News AFL 2020 Season postponed

Underpinned by the inability of a few dickheads to show restraint. Who knows where we'd be today if thousands hadn't flocked to Bondi? If hundreds weren't witnessed partying in large groups at restaurants?
Unfortunately Australia is not short of dick heads unable to think beyond their own personal needs and gratification. Like the boxing match in Thailand or religious event in Malaysia - single events with big societal ramifications.

In a post coronavirus world I guess the AFL will have to ask itself the serious question whether 10 professional football sides all fighting for the spotlight and corporate dollar within the one city is actually realistic?

Does any other major sporting code in the world even remotely reach that level of saturation within the one market?

The NRL would be one but that only compounds the problem further for both codes and for the NRL they were already in a far less enviable position financially prior to coronavirus than the AFL.

Obviously if I was a supporter of one of the smaller Melbourne clubs I'd be devastated with any notion that my club could be forced to merge or fold but who knows where the dominoes will land with many clubs already relying on the AFL for survival now requiring even greater levels of assistance.

Will there be a tipping point where the socialised distribution of wealth among the clubs can't continue to support all 18 or will the AFL be determined to keep all 18 afloat and commit themselves for the foreseeable future to any amount required to keep a club solvent year on year?

I'm guessing the latter.
I'm guessing the latter as well! And that's how it should be.

Unfortunately Australia is not short of dick heads unable to think beyond their own personal needs and gratification. Like the boxing match in Thailand or religious event in Malaysia - single events with big societal ramifications.

I legitimately hate the majority of people in this country...

I'm sure I read that Eddie and Co invested all of our money from the pub sale/pokies machines into shares. Wonder how those shares are going right now...
Depends if you long or short term share holder.
history shows the shares overall always rise again after falling.

Think of it like owning properties.
if you buy a house for $100,000 and years later some legitimately offers you $1 million then in theory you have $900 k to the good - but only in theory (if you wanted to sell it).

Same thing if the same person came back in a down turn and said now I’m offering $500 k.
in theory you have “lost” $500 k of value, but it’s only theory unless you want to sell the property.

in shares, besides the dividends you may get, the value of the share is only a theory if you’re not selling.

If the Club has shares, and has no intention of selling, it’s all academic, as who cares what the current value may be.

The dividend, that’s a different matter so depending on what you’re getting may be a skinny outcome or fat hen outcome.

You realise according to AFL tonight, the Pies, Richmond, West Coast("stronger clubs) assets(net equity) being used as guarantor for debt issued to others within the AFL going forward

So Collingwood and Richmond taking on big risks for no benefit???

Sounds like others are saying stuff you to Collingwood and Richmond if one reads the fine print!!

I am not sure Richmond and Collingwood can call themselves individual clubs under such a scenario when clearly they lack autonomy!!

Basically means AFL league, St Kilda and others can send Richmond and Collingwood broke care of the banksters. Possible assets like Punt Road, Victoria Park Equus Centre sold off to pay bank loans to AFL !!!
Im not quite sure thats right. This is the latest thats been reported:

"
Up to 80 per cent of employees across the industry - assistant coaches, support staff, recruiters, list managers, executives, administration staff, membership, marketing and media staff - are without work after the AFL effectively took over the clubs and mandated that up to 80 per cent of employees be put on unpaid leave.
The league confirmed 80 per cent of its own staff would be stood down from next Monday until at least the end of May, following the suspension and possible abandonment of the season.
They can take annual and long service leave during the stand-down period if they wish.
The AFL said it will also pay the stood-down staff nine additional special leave days at full pay as compensation. Executives remaining in their jobs will take a minimum 20 per cent pay cut.

Even Collingwood, one of the most powerful and financially strong clubs in the competition, has stood down most of its staff, while its executive team has accepted a 40 per cent pay cut during the shut-down."

Tell you what, if I was employed full time at a footy club and had just lost my job and all my entitlements and rights because head office demanded cost cutting to ensure the league survives, yet those same executives getting paid more than 10-20 times my own wage only decided to take a measly 20% paycut I'd be damn ropeable

I understand the plan. It's not a great one. They need to be more drastic with their measures and people can suck it, the fk up!

No football... Just write it off, accept it and hope we still have 18 teams competing next year.
I legitimately hate the majority of people in this country...
Whiskers.. we've spoken about this.
Think about your blood pressure mate.

if you buy a house for $100,000 and years later some legitimately offers you $1 million then in theory you have $900 k to the good - but only in theory (if you wanted to sell it).

Same thing if the same person came back in a down turn and said now I’m offering $500 k.
in theory you have “lost” $500 k of value, but it’s only theory unless you want to sell the property.

in shares, besides the dividends you may get, the value of the share is only a theory if you’re not selling.

If the Club has shares, and has no intention of selling, it’s all academic, as who cares what the current value may be.

The dividend, that’s a different matter so depending on what you’re getting may be a skinny outcome or fat hen outcome.
Brings back thoughts of the club selling off it's property portfolio in the 1990s to payoff debt. If the club has invested in shares hopefully they can avoid a position of having to sell now.

With staff being stood down and no legal obligation associated with running pokies how much will our charity/community causes suffer? I imagine some of these partnerships rely heavily on club contributions.

+ if your assets go down 20% and everybody else’s go down 50% ... despite going backwards you’re actually ahead.

Im not quite sure thats right. This is the latest thats been reported:

"
Up to 80 per cent of employees across the industry - assistant coaches, support staff, recruiters, list managers, executives, administration staff, membership, marketing and media staff - are without work after the AFL effectively took over the clubs and mandated that up to 80 per cent of employees be put on unpaid leave.
The league confirmed 80 per cent of its own staff would be stood down from next Monday until at least the end of May, following the suspension and possible abandonment of the season.
They can take annual and long service leave during the stand-down period if they wish.
The AFL said it will also pay the stood-down staff nine additional special leave days at full pay as compensation. Executives remaining in their jobs will take a minimum 20 per cent pay cut.

Even Collingwood, one of the most powerful and financially strong clubs in the competition, has stood down most of its staff, while its executive team has accepted a 40 per cent pay cut during the shut-down."

Tell you what, if I was employed full time at a footy club and had just lost my job and all my entitlements and rights because head office demanded cost cutting to ensure the league survives, yet those same executives getting paid more than 10-20 times my own wage only decided to take a measly 20% paycut I'd be damn ropeable

The bold is a fair call. What I said about the guarantor arrangements was a quote from the AFL tonight program heard and seen first hand

I'm sure I read that Eddie and Co invested all of our money from the pub sale/pokies machines into shares. Wonder how those shares are going right now...

Last count, we still hold the same number of shares.

Well looks like their little stunt worked becauser our bleeding heart government has just announced that temporary visa holders and tourists are now eligible for the CoVID-19 centrelink supplement??!! Umm dont we have our own vulnerable people and just our own CITIZENS to look after before idiots who didnt heed the warnings and who chose to stay instead of catching the first flight home? Now they can enjoy a paid holiday on the Australian taxpayer
Unfknbelievable

Stupid stupid comment. My fiance is a kiwi and has lived here for 8 years (and isn’t a citizen as you don’t need to be as we have an agreement w NZ).If they didn’t do this she’d be earning nothing and we’d struggle badly to make ends meet.

I also have a lot of friends that are bar staff here on a working visa. Many lost their job AFTER the borders were closed OR didn’t want to go back to a country (like Italy for example) where the virus was out of control.

All of these people are extremely hard working and deserve our compassion. Unlike the Aussie crackheads I overheard in the park this week rejoicing cos their Newstart got doubled so they can load up on ice.

Stupid stupid comment. My fiance is a kiwi and has lived here for 8 years (and isn’t a citizen as you don’t need to be as we have an agreement w NZ).If they didn’t do this she’d be earning nothing and we’d struggle badly to make ends meet.

I also have a lot of friends that are bar staff here on a working visa. Many lost their job AFTER the borders were closed OR didn’t want to go back to a country (like Italy for example) where the virus was out of control.

All of these people are extremely hard working and deserve our compassion. Unlike the Aussie crackheads I overheard in the park this week rejoicing cos their Newstart got doubled so they can load up on ice.
Is there a reciprocal agreement?

Yes there is in fact. I also have an Australian friend who resides in NZ.

Most civilised countries would be supporting temp visa holders and tourists otherwise they’d have an explosion of homeless people who’d 100% get the virus (not to mention the social and economic impact).

I could also mention the 3 (obviously non perm resident) young people I saw down at St Kilda beach yesterday sitting by themselves sobbing talking to their family back home. It was grim. If you think these kids are treating this as a paid holiday you’re delusional. This is a horrible and stressful time for everyone.

Some of these people didn’t even have an option of “jumping on a plane and going back home” as their borders have been closed for some time, even for citizens.

I always hoped if we reached a situation like this we’d show the Australian spirit of compassion and mateship, but all I’ve seen so far is selfishness and xenophobia. Disappointing.

Last count, we still hold the same number of shares.

True. Fully backing Ed and Co. to buy up at the right time!

Just want to put in a plug for the Aussie crackheads. Junkies are a hard working people, never short of initiative, and their costs of business are suffering as much as anyone else's in these perilous times. And with every other bastard confined to the home, simple burglaries have never been harder.

Let us not begrudge their momentary rejoicing.

Then the Club is Broke

Pardon my ignorance but if 80% of staff have been laid off and the AFL/clubs are effectively earning little or no revenue, why are the players only taking a 50% hair cut to the end of May and why are executives/senior management at both club land and the AFL not taking bigger paycuts? To be frank, I don't quite understand why the players are being paid at all during these unprecedented times. Putting aside contractual obligations, it would be an appropriate goodwill gesture not to take a wage over the next 2 months and support the industry that has served them very well over the years. Any thoughts?

Working visa or resident visa in the case of New Zealanders are entirely different things to temporary visas which are tourists. Both are eligible to claim the Centrelink supplement. Only one lot pays tax into the system that supports them. Only one has suffered a real financial loss in the event they lose their jobs or fall ill because of C19. Yet both are eligible for the same amount of financial assistance apparently. You tell me if thats fair since you apparently have direct personal experience of this very circumstance?

I think yours is actually the stupid, stupid comment since you clearly have not either read what Ive written or you've missed the announcement and are confused about the different visa types

Pardon my ignorance but if 80% of staff have been laid off and the AFL/clubs are effectively earning little or no revenue, why are the players only taking a 50% hair cut to the end of May and why are executives/senior management at both club land and the AFL not taking bigger paycuts? To be frank, I don't quite understand why the players are being paid at all during these unprecedented times. Putting aside contractual obligations, it would be an appropriate goodwill gesture not to take a wage over the next 2 months and support the industry that has served them very well over the years. Any thoughts?
I don't think you can expect to take a wage over an indefinite period, even if it would be an incredible goodwill gesture. But I don't think the AFLPA is acting in the best long-term interests of its members by turning this into a s**t fight. For the players to maximise their collective salaries they need an 18 team competition with full lists. There is already talk of cutting list sizes back to 35 so I'd have thought the AFLPA would be taking all possible actions to ensure the long-term viability of clubs.

I could also mention the 3 (obviously non perm resident) young people I saw down at St Kilda beach yesterday sitting by themselves sobbing talking to their family back home. It was grim. If you think these kids are treating this as a paid holiday you’re delusional. This is a horrible and stressful time for everyone.

Some of these people didn’t even have an option of “jumping on a plane and going back home” as their borders have been closed for some time, even for citizens.

I always hoped if we reached a situation like this we’d show the Australian spirit of compassion and mateship, but all I’ve seen so far is selfishness and xenophobia. Disappointing.
That is simply not true. A country cannot deny entry to any of its own citizens that hold a valid passport (or even if they dont yet they are still citizens and able to prove that) under international human rights law. To close borders and deny entry to citizens would be contravening a number of UN conventions, they may require them to enter a period of enforced quarantine upon reentry - which big deal we're supposedly doing that here too to people returning here - but no sorry that is not the same as closing the borders thus barring people from returning home if they wish nor have I heard of ANY country on the news doing that. It would cause international outrage, in fact nearly every country has been for at LEAST the past three weeks if not more urging any of its citizens abroad to cut short their holidays if they are on one and return home before further restrictions on travel are enforced...further restrictions meaning reduced flight availability and capacities and stricter border quarantine measures, not locked out entirely from coming home if youre trying to.

So sorry nice try you paint a sorry picture but its just not the reality. If they're crying on the phone because they cant get home its because they ignored the warnings all around them and the advice from their own countrys governments to come home now, and now theyre finding it a bit hard to get a flight with airlines grounded now theyve woken up to the fact "oh s**t this shits real", or they dont have enough money to get themselves home or support themselves for an extended stay here. Should we feel sorry for these people for their flagrant disregard in the pursuit of their own personal fun and leisure? If they get sick, should we as the taxpayer foot the bill for their medical treatment and possibly a bed in ICU if they need it...possibly denying that bed to one of our own vulnerable citizens, which may be the difference between their life or death? Should we as the taxpayer foot the bill for these people's welfare and financial support for an extended period, when we have many millions of our own fellow Australians who have lost their jobs and their incomes and ability to feed their families and protect them from illness through absolutely no fault of their own who need to be supported?
It is not being xenophobic or selfish at all to consider these questions when forming your opinion on the matter, so i respectfully disagree with your opinion on this issue. It is simply a very realist and rational view that despite what many seem to think our government and country does not have an endless supply of money to give away to everyone who has their hand out, it is going to come at a cost to all of us both now and for many months, years even into the future. Those backpackers you speak of are actually the selfish ones, they ignored orders from both our government and their own to go home, they chose to stay in a country with no money nor means with which to support themselves (which is actually against the conditions of their entry visa too) and they are the very ones who are part of the reason why the rest of us are being increasingly locked down and why the spread through our community is so rapid - why the hell are they huddling in groups crying when they should be distancing or simply staying indoors? So no sorry i dont feel sorry for them they havent contributed a dollar of tax in the form of the medicare levy to pay for the treatment theyll expect when they get sick, nor for the welfare payments theyll need to stay here cos they cant afford a flight home, nor will they contribute any future tax dollars that we'll all be paying off this event well into the future cos soon as they can theyll be on a plane and back home? And all of these dollars spent on them are dollars that couldve been instead given to one of our own needy or couldve gone towards hospital resources or extra ICU beds. They havent shown one iota of care or consideration for Australians by staying, so sorry its not selfish at all for us to look after our own first

It’s an appropriate question to ask, especially in comparison to other industries/companies where the staff have been stood down - Qantas, Virgin, retail, hospitality. They have to take their leave entitlements or leave without pay for the duration of any shutdown or in some cases, outright redundancies. I’m not sure either how the players are getting paid at all (outside of annual leave entitlements) given they’ve been stood down from their jobs, they can’t even train. Unless training on their own is categorised as “working from home”. May be it’s some nuance in the standard player’s contract, I don’t know but they seem to be getting special treatment that differs from the rest of staff employed in the AFL industry.