What's wrong with the AFL ?

Then you'd get tanking in reverse. Teams would know that they can access talent UNTIL they win a flag. So they would basically hold out from winning a flag until they'd stockpiled enough talent and future picks to make sure they have a few cracks at it.

Nah mate teams that have never won a flag or been without one for 50+ years aren't holding back. Never. If the Bombers go another 20 or 30 years without a flag I doubt you would say this. Also if guns got wind the club was holding back - free agency beckons.

Where will the money come from to replace the pokies ? Put up seating prices?

Sorry thats not my problem.

But the AFL control seat prices ... the removal of pokies money hurts the clubs ;)

And the clubs have been told their pokies money is going. :D

But the AFL control seat prices ... the removal of pokies money hurts the clubs ;)

Sounds like something the AFL would do.

Let's get rid of those pokies, PR surrounding them is crap.

We've got ten to 30 years before people are outraged by "online" betting.

The AFL don't own the clubs and if they keep trying to own them, we'll end up with break away league ala the nrl super league.
The AFL needs to stay in touch with the thinking and wishes of supporters , clubs and players.

Sounds like something the AFL would do.

Let's get rid of those pokies, PR surrounding them is crap.

Its not going to happen tomorrow, few more details to sort out .... ;) But it will happen.

The AFL don't own the clubs and if they keep trying to own them, we'll end up with break away league ala the nrl super league.

The AFL dont wont to "own" the clubs ....

AFL needs to stay in touch with the thinking and wishes of supporters , clubs and players.

You have the relationship marginally confused ...

The rules under which the Eagles kicked off : list of 35, all other clubs 53,

yes, the Bears had players sent to them by the VFL clubs.

That's right. Did Eagles ever have a reserves team at some point? Always had their players not in senor team play WAFL from memory ?
Bears had a reserve team to start with. Won the reserves premiership in 1991 from memory.

Bears had worst concessions of any expansion team. 80% of their team was simply cast offs from other clubs. They got royally screwed compared to what new sides Gold Coast and GWS got more recently as brand new clubs in un-traditional football regions.

I envy you. Until the Giants came along I was always Geographically challenged and going to AFL/VFL games difficult. More SANFL games but even then not usually located nearby.

You would not have envied my journey to football in those times too much. Ten minute walk to bus stop. If miss it not see another bus for an hour or more. Bus takes you to train station that also 20 minutes by the bus to get to. Then get on train and an hour in Flinders Street, then get a tram on Elizabeth Street and hope number 9 tram there right away. That took another 20 minute ride of tram to Carlton ground. Then after match get home by reverse. Be lucky to get home by 7-30 pm that night after a day game at our homeground.

MCG was a bit closer as get off Richmond station and walk 8 minutes to MCG.

VFL Park probably closer. 35 minutes train ride, then 25 minutes bus ride.

Getting to another grounds like Windy Hill, Western Oval, Moorabin and Kardinia Park were all fun adventures too.
I loved it though. Good times, fun journeys. Long day though.

Still, if you were in Sydney you only can see Swans every two weeks. Nothing else in Sydney until Giants created and now a game every week.
I went to Homebush once for Carlton game. A bit like getting to VFL Park back in the day but least a train station out there. SCG was quite easy to get to for the one game I went there.

That's right. Did Eagles ever have a reserves team at some point? Always had their players not in senor team play WAFL from memory ?
Bears had a reserve team to start with. Won the reserves premiership in 1991 from memory.

Bears had worst concessions of any expansion team. 80% of their team was simply cast offs from other clubs. They got royally screwed compared to what new sides Gold Coast and GWS got more recently as brand new clubs in un-traditional football regions.

Yep, that's the excuse, and when the Eagles were given the opportunity to increase their numbers, it was described as priority selection after the 700+ players were locked away.

The mistakes made in the first expansion were attempted to be rectified in 2nd expansion & the 3rd expansion was the kids .... of course the priority selections were after the best 700 odd were locked away.

So did they have a reserves team or not ? FMD.

With 35 players on the list, so lets see 18 + 2/4 =, two of .... you are right, they didn't ... so strong is your point that the inequity was overturned after a couple of years, same as the finals, all that is left is the Grand Final.

I did not have a point there. FMD, Talk about rambling on about something in your own head that had nothing to do with what I was asking.Simply asked whether they had a reserves team at some point out of curiosity as I could not remember what they were doing in late 80's below their senior team.

OK, & you didn't even know how many players there were in a side .... roger that!

Where do you begin? The last six years or so have been a complete disaster.
The Essendon supplements scandal has damaged the game as well as the image of the AFL as a brand. Which brings me to the "Brand" itself, i am constantly baffled why current CEO Gillon McLachlan keeps referring to our game as "our industry" The game is called "FOOTBALL". It is the Australian Football League and the word "FOOTBALL" should make a major comeback with regards to the corporate waffle that comes out of AFL headquarters.
The integrity of the game has copped a battering in recent years and this must be rectified asap, it's the information age, but you wouldn't know it at the AFL.
The AFL still has a mighty big battle on it's hands with the Sydney market dominance of NRL, it will be interesting to see how this all pans out when GWS win the next two flags back to back?
They now have a game on Good Friday, get the Grand Final sorted and the night time is the right time except McLachlan is opposed to a night Grand Final. Somebody wake this man up from his slumber! A Night game would benefit broadcasters and enhance the pre game entertainment around the match. Grand Final day must return to being a celebration of Football and that means playing a curtain raiser on the big day! The whole day should begin at midday! Game time 7.00pm. Finish approximately 9.30pm. That's more than enough time for the game and post match celebrations! The ground would be empty by 11.30pm.
Gold Coast and Brisbane are a disaster and unless there is a greater presence in Tasmania the entire state could be lost to Soccer within 5 years! Tasmania requires one club to play 8 games or i fear the game is doomed down there. Either relocate a team permanently, change the colours and name to Tasmania or watch that state die as a football state.
More work at grass roots level, schools and local footy is essential etc
Stop friggin' around with the rules.
Remove Mark Evans.

The biggest problem with the AFL is the distribution of teams is too uneven. Ten teams based in Victoria is ridiculous and needs to be rectified as soon as possible. Once Gil finishes up then the next CEO must address this issue head on. If it were me I would immediately put mergers back on the table. ie. The first 2 Vic teams to merge immediately receive $75Mill into their bank account. Would there be any takers? There will be if the salary cap keeps going up by 5% each year but the end of year distribution of funds remains the same. Ideally you would want 1 merger and then you could give Tassie their own team.

Are you volunteering your club?

And unfortunately this is the biggest problem. It was fun when Melbourne, Footscray, Hawthorn , Nth and Saints? were all rattling tins to stay alive but now with the megabucks coming into the game due to tv rights and the expansion, nobody will now put their hand up and say my club will go.

Now I can selfishly sit here and say , at this time , my club looks fairly secure but I can also see the time when licences might be taken off and given to a rich billionaire.

And unfortunately this is the biggest problem. It was fun when Melbourne, Footscray, Hawthorn , Nth and Saints? were all rattling tins to stay alive but now with the megabucks coming into the game due to tv rights and the expansion, nobody will now put their hand up and say my club will go.

Now I can selfishly sit here and say , at this time , my club looks fairly secure but I can also see the time when licences might be taken off and given to a rich billionaire.

TV rights haven't gone up that much, and I'm not sure where you think more money is coming from from with expansion...More money if going out due to that.

The big difference is that these clubs wont be paying a small fortune each year to buy Docklands for the AFL any more. An extra ~$20-25M a year spread between the Vic clubs, mostly the 'poor' ones will make a significant difference. Remember how well your club did when they first moved to AO before the deal was hastily fixed by the AFL...That deal was still better than the Docklands deal Vic clubs have had to cop.

After watching the Edelsten thing with the Swans congratulations, you just given me nightmares.

Yes, rich old men should content themselves with blonde bimbos and leave football alone.

ha ha. Won't happen again. That idea died in early 90s and not likely to be ever visited again of clubs being owned by outside businessmen. At worst clubs like now will become like suburban branches of one big bank. All different localities but run the same way with similar budgets and protocols and just different staff at each branch. We just about already there anyway. Peter Jackson is branch manager at Melbourne. Forget the name of the ones at Brisbane and Western Sydney branches but sure they are fiscally running a tight ship and not blowing the budget.

The Edeltsen era in 86 was something else. Pink helicopters and all from memory.
6 years later, god help that club on it's knees when Buckenara coach and an old worn out Brereton up there to try to make them relevant again.

ha ha. Won't happen again. That idea died in early 90s and not likely to be every visited again of clubs being owned by outside businessmen. At worst clubs like now will become like suburban branches of one big bank. All different localities but run the same way with similar budgets and protocols and just different staff at each branch. We just about already there anyway. Peter Jackson is branch manager at Melbourne. Forget the name of the ones at Brisbane and Western Sydney branches but sure they are fiscally running a tight ship and not blowing the budget.

The Edeltsen era in 86 was something else. Pink helicopters and all from memory.
6 years later, god help that club on it's knees when Buckenara coach and an old worn out Brereton up there to try to make them relevant again.
It's the reason I never supported the Swans. I get they deserve respect these days but it left an indelible impression on me.
One of the few keyboard battles I've had with Swans posters when one suggested they should target "professionals". I will always beleive Footy is a great leveller and belongs to the people ultimately.
:straining:Off my high horse for the evening now, promise.

What's wrong with the AFL ?