Round 18 Changes/Thoughts - Sydney

Pickett milestone a boost for Demons

12:52 PM Wed 1 August, 2007 | Back

By Jason Phelan

Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
News

BYRON Pickett will play his 200th AFL match when Melbourne takes on Sydney in Canberra on Sunday.

Pickett has been stranded one match short of the milestone, as a combination of injury, indifferent form and a club-imposed suspension has restricted him to just four games so far this season.

But Demons coach Mark Riley said the Kangaroos and Port Adelaide premiership player had left selectors little choice but to reward him.

“He’s been in excellent form at Sandringham. He’s played two rippers in a row, he’s trained well, so he’s forced us to pick him,” the coach said from Junction Oval on Wednesday.

Pickett, who turns 30 next week, is without a playing contract for next season, but Riley maintained it was unfair to say that he or any Melbourne players were playing for their careers in the remaining five weeks.

“That comment gets made about a lot of players, and particularly players in that age bracket who are coming out of contract,” Riley said.

“There aren’t too many players at the Melbourne Football Club whose careers will be hanging on the next five weeks. Yes, we’ll get to find out things about them, but really they’ll be judged over the [whole career] journey, not over this difficult time.

“Some of those guys have played very good football when we’ve played good football as a team, but we get to see a little bit more about their character rather than their football ability.

“We’re playing for the colours, and some guys are playing for their own character, not careers.”

Questioned extensively on the coaching situation at the club, Riley confirmed he had recently participated in the early stages of the selection process along with several other candidates.

The caretaker coach said he had not formally expressed his interest in any of the other three vacant AFL senior coaching positions. He maintained his firm desire to take over the reins at Melbourne in his own right, but he admitted the 89-point thrashing handed out by Port Adelaide on the weekend hadn’t helped his cause.

“It doesn’t tick too many boxes, let’s put it that way,” he said. “But I’m also of the opinion, though, that I didn’t inherit Phar Lap when I took over, and everyone knows that.

“I won’t be judged on performance only. There are other criteria and there’s a lengthy process in place. When you get beaten by 90 points it doesn’t do any coach any good but, you know, the West Coast Eagles were beaten there by 92 points.

“It’s been well-documented that I’ve come from the back markers and been able to forge a career in football, and I’m very proud of that, [but] I’m a fighter, I’ll stand and fight and I won’t be dying wondering – that’s one of my qualities. We’ll see how we go. I’m in the game.”

Riley said Aaron Davey would come straight back into the side after serving a two-match ban, but Travis Johnstone is still a week away with his achilles injury. Of the players who travelled to Adelaide, Russell Robertson (back spasm), Cameron Bruce (hamstring) and Colin Sylvia (groin) will be assessed at training this week.

If Colin doesn't play I will cry. I want to see crazy speckies and tackles in his 50th!

Out. Robbo (inj), Ferguson, Sylvia (inj), Bruce (inj)
In. Davey, Pickett, PJ, Jamar

Leaves us with a whole lotta talls Neitz, Juice, Jamar, White, PJ or Dutchy that we can slot in and out of the forward line as needed. PJ to play closer to a full game either roaming in defence (with Miller on Hall) or on the forward line.

Obvious from Sandy last week that Jamar can mark and have a crack at goal - if Neitz is still hurting it's not a bad option i don't reckon. The Russian is still more of a future player than Dutchy.

Maybe I'm dreaming?

Yeah great idea. Drop Browny! He's been nearly our best player over the past 6 weeks. Have you been watching a different Melbourne team have you? He's been given a challenge to show he is good enough to play on next year and based on his perfromances he hould be given another contract.

mate that is why we are going no good if he has been our best player over the past six weeks it proves we are really struggling

Yeah I understand your point but the fact that he has been one of our best over the last 6 weeks is not his fault. Browny does what he always does, puts in a 110% every week and racks up his 15-30 possesions a game setting up at half back or as a defensive forward a bit more these days. I know we have a few players around the 30 yrs age bracket that need to be cut but IMO Nathan has earnt his way high up the pecking order of this group and should be retained. Plus he brings a lot more to the club than just being a footy player. Its well known that he is a great mentor to younger players and a great exaple for them as to how to prepare as professionally as possible.