Considering everyone wanted to ship us off to Tasmania a couple of years ago I can't believe some of you would like to see other clubs folded or merged.
Melbourne has too many teams. It's ridiculously obvious.
First: Brad Goodman on 156 points (and the best most recent round) wins $500
Second: tigland on 156 wins $300
Third: Tonga Bob on 152 points wins $200
All of our place-getter also receive a year's Premium Platinum Membership.
Considering everyone wanted to ship us off to Tasmania a couple of years ago I can't believe some of you would like to see other clubs folded or merged.
Don't make us bring out the treatises on how an over crowded market and self-inflicted wounds differ from a hostile owner, antagonistic media and worst stadium deal in the country. There are two too many teams in Melbourne. GC I think has a future with the Gold Coast remaining a haven for Southerners going north. GWS I'd piss off in place of a Tasmanian side.Considering everyone wanted to ship us off to Tasmania a couple of years ago I can't believe some of you would like to see other clubs folded or merged.
I want 2 less Vic teams. I've never thought GWS or Gold Coast was a good idea. I think Tasmania should have a team. A league of 8,2,2,1,1,1. Is what the league should be.
Tassie need two teams!
The whole world needs to witness the Hobart & Launceston rivalry!
the one positive about holding off creating a Tasmanian team is allowing Launceston and Hobart to grow to the point that it would be possible. However by that time I'd say the A-League would give the state a team.Tassie need two teams!
The whole world needs to witness the Hobart & Launceston rivalry!
Melbourne has too many teams. It's ridiculously obvious.
the one positive about holding off creating a Tasmanian team is allowing Launceston and Hobart to grow to the point that it would be possible. However by that time I'd say the A-League would give the state a team.
500k would be enough to support one team easy...especially an already football fanatic 500k.To support an AFL license they'd need an economy able to support ~750k people and the population is declining.
Never mind two licenses.
Unless the AFL feel the need to invest very directly in an existing AFL heartland market for a very long term I can't see it happening for at least 20 years.
My guess is it could be tied to a trigger for reducing Melbourne clubs by 1 some point after the AFL get Jihad. But even then Perth #3 in 20 years time is likely to be a higher AFL priority than TAS #1.
I see the AFL ignoring any moves by A-League in Tassie, not seeing soccer as a threat in TAS as it is in SYD and QLD.
To support an AFL license they'd need an economy able to support ~750k people and the population is declining.
Never mind two licenses.
Unless the AFL feel the need to invest very directly in an existing AFL heartland market for a very long term I can't see it happening for at least 20 years.
My guess is it could be tied to a trigger for reducing Melbourne clubs by 1 some point after the AFL get Jihad. But even then Perth #3 in 20 years time is likely to be a higher AFL priority than TAS #1.
I see the AFL ignoring any moves by A-League in Tassie, not seeing soccer as a threat in TAS as it is in SYD and QLD.
the one positive about holding off creating a Tasmanian team is allowing Launceston and Hobart to grow to the point that it would be possible. However by that time I'd say the A-League would give the state a team.
500k would be enough to support one team easy...especially an already football fanatic 500k.
Whilst what you say is probably in line with the way the AFL thinks, it doesn't make it right. The AFL's treatment of Tasmania has been nothing short of disgusting. All take, no give.
Sponsors more important then crowds.
I suggested "an economy capable of supporting 750k people". Per license. Rough number per fellow dodgy economy state SA. It's true I pulled it out of my ****, but it's the lowest # outside of Melbourne 'metro', where 9 teams share the economic output of ~4.5 million people. All SA (1.6m) is barely bigger than what you can call "Vic Country" or "Vic excluding MEL" (1.4m) but at least we've in one place with a big central stadium.
Between State and local govt TAS could keep stadium costs low like a Geelong model, and favours for Hobart usually become political necessity in Launceston. OK for one big cost but the top line needs sponsorships, crowds and certainly long term AFL funding. The avg crowd in Hobart is ~12k and for Launceston ~16k. Currently relatively low drawing games are 'sent' to TAS (hawks would still make more @MCG from their big games). The avg would increase a bit if Collingwood, Carlton & Essendon ever visited - Richmond @ Bellerive drew a record 17k and @ York Park a record ~21k, so there are your high water marks. Still it's not enough, Geelong get an avg of 22k-25k for their home games, with lowest costs of all. You're not going to support 2x licenses with a 500k population and two venues 3-4 hour drive apart - *Melbourne* has only two venues FFS.
A TAS AFL license does not stack up unless AFL wants it to stack up - per GWS & GC, for other reasons, never mind two of the things. PER #3 will probably stack up far sooner.
They helped reform a fractured, broke local (as in three regional) competitions, that each practiced a model of parochialism and pettiness that would make the SANFL look like professionals. They brought AFL to both major cities, admittedly as a solution to a different problem (MEL stadium deals and small drawing games). Not sure the AFL's behaviour could really be called "disgusting" in TAS, it's a bit better than that IMO!
50 odd years ago the American Football League took the National Football League to court in the USA about anti-trust rules and whether the whole country was considered The Market for anti trust purposes. The AFL argued that each metropolitan area was a market in its own right and that the NFL could ruin the AFL's business by placing teams in that city/market. The court rejected the AFL's argument and the NFL didn't have to surrender any rights by being in that city first.
The court ruled that each individual city was part of a national market and that the only factor which the relevant market for professional sports that is local, is local spectators in the metro area large enough to support a team. The figure of 500,000-700,000 people was considered back then as the minimum sized metro area to support a professional team in a nationwide sport.
Now a lot of things have changed in 50 odd years in US sports market but in 1960 the US did have a population of 180 million people and you had a lot of cities bigger than 1,000,000 people in the greater metro area and if you adjusted the top salaries of Baseball and Football to 2015 dollars for CPI and purchasing power parity they probably got paid more than the best of today's OZ AFL players. The 500,000 figure has been a rule of thumb ever since, but that is for metro area not state wide population.
I have argued this adnauseum on the Industry Board, although have been given a holiday as I have disagreed with a moderators pro VFL stance..
Was it because he looked tired or did he win a raffle?Thats not why you were given a holiday, and you know it.
Whilst s**t heaps like North Melbourne, Footscray, GWS and Gold Coast exist, denying Tasmania a team based on "economics" is disingenuous. A Tasmanian team, split between Hobart and Launceston would work in my opinion. Some relatively low cost upgrades could bring both grounds capacities up to 25k, which incidentally is the same size as Metricon and Skoda. Difference being Tasmanians, who have a real passion for the game would actually fill it. North consistently prove they don't even have 25,000 supporters in Melbourne.
I have argued this adnauseum on the Industry Board, although have been given a holiday as I have disagreed with a moderators pro VFL stance. The government cash given to the 2 FIFO teams is bigger than any sponsorship in the league. Couple this with what you'd expect to be better than Geelong type stadium deals and your 3 Quarters of the way there already.
The AFL has failed Tasmania in a massive way and I think it is despicable.
Bellerive has a capacity of 16,200. York Park has a capacity of 21,000. If you read what I said ".....Some relatively low cost upgrades could bring both grounds capacities up to 25k..." Do you not think Tasmanian's would flock more to see their own team than they would FIFO teams?
No doubt what has happened in Tasmania with the FIFO teams has been due to political expediency. Madmug has written a lot about it on the Industry board. I won't pretend to be an expert on the inner workings of Tasmanian politics, but particularly with the Hawthorn deal was all about the federal seat of Bass.
They've had finals in Geelong and no doubt there will be finals in Gold Coast and GWS. Will they fill those grounds with paying customers?
Wouldn't a team Tasmania call their own galvanise the community? Isn't the money the govt spend better staying within the state instead of going back across Bass Straight? I was fortunate enough to be living out of the country in 97/98, but I'm told the Crows Premierships did a lot to lift this state and the spirits of it's citizens in a time of economic doldrums? There is literally nothing else in Tasmania. No other teams or sports. Footy is it. The people will get behind it.
The AFL's treatment of Tasmania is scurrilous, preposterous and downright risible I tell you my good man!
Bellerive has a capacity of 16,200. York Park has a capacity of 21,000. If you read what I said ".....Some relatively low cost upgrades could bring both grounds capacities up to 25k..." Do you not think Tasmanian's would flock more to see their own team than they would FIFO teams?
No doubt what has happened in Tasmania with the FIFO teams has been due to political expediency. Madmug has written a lot about it on the Industry board. I won't pretend to be an expert on the inner workings of Tasmanian politics, but particularly with the Hawthorn deal was all about the federal seat of Bass.
They've had finals in Geelong and no doubt there will be finals in Gold Coast and GWS. Will they fill those grounds with paying customers?
Wouldn't a team Tasmania call their own galvanise the community? Isn't the money the govt spend better staying within the state instead of going back across Bass Straight? I was fortunate enough to be living out of the country in 97/98, but I'm told the Crows Premierships did a lot to lift this state and the spirits of it's citizens in a time of economic doldrums? There is literally nothing else in Tasmania. No other teams or sports. Footy is it. The people will get behind it.
The AFL's treatment of Tasmania is scurrilous, preposterous and downright risible I tell you my good man!
ok so assuming nothing has changed in 50 years it's reassuring to know we should have just enough ppl in ADL to support two professional "AFL" teams... allowing for inflationsadly not a great data point for TAS advocates though.
My Canadian mate came out to Oz in April 1991 - I took him to a Port v Norwood game at Footy Park and let him experience the old Port women in the front row of the members and then he came again over the 1992/93 Christmas New Years period I took him to the cricket. We talked a lot about sports and the different markets around the world. He told me about the NFL case and the 500,000-700,000 rule of thumb and the National Hockey League back then had many of the Canadian cities that were in that zone and two of the US teams. Calgary was about 700k then, now 1.3mil thanks to the tar sands of northern Alberta, Edmonton about 900k now only 1.1mil as the tar sands haven't helped them as much, Winnipeg about 600k now 750k, Quebec city about 600k now 750k and the Ottawa-Hull metro area had about 900k now about 1.1mil. Buffalo NY state which is up near Niagara Falls border area had/have a team and population was about 800k then but now about 1.0mil. Hartford in upstate Connecticut was about 700k and now is about 1.1mil.The NHL is open to hear bids for expansion teams at the moment as they wish to expand from 30 teams to 32. They have two serious bids in so far, from Las Vegas and Quebec City. The Quebec City case is pretty close to Tasmania. Tasmania's population is about 500,000 and Quebec City metro area is about 765,000.
Difference being is the NHL charged $10 million just for hearing a bid and are going to charge $500,000,000 for a licence. Max Basheer can eat his heart out.
Join FREE and support Australia's favourite footy community.
We let you block other users :)