return of Shedda.

No taking next week for granted. The 'Aints are a freakish unit, they're occasionally virtually unbeatable when things go their way and Superhero Stadium is a cesspit. Any kind of win with no injuries will do there and then the season really opens up for us.

There's plenty of roar left in the Mighty Tigers yet. Get back onboard that train. :thumbsu::richmond:

Tiger Train.png

Sadly I think you might be right. I so want Ross to succeed but like a lot of posters here I reckon we hurt his development after he came back from his syndamosis injury in 2019 and we tried to turn him into a winger/half back. 🥺
Agree. Would love for him to turn it around but I just can't see it.

Good rock solid win rebounding with a team effort. To W clearances and contested v a side with real strengths in those areas was impressive. Our defence continues to be the Rock of Gibraltar and our new game plan focussed on more clinical entries , 29 scoring shots from 53 entries is BIG . Balta and lynch with 7G between them pose a huge threat and are working well together , boy does lynch do some heavy lifting ,,if mrj gets into the side , ffs stay within 15m of lynch at all times you’ll get plenty of crumbs
Love marls game , he’s really believing and playing damaging footy . A few owe Parker an apology was outstanding , more of the same matty

Big thumbs up for me from Leon Cameron today. Another two weeks of playing Tom Greene in the ruck will make him a lock to leave next year

Couldn't be happier with the win today, to the point it's hard to know where to start!

Huge thanks to Ferrari Cameron for fatally underestimating our rucks and somehow still failing to recognise that at the 'G - the scene of The Plastic's greatest humiliation - fast run and spread STILL counts for a hell of a lot. :cool:

I took Dimma at his word when he said Cotch had his best pre-season in years and was going to have a great season, so thrilled to see him give us that game. Hunted the footy and the man - in that order - like the champion he is and led from the front for every minute. Right up there for BOG.

Soldo was huge. The 4-goal buffer we kept holding through the 2nd and 3rd quarters was largely thanks to him with his couple of goals and fearsome centre square work. Nank really good too, set the tone and attacked the contest exactly the way you want a captain playing his 100th to do. Both showed what happens when you play a boy against very large, very aggressive men and both made GWS pay for that decision.

Massive effort from all our defenders today. Robbie 'The Fist' Tarrant was close to flawless and such a great anchorman, **** played a blinder (as he almost always does when we're stretched down back), Gibcus was Baby Rance-like again (how about that flat 60m bomb to Bolton on the wing and his freakish agility!!), Miller was really solid, Short and Rioli both excellent rebounding and really sound defensively. Between them they gave the GWS FWD line an absolute bath and were probably the difference in the game over four quarters all things considered.

I'd like to never hear the words 'Swingman' or 'Key Defender' applied to Balta ever again.

He's too good to play anywhere else other than CHF. I thought we played him too deep too often today, but hopefully when Jack's back he'll play higher, keep dominating and keep causing coaches massive migraines at the match-up table. Ripper game, may there be 300 more.

Real breakout performances from several fringe players today. Ralphsmith was superb with his run and carry, can't wait to see the finished product 2-3yrs from now when the delivery really syncs up with the wheels. Parker and Pickett smashed their opponents in contested ball and run all day and were great contributors. Dow was impressive at the clearances (hope nothing serious with his subbing), Ross was solid, Chaos was passably good, really stood up when it counted with that crunch goal in the 4Q and deserved the other goal.

Shedda's performance was ominous. Reminded me exactly of past seasons where it takes him 4-6 games to get warm, his touch is off, the repeat effort and run is not there, he's not quite getting to the right spots yet, and then bang, he spends the rest of the season reminding the AFL why he's considered an absolute champion. If he can stay fit, bookmark the return of Shedda.

No taking next week for granted. The 'Aints are a freakish unit, they're occasionally virtually unbeatable when things go their way and Superhero Stadium is a cesspit. Any kind of win with no injuries will do there and then the season really opens up for us.

There's plenty of roar left in the Mighty Tigers yet. Get back onboard that train. :thumbsu::richmond:

View attachment 1356416
Magnificent post mate. 👍💪

View attachment 1356416
Was easy to overlook our ruck strength R1 where Nank and soldo where clearly underdone given their interrupted prep , going forward it will be a strength of ours . Loving Hugo game , has that Brando dash but a more crisp user . Will take a lot out of that game

Good rock solid win rebounding with a team effort. To W clearances and contested v a side with real strengths in those areas was impressive. Our defence continues to be the Rock of Gibraltar and our new game plan focussed on more clinical entries , 29 scoring shots from <50 entries is BIG . Balta and lynch with 7G between them pose a huge threat and are working well together , boy does lynch do some heavy lifting ,,if mrj gets into the side , ffs stay within 15m of lynch at all times you’ll get plenty of crumbs
Love marls game , he’s really believing and playing damaging footy . A few owe Parker an apology was outstanding , more of the same matty
Yep, thought the Parker inclusion was dumb. I'm dumb.

Said it last year, Riewoldt should have retired. Look much better with Lynch and Balta pinch hitting
Balta brings a lot of ground level pressure to the forward line , you can see opposition backs are nervous when he’s in the vicinity

Really like the Lunch/Balta combo with Soldo/Nank occasionally pushing forward.