maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
Will be a great duel tonight, Rutten held Brown to two goals in the Rnd 7 clash with the lions, hopefully can hold Brown to at least that tonight.

Do people feel we will have a Mattner or Stevens coming across infront of Brown????

Is it a matter of stop Brown stop Brisbane??? or more important our midfeild simply cut off his supply in the first place???

I do think the Brisbane surge is largely to do with Brown. From what I have seen he has pretty much made the difference in a number of games since hitting this purple patch. Certainly starving him of goal scoring opportunities GREATLY increases your chances of beating Brisbane.

Jarrad Brennan can't be underestimated either. If we focus soley on Brown, Brennan will pop up. Having said that, I think we will more than likely have that spare man blocking the delivery to Brown given that Rutten is more often than not, left behind.

Same goes for Mitch Clark - when fit he is a very good player.

I expect Brown to get 3 or 4 goals as Rutten won't let him have his own way. If our midfield get on top though you could double that almost. Brown is a very good player but also makes the most of 99% of his opportunities when the likes of Black, Power, etc present them to him....

I too worry about Jarred Brennan. Yes Brown is a key to Brisbane, but if Brennan is on, HE IS ON.
Who do you reckon will take him? I would love to see Kris Massie take him on tonight, i reckon he would do a great job. I do however worry that Marty Mattner will be playing on him... Doh!

I also think we will need to watch out for the Black Lappin and Power show....

Hopefully Rutten can keep Brown very quiet but I don't think it's wholey stop Brown/Stop Brisbane. They still have a pretty awesome midfield and it will be ultra important for us to shut them down. The loss of Charman in the ruck should hopefully make that task a little easier for us.

Real Big Thumbs up to....

Real Big Thumbs up to ...... Ben Rutten as much as i do dislike it he did a "Great Job" on Brown not a "Sensonational" job but a good one considering Brown is arguably the best Forward in the comp

Why i think he did a great job

Stats

J.Brown Kicks 7, Handballs 3, Disposals 10, Marks 6, Tackles 2, Goals 1
B.Rutten Kicks 5, Handballs 7, Disposals 12, Marks 4, Tackes 1:thumbsu:

Rutten was so awesome tonight! :thumbsu:

Rutten was ably assisted by Brisbane midfield's forward entry and our other defenders willing to drop off their opponent to fill up the gap. He wasn't so much "awesome" as capable tonight.

Better than capable.

Watch the game again and see who took the honours in the pure 1 on 1's.

Rutten took the honours beyond a shadow of doubt IMO.

Against a quality KPP in Brown that is no mean feat and a damn sight better than capable.

yeah right - i suppose Reilly was just acceptable then ;)

Better than capable.

Watch the game again and see who took the honours in the pure 1 on 1's.

Rutten took the honours beyond a shadow of doubt IMO.

Against a quality KPP in Brown that is no mean feat and a damn sight better than capable.
Spot on!

People will go on and on about how Rutten had help, which he did at times, but when the ball went to them in a one on one contest, Rutten has beaten Brown in all but 1 contest and that was Brown's ripping mark that he converted into a goal.

Rutten was phenomenal tonight. His work in one on one contests all night was top notch. Thats why he is one of the best FBs in the league. A GEM!

Was a brilliant game from Truck tonight. Absolutely held Brown brilliantly and definately did take the honours in the one on one duels they had. The Lions midfield and a bit of help didn't go astray but the Truck was awesome and kept quiet the best player in the ompetition in Brown.

I don't understand you sometimes Jenny. You defend the likes of Jericho maniacally, yet won't give Rutten due credit for a sensational game.
How many times did we see Truck outbody Brown. He was brilliant!

I don't understand you sometimes Jenny. You defend the likes of Jericho maniacally, yet won't give Rutten due credit for a sensational game.
How many times did we see Truck outbody Brown. He was brilliant!

Seriously, I thought Truck outbodied Brown three times in one on ones - hardly the stats of an awesome game. Every other time I saw assistance (from one of Mattner/Massie or Stevens). IMO if Brisbane's midfield had have gained the upper hand last night and delivered the ball cleanly into the forward lines, we'd have been in strife. Truck played well, but I think people over-rate him. From my observations, when OUR midfield have a great game (which clearly they did last night) and dominate the clearances, Truck looks "awesome". When the opposition mid-field dominate the clearances, he looks ordinary.

I'd say it was Trucks best game for a while esp since coming back from injury and his effort was invaluable. It was a good sign in the 1st 1/4 when they attacked early and 3 of our defenders took good marks when they went in the Brown direction. It also helped that Brennan was very quiet as well.
i thought ouw whole dfence was awesome - even Mattner did some good stuff with less brain fades.

I'd say it was Trucks best game for a while esp since coming back from injury and his effort was invaluable. It was a good sign in the 1st 1/4 when they attacked early and 3 of our defenders took good marks when they went in the Brown direction. It also helped that Brennan was very quiet as well.
i thought ouw whole dfence was awesome - even Mattner did some good stuff with less brain fades.

Massie was quieter than last week, but Stevens was very strong. I agree re Mattner and I also agree that it was Truck's best game for a while.

Loved Truck's stitch up of Brown last night - sure he had help on the leads - but body on body he beat him everytime. Brown was forced up as far as the Tredrea Wing to get any clean ball...

Nice work Truck.....:thumbsu:

Mad Dog you also forgot the times in the last quarter when Brown got 2 or 3 kicks in our forward line. :D

Jenny - Truck was doing some great running off of Brown which goes towards why we think he had a great game, he showed that Brown has trouble being accountable. Most defenders would be too scared to back their own judgement and run off a player like Brown to the extent that Rutten was.

It is very rare that any defender has a whole game one on one with their opponent. They all get help at some stage.

For Ben to show the poise and reading of the play that he does considering his age and who he has to line up on each week, I am very glad he plays in my team. Plus I remember a quote from Blighty when asked two years ago who he would have liked out of the current crows team when he was coaching. His response was to say Rutten, as quality backmen like that are very very rare to find.

Loved Truck's stitch up of Brown last night - sure he had help on the leads - but body on body he beat him everytime. Brown was forced up as far as the Tredrea Wing to get any clean ball...

Nice work Truck.....:thumbsu:

Ive just finished re-watching the first quarter and a half... Truck/Brown went head to head 5 times. Brown won 3, Truck won 2 - Brown scored 1 goal. On the other occasions Brisbane went to Brown (3) or Brennan (1), we had two or three guys on them and they had no hope. In this period of play, Rutten has run off Brown once. I agree, Brown definitely doesn't play accountable footy. Shall continue watching.

enjoy....:thumbsu: