Player Watch Most overrated players (current & retired) part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter Socrates2

A lot of people are saying Rance, Brown, Cyril and such - but they've done stuff to back up their ratings. They were seriously good for a long period of time. Overrated you've got to think of the type of player who never really did much but is still spoken about like they're a competition elite player.

Charlie Dixon springs to mind, gets a lot of clout because he's big. In reality he's more a Chris Dawes than a Jono Brown.

A lot of people are saying Rance, Brown, Cyril and such - but they've done stuff to back up their ratings. They were seriously good for a long period of time. Overrated you've got to think of the type of player who never really did much but is still spoken about like they're a competition elite player.

Charlie Dixon springs to mind, gets a lot of clout because he's big. In reality he's more a Chris Dawes than a Jono Brown.
What spoils it for players like Rance, Cyril, Brown, Pendelbury and a few others are the commentators who fawn over even the smallest thing. Bruce I'm looking at you. They are all great players who are nowhere near over-rated, but the commentators get your back up and you start inspecting everything they do, and you notice the bad more than the good often. Cyril is a great example, one of the most influential players in a contest I have seen, which to me means greatness, but he did it far less often than the commentators would have you believe.

Charlie Dixon by a mile. Built like a brick outhouse but under performs each year. WOFTAS. For a key forward his returns are low. Gives away stupid frees. Never recovered being banned from drinking wine before the match.

Port also gave up a hell of a lot for him to get him in too. He’s low key been a big trade bust in my eyes.

Not even Buddy has kicked 70+ goals 3 years in a row. I'd wager you've had to go back to Lloyd to find that. Brown did it from 2007-2009. His peak was definitely better, but as you said he didn't sustain it for long enough.

Fraser Gehrig and Barry Hall both did it after Lloyd. Josh Kennedy missed the list by one goal in 2017.

At his peak unstoppable, but too many interruptions with injury, and people associate his later dominance with the 3 flags. Tredrea & Rooey better for longer.

Pavlich was as good as riewoldt and better than tredrea

What spoils it for players like Rance, Cyril, Brown, Pendelbury and a few others are the commentators who fawn over even the smallest thing. Bruce I'm looking at you. They are all great players who are nowhere near over-rated, but the commentators get your back up and you start inspecting everything they do, and you notice the bad more than the good often. Cyril is a great example, one of the most influential players in a contest I have seen, which to me means greatness, but he did it far less often than the commentators would have you believe.
This.
I used to dread watching Brisbane games because the commentators would inevitably be constantly giving Jono Brown virtual gobbies the whole game. Yes, he was a great player and brave to the point of insane, but gee they banged on!

Kicked goals against a bottom 4 side hardly impressive if he played against the Richmond sides of the 60s and 70s would be lucky to even get close to half of that, anyway he went missing against good sides like in the 94 and 95 grand finals where he was worse on ground both games

Lockett, Dunstall, Coleman, Hudson, Wade all feasted on bottom 4 sides. Why was Ablett not entitled too?

When he was in his prime, he delivered throughout the 89 and 92 finals series. Averaged over 17 disposals, 7 marks and 5 goals in both years finals.
Even 94, he was prolific in helping us get to the grand final with 6 goals against Footscray and Carlton.

Has one of the best finals goal averages of all.

The great Kevin Bartlett who was blessed to play in arguably Richmond's greatest ever era, was held goalless in 2 grand finals and two other finals.

Lockett, Dunstall, Coleman, Hudson, Wade all feasted on bottom 4 sides. Why was Ablett not entitled too?

When he was in his prime, he delivered throughout the 89 and 92 finals series. Averaged over 17 disposals, 7 marks and 5 goals in both years finals.
Even 94, he was prolific in helping us get to the grand final with 6 goals against Footscray and Carlton.

The great Kevin Bartlett who was blessed to play in arguably Richmond's greatest ever era, was held goalless in 2 grand finals and two other finals.
But Bartlett was a rover for the first 15 years of his career. In finals he averaged 22 kicks (not many handpasses I'm guessing) per Grand Final, as well as being in the best players in six out of seven Grand Finals in which he played.
Reckon you picked the wrong player there.

But think Ablett is in the top two or three players I have ever seen.

C. Curnow. Yes he will be a superstar but currently AVERAGE at best regardless of the pump ups commentatros, journos and Carlton fans give him.

Haha, good question. I rated his debut year, but that's literally it. The media still talk him up during Brisbane games, which is astonishing.

He is still a better player than Jack Watts, who went No. 1 in his draft year.

Obviously the players listed below aren't all as equally overrated but...

Shane Woewodin - Brownlow? really?
Adam Cooney - see above
Nick Maxwell - Not sure where to start but the ego on this flog was so out of sync with his ability
Jack Riewoldt - Not as good as made out, famous surname.
Jarryd Roughead - goes missing when the heats on all too regularly. Good player but overrated for mine. Hurts to say but probably not the right choice for captain, it was obviously wonderful having him come back from being ill and was poetic but not the best choice for mine.
Taylor Walker - Goes missing when it matters.
Charlie Dixon - Prior to 2018 was rated appropriately. Has regressed quite severely this year but still seems to be rated highly.
Jarryn Geary - in what world should have this guy been made captain, captains don't play back pocket. A grunt player who tries his best with limited talent.
Marc Murphy - pretty lacklustre imo, not a great captain. Just happened to be the best of a very bad/consistently injured bunch.
Jason Johanissen - not sure where to begin but running quick and having flashy hair seems to equal an undeserved high rating.

Finally for the last couple of seasons Gary Ablett Jr.... yes he was unreal for a big portion of his career but he isn't the same player yet he seems to be raved and ranted about like its 26 year old GAJ playing. At this point in time massively overrated compared to the output. Winning Gold Coasts best and fairest in his last season there playing a handful of games was pretty much a massive joke.

This is the thing, Rance is a great player its undeniable but he is almost being undeservedly elevated into the Hall of Fame status due the amount of circle jerking that takes place over him.

I recognise this post will probably draw the ire of some on here but i'm happy to discuss if someone has a different view.

As a Geelong supporter, and Gazza jr and his dad being two of my favourite all-time players, normally I would be offended by you underrating Gazza.

But I must admit, that he has slowed down, and his days of playing in the midfield is nigh.

But I think he would be better value this year as a permanent small forward, and still has the tricks to sneak a few goals.

But Bartlett was a rover for the first 15 years of his career. In finals he averaged 22 kicks (not many handpasses I'm guessing) per Grand Final, as well as being in the best players in six out of seven Grand Finals in which he played.
Reckon you picked the wrong player there.

But think Ablett is in the top two or three players I have ever seen.

I think KB is overrated.....as a commentator and media performer.

He talks a load of rubbish and thinks footy should be played today like back in his era, yet what he says is treated by SEN like the musings of JFK or Martin Luther King.

Nic Naitanui owns this thread.
According to the media he is the biggest superstar to ever come out of WA.

Career achievements:

One contentious AA selection.
One mark of the Year.
Once finished 5th in the Eagles Club Champion Award.
23 career Brownlow votes.
Voted most popular Uber driver in Perth.

Garry Lyon doesn't rate him (I suspect to justify Melbourne picking Hack Watts ahead of NicNat in the draft).

Stephen Silvagni...as a fullback.

He was a good fullback, but FB of the Century?

He played up forward a lot of the time.

A FB of the Century for mine owns that position, and pretty plays more than 95% of the time up back, not thrown down forward regularly.

Sure, have him in Carlton's TOTC, but he shouldn't have been in as FB in the AFL Team Of The Century when there were better choices (.e.g. Jack Regan, Geoff Southby, Chris Langford etc).

I think KB is overrated.....as a commentator and media performer.

He talks a load of rubbish and thinks footy should be played today like back in his era, yet what he says is treated by SEN like the musings of JFK or Martin Luther King.

He's not my cup of tea as a media performer but the real problem is his opinion has carried and still carries plenty of weight in serious things like AA and rule changes when he's clearly out of touch with the modern game

Stephen Silvagni...as a fullback.

He was a good fullback, but FB of the Century?

He played up forward a lot of the time.

A FB of the Century for mine owns that position, and pretty plays more than 95% of the time up back, not thrown down forward regularly.

Sure, have him in Carlton's TOTC, but he shouldn't have been in as FB in the AFL Team Of The Century when there were better choices (.e.g. Jack Regan, Geoff Southby, Chris Langford etc).

Agree he was a bit of the Alex Rance of his era where the media fawned over him.

Taylor Walker and Charlie Dixon for current players.

Walker goes missing a lot and doesn't get nearly enough flack for it. He gets the 'way he goes about it' ex-players pass for some reason.

Unlike Walker who has some runs on the board, Dixon has achieved next to nothing. 173 goals from 106 games, 3 years of that spent playing for an attacking Port Adelaide.

He reminds me a bit of Waite, coasting on potential and one or two great games. Albeit Waite has been good at NM when fit.

Perhaps a better comparison is Tippett. Both are monsters, both capable of excellence. Both had injuries and played out of position, because neither can properly play as the main man.

Tippett failed to deliver and I suspect Dixon will be the same.

Shockingly, they both have basketball backgrounds. How are they not guns? It beggars belief.

With Dixon, I have always felt that part of his problem is that he is lazy, and doesn't put enough work in. He is a coaster.

Kevin Bartlett spent most of his career as a mid only played up forward from 1980 onwards when he was 33

Yeah, Gary Ablett snr was SO overrated that he kicked 8, 10, 12 and 14 against your team.

How bad does it make Richmond if you think a guy who destroyed you throughout the 80's is overrated?
Kicked bags against a bottom 4 side, anyone could have kicked a bag against the Richmond sides of that era, he would struggle to get a kick against the great Richmond sides of the 60s, 70s and early 80s

Gee, it's easy to trigger you Richmond fans.

One premiership and you act like your shit doesn't stink.

Can't wait until Richmond gets found out, and their bubble bursts, and their fluking of a flag is exposed as just that, and they sink back to the bottom.

Win two more flags in the next few years, then you can hang with us in the modern era.