'Solid' Crowd today. Hawks V Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter dave10

I don't see how that's sooking. Just systematically proving that Essendon is now hated by its own fans and they vote with their feet it seems

Suggesting that essendon voted with there feet after losing to last years premiers is a bit far fetched. Lets see how we go this week with carlton.

I'm sure you'll draw a bigger crowd against Carlton than we will.
Our match v Carlton is at Etihad.

Hawthorn has 8 matches this year that we could draw 60,000+ to...
v Collingwood (twice) v Essendon (twice) v Geelong (twice) v Western Bulldogs (once) v Richmond (once)

Essendon has 8 matches this year that you could draw 60,000+ to...
v Collingwood (twice) v Carlton (twice) v Hawthorn (twice) v Geelong (once) v Richmond (once)

You must be confident of getting more 60,00+ crowds than we do. I mean it's not like we're going to pull 60,000 to the Tigers match is it?

74000 against Richmond is a fair crowd and the big 3 is Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton, Hawthorns average crowd last season proper was 40546 well behind the big 3 and only just pipped the Tigers for 4th, lets not forget Essendon and Richmond are not likely to be in flag contention, last time the Hawks were in that position you were 13th on the attendance list, I think some of you Hawks supporters are getting a bit ahead of yourself, no good drawing crowds only when you near the top of your form you need to be able to do it when your down as well, only Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Richmond can manage that.

Or alternatively;

Since the beginning of 2008 Hawthorn has played 22 home + away games at the MCG (15 home games at the MCG) and drawn 60,000+ to 8 games, 7 games 65,000+

Of those 7 games, 6 have been home games.

Not bad for a club that has played 5 home games against non Victorian clubs at the MCG in that time

Im not sure whether you are trying to convince me or yourselves.
Crowd sizes are obviously very important to you.

We at essendon are quite happy and content with our status and dont feel the need to try and prove that we are one of the big boys.

Take away tassie and a recent premiership and the hawks would be down there with the 'little four'. No wonder you all have a small d*ck syndrome.

Similar conditions last year against the same opponent, we drew 70,000

We finished 9th last year, hardly 'setting the pace'

I find it doubtful that Essendon V Geelong (or Hawthorn for that matter) could pull 80,000 to an Easter Monday game considering Geelong has only pulled 60,000+ to 5 home and away games since the start of 2008 (4 x Hawthorn, 1 v Collingwood) while the Hawks have pulled 60,000+ to 8 (4 v Geelong, 2 v Collingwood, 1 v Carlton and 1 v Essendon)

Fact is, the fixture draws massive crowd in proporition to the pulling power of both clubs, give it a setting where it could draw more neutrals out of the holiday season (such as an ANZAC Day and it'd get the ANZAC Day like buffer of 5-10,000)

The attendance on Monday was in line with the standard attendances at Hawks V Cats games since 2008 - around the 65-70,000 mark

Notwithstanding I'm not sure how Essendon playing in a game against Hawthorn or Geelong somehow justifies both clubs getting a marquee fixture, me thinks you are using Monday's game to take away from the ordinary showing by Essendon players and Essendon supporters alike on the weekend.

hawkk, Haw V Gee last year was the Grand Final replay, Hawthorns flag unfirling and a Hawthorn home game .Thats why it was 70,000 and not 50,000. As you noted, the game does draw huge crowds relative to the pulling power of the 2 clubs for the very reasons I have noted.

Essendon V Geelong would have gone very close to 80,000. When we last played these games at the MCG we drew 75,000+ twice against the Cats in the last 1990's.

I dont agree Easter Monday is adversley effected by holiday makers. Easter Monday traditionally draws exceptional crowds above what would normally be accepted. In 1993 and 1994, Essendon drew 85,000+ against Collingwood on this exact day. In 1997, Essendon drew 86,000 on this exact day V Carlton. Point is, Easter Monday is not impacted by holiday makers at all. It is just about the biggest drawing day of the home and away year - up there with ANZAC Day. Check it out for yourself! The 68,000 that turned up yesterday was significantly boosted by neutrals. What do you honestly think think the crowd would have been if played a day earlier?? I reckon 55,000.

I don't see how that's sooking. Just systematically proving that Essendon is now hated by its own fans and they vote with their feet it seems

In what way Bartos? That 30,000 turn up on Easter Sunday V Fremantle? I dont think your club would have drawn 25,000. Or maybe they miay have if they could count the neutral AFL and MCC members that would inflate their figure if it were at the MCG..

Im not sure whether you are trying to convince me or yourselves.
Crowd sizes are obviously very important to you.

We at essendon are quite happy and content with our status and dont feel the need to try and prove that we are one of the big boys.

Take away tassie and a recent premiership and the hawks would be down there with the 'little four'. No wonder you all have a small d*ck syndrome.

LOL :p

This d*ck measuring contest thread was started by an Essendon supporter.

I'm sure you'll draw a bigger crowd against Carlton than we will.
Our match v Carlton is at Etihad.

Hawthorn has 8 matches this year that we could draw 60,000+ to...
v Collingwood (twice) v Essendon (twice) v Geelong (twice) v Western Bulldogs (once) v Richmond (once)

Essendon has 8 matches this year that you could draw 60,000+ to...
v Collingwood (twice) v Carlton (twice) v Hawthorn (twice) v Geelong (once) v Richmond (once)

You must be confident of getting more 60,00+ crowds than we do. I mean it's not like we're going to pull 60,000 to the Tigers match is it?

Any half decent Vic club could draw big crowds when they play their matches at the MCG and they are strong on field. Essendon scraped and cheated finals last year and drew 70,000+ 6 times. If we played the Hawthorn and Geelong game last year at the MCG it may well have been 8 games. Our crowds are ok..

Its true we cant do what really counts... But we can pull a crowd. The only thing that could possibly stop us pulling similar numbers this year are;. 1 - cyclone or 2. Poor onfield form.

Meh.

Where ever Collingwood plays is where the big crowds will be.

Every team gets a higher than usual crowd when playing against the Pies.

Fact.

hawkk, Haw V Gee last year was the Grand Final replay, Hawthorns flag unfirling and a Hawthorn home game .Thats why it was 70,000 and not 50,000. As you noted, the game does draw huge crowds relative to the pulling power of the 2 clubs for the very reasons I have noted.

This yerar was Geelong's first home game after winning the flag last year, so a similar boost should have accompanied the match

Incidently Geelong V Hawthorn in round 17 (2nd v 10th) drew just shy of 65,000 - just 4,000 shy of the Easter Monday game and 5,000 short of the Grand Final rematch last year

Essendon V Geelong would have gone very close to 80,000. When we last played these games at the MCG we drew 75,000+ twice against the Cats in the last 1990's.

...and yet you pulled 57,000 to the second game of the season, on a Friday Night against the defending premier.

Go figure

I dont agree Easter Monday is adversley effected by holiday makers. Easter Monday traditionally draws exceptional crowds above what would normally be accepted. In 1993 and 1994, Essendon drew 85,000+ against Collingwood on this exact day. In 1997, Essendon drew 86,000 on this exact day V Carlton. Point is, Easter Monday is not impacted by holiday makers at all. It is just about the biggest drawing day of the home and away year - up there with ANZAC Day. Check it out for yourself! The 68,000 that turned up yesterday was significantly boosted by neutrals.

2000 - Haw V Coll - 53,776
2001 - Melb V Geel - 48,442
2002 -Haw V Melb - 43,484
2003 - STK V Rich - 44,468 (Dock)
2004 - STK V Rich - 43,468 (Dock)
2005 - Coll V WB -53,269
2006 - NM V Coll - 48,721 (Dock)
2007 - Haw V Melb - 43,197
2008 - NM V Ess 48,100 (Dock)
2009 - WB V Rich - 46,621 (Dock)
2010 - Haw v Geel - 68,628

Do any of these games standout?

What do you honestly think think the crowd would have been if played a day earlier?? I reckon 55,000.

65-70,000, here is why

rd 17 2008 - Hawthorn V Geelong 86,179
rd 1 2009 - Hawthorn V Geelong 69,268
rd 17 2009 - Hawthorn V Geelong 64,776

Monday's game was in line with the last 3 Hawks V Cats attendances

Yawn.

If certain Victorian clubs were so awesome, how come they don't regularly draw 50,000+ to games against non-Victorian sides?

Does any club in the competition?

This yerar was Geelong's first home game after winning the flag last year, so a similar boost should have accompanied the match

Incidently Geelong V Hawthorn in round 17 (2nd v 10th) drew just shy of 65,000 - just 4,000 shy of the Easter Monday game and 5,000 short of the Grand Final rematch last year

...and yet you pulled 57,000 to the second game of the season, on a Friday Night against the defending premier.

Go figure

2000 - Haw V Coll - 53,776
2001 - Melb V Geel - 48,442
2002 -Haw V Melb - 43,484
2003 - STK V Rich - 44,468 (Dock)
2004 - STK V Rich - 43,468 (Dock)
2005 - Coll V WB -53,269
2006 - NM V Coll - 48,721 (Dock)
2007 - Haw V Melb - 43,197
2008 - NM V Ess 48,100 (Dock)
2009 - WB V Rich - 46,621 (Dock)
2010 - Haw v Geel - 68,628

Do any of these games standout?

65-70,000, here is why

rd 17 2008 - Hawthorn V Geelong 86,179
rd 1 2009 - Hawthorn V Geelong 69,268
rd 17 2009 - Hawthorn V Geelong 64,776

Monday's game was in line with the last 3 Hawks V Cats attendances

In summary Hawkk, what is the key point you are making?

Collingwood have drawn 50,000+ against every non-Victorian club bar Port and Freo in recent years.

I fail to see why anyone other than Pies fans and the few Eagles fans in Melbourne would've gone to watch the two sides play in 2008, and 50k+ went through the gates.

All the massive crowds at the MCG, including Anzac Day, are boosted by neutral "theatre-goers". I also know a lot of people who go to one or two matches a season and it's always one of the "blockbusters" between Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon. The games are pencilled in every year, prior to the start of the season, plus they receive good marketing and publicity. Without any of the Anzac Day hype, Collingwood vs Essendon drew 77,000 to their round 14 clash last year. Hawthorn vs Essendon also drew a crowd of 77,000 to their round 22 game. More was riding on the result, but the crowd was identical...

Essendon drew only 29,651 to the game against Feo (Lloyd's send-off) which was 2000 more than attended the same fixture in 2009. Some Essendon fans think they're ahead of Collingwood when it comes to the size of their fan base, but you never hear of the Pies drawing such low crowds to their home games against Freo or Port. Last season they drew just under 35,000 vs Port and 44,000 vs Freo.

But it fills my heart with gladness when Essendon or Collingwood fans crap on about attendances because it's usually a good indicator their football team is playing like shit.

All the massive crowds at the MCG, including Anzac Day, are boosted by neutral "theatre-goers". I also know a lot of people who go to one or two matches a season and it's always one of the "blockbusters" between Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon. The games are pencilled in every year, prior to the start of the season, plus they receive good marketing and publicity. Without any of the Anzac Day hype, Collingwood vs Essendon drew 77,000 to their round 14 clash last year. Hawthorn vs Essendon also drew a crowd of 77,000 to their round 22 game. More was riding on the result, but the crowd was identical...

Essendon drew only 29,651 to the game against Feo (Lloyd's send-off) which was 2000 more than attended the same fixture in 2009. Some Essendon fans think they're ahead of Collingwood when it comes to the size of their fan base, but you never hear of the Pies drawing such low crowds to their home games against Freo or Port. Last season they drew just under 35,000 vs Port and 44,000 vs Freo.

But it fills my heart with gladness when Essendon or Collingwood fans crap on about attendances because it's usually a good indicator their football team is playing like shit.

The match you refer to last year Ess V Coll was played in wintry and wet conditions with rain falling all day. Yet 77,000 turned up! The match was basically a sell out. So bad comparison. Had it been a fine night that Friday night, 85,000+ crowd was a certainty. I dont think 77,000 would have been at the MCG at Ess V Haw if it had been raining during the day.

The neutrals you refer to were at the Easter Monday game Haw V Geelong as well.. The difference is, with neutrals Haw V Gee drew 68,000. With neutrals, Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton combinations draw 80,000+ when teams are doing well on field.

I think 29,651 on Easter Sunday is a reasonable crowd - would have been 33,000+ had it been the next day or week later. Collingwood is the biggest drawing club in the AFL. A poor Essendon still drawing 30,000 on Easter Sunday to the Dome against Freo indicates very strong support that only Collingwood would exceed. I challenge you to look at Collingwoods attendances at home against Port and Freo when they were in the rot on field about 5 or 6 years ago.. Sub 30,000 crowds were registered.

I wouldn't even bother feeding this troll.

Opps, but i think I just did.

In summary Hawkk, what is the key point you are making?

Your point regarding abnormally high crowds on Easter Monday has been shot to flames

To suggest that 55,000 would attend a round 2 game between 2 strong supported Victorian clubs with a rivalry is selling the fixture short

Hawthorn V Sydney has drawn 45-50,000 in each of the last 3 years without the rivalry and with the Swans having obviously much smaller pulling power than the Cats

Incidently considering the game was fixtured as an AFL Member 'Walk Up' fixture and categorised as a 'B' rated game for MCC members it clear that the fixture (and fixtures on Easter Monday before it) didn't have the prawn sandwich pulling power that a game on ANZAC Day pulls - which sells out in the AFL members and MCC sections weeks before the fixture.

Considering together Collingwood and Essendon have just enough MCC supported fans spread around the country to fill out the MCC, its highly doubtful that the entire crowd is soley made up of Essendon and Collingwood fans.

One thing for sure however is that the Hawks V Cats game has consistantly been a better spectacle than the Collingwood V Essendon fixtures

Collingwood have drawn 50,000+ against every non-Victorian club bar Port and Freo in recent years.

I fail to see why anyone other than Pies fans and the few Eagles fans in Melbourne would've gone to watch the two sides play in 2008, and 50k+ went through the gates.

Point being?

We've played 7 home games in Melbourne against Interstate opposition since the start of 2007 and drawn an average of just shy of 40,000 to each match (39,326)

Considering we have 7,000 members alone in Tasmania its not that surprising that we draw 7-10,000 fewer fans to Melbourne fixtures then Collingwood, which incidently has a much larger follower of general supporters and a much poorer conversion of supporters to members than us

The neutrals you refer to were at the Easter Monday game Haw V Geelong as well.. The difference is, with neutrals Haw V Gee drew 68,000. With neutrals, Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton combinations draw 80,000+ when teams are doing well on field.

Incidently when Geelong and Hawthorn are doing well on field (which hasn't happened since 2008) they also draw 80,000+ to regular season games

Again very poor choice for comparison

Point for comparison is whether the Carlton-Essendon fixture this weekend outdraws the Collingwood-Hawthorn fixture next weekend

Incidently when Geelong and Hawthorn are doing well on field (which hasn't happened since 2008) they also draw 80,000+ to regular season games

Again very poor choice for comparison

Point for comparison is whether the Carlton-Essendon fixture this weekend outdraws the Collingwood-Hawthorn fixture next weekend

Hawkk lets cut to the chase. If Essendon and Collingwood were playing well on field they will always draw better than Hawthorn V Geelong - you would agree with that surely because Ess and Coll have bigger followings than Haw and Geelong. I guarantee you that Haw V Coll will outdraw Ess V Carlton because Essendon fans will not go tomorrow night. Haw V Coll is a genuine top 4 blockbuster, Ess V Car is no more than a grudge match between two of the 3 biggest clubs in Victoria - one probably battling to make the finals, the other battling to avoid the bottom 4 in their ongoing quest for development. Make no mistake Hawkk, if Ess and Carl were genuine top 4 shots in 2010, they would draw 85,000 tomorrow night given reasonable weather. That Ess V Carlton tomorrow night may outdraw Haw V Geel on a public holiday proves the point of disparity. What would be even worse would be that it is a Hawthorn home game replacement for Vic fans?? If so, makes any comparison even more rediculous. Bad comparison Hawkk.

The difference is essentially in MCC and AFL member turnout. Anything over 55k is a good crowd - beyond about 65k you're relying almost entirely on MCC/AFL seating.

Given that, and the historically limited memberships (how long to get a full MCC if you start now? 10 years? 20? Longer?) it's not particularly suprising that the clubs with the biggest "legups" in terms of attendence are those that were successful a long time ago when MCC was still more of an "open" membership category.

There was an article a few years back, that estimated the "neutrals" for various timeslots. Obviously Friday Night was huge (+10,000), Sunday twilight the worst (virtually nil), and of the 'event' days ANZAC day was by far the largest 'boost' pushing 25k.

An unencumbered stadium, with no AFL or otherwise restricted availability to seating (outside the competing clubs) and suddenly the top end crowds would be much more spread out.

Hawkk lets cut to the chase. If Essendon and Collingwood were playing well on field they will always draw better than Hawthorn V Geelong - you would agree with that surely because Ess and Coll have bigger followings than Haw and Geelong. I guarantee you that Haw V Coll will outdraw Ess V Carlton because Essendon fans will not go tomorrow night. Haw V Coll is a genuine top 4 blockbuster, Ess V Car is no more than a grudge match between two of the 3 biggest clubs in Victoria - one probably battling to make the finals, the other battling to avoid the bottom 4 in their ongoing quest for development. Make no mistake Hawkk, if Ess and Carl were genuine top 4 shots in 2010, they would draw 85,000 tomorrow night given reasonable weather. That Ess V Carlton tomorrow night may outdraw Haw V Geel on a public holiday proves the point of disparity. What would be even worse would be that it is a Hawthorn home game replacement for Vic fans?? If so, makes any comparison even more rediculous. Bad comparison Hawkk.

I have illustrated the disparity between Easter Monday and normal season fixturing above.

I still don't understand the point of this thread, yes Essendon drew a woeful crowd to their Matthew Lloyd testimonial game (on the back of another poor attendance against the reigning champion)

Considering many Essendon fans believe that there club is to 'big' for Docklands, I can understand your insecurities