Review Round 11, 2020 vs Richmond

What a brilliant last qtr after we have seen years on end of us dropping those games.

As a side note, after we owned the game and had the dominant players on the field, just typical vic based media showing highlights on footy central and the first thing they say is how close the game was and it was “vintage Dusty”. He did stuff all!

Butters is the king of the crop...unbelievable player, just brilliant.
Is it time to start genuinely talking about him as a star? He would be in the top 5 players at the club now surely.

Outstanding win guys. Simply a game that restored my faith in footy after so much blandness served up this year.
You couldn’t wish for a better game, tough, skillful, committed. Awesome. Thanks 👍
Thanks mate. Hopefully your lads can make our smiles even broader by compounding Adelaide's misery on Tuesday night.

Magnificent game!!! Easily the game of the year, extreme pressure and both teams showed immense poise under duress. We got on top in contests, and won because we got the game on our terms, in our forward half.

Took the reigning premiers on at their own game and smashed them - that was easily a 6 goal win, barring poor set shot goalkicking and two gift goals to the Tigers. Really impressed by our tackling and intensity, the Tigers rarely got their surge going because of our frontal pressure.

We won all major indicators - I50, contested possessions, absolutely dominated out of centre bounces. Looked dangerous up forward, we are starting to get some system there around Charlie.

Players announced themselves to the comp as stars today; Butters, Ladhams, Amon are all regarded internally, but will now be recognised nationally. Zac especially is an absolute jet. Woodie has slotted in beautifully, too.

Boak, Wines and Rocky superb, both offensively and defensively. SPP is a battering ram, DBJ and Hartlett are tough and hard, and never let the ball get behind them. Jonas also impassable.

Great win, showed that our ladder position is no fluke and we have now got the scalps of 3 of last season's top 4!

Marshall
Burton
Rozee
Motlop
Ebert
Mayes

6 of our ‘best 22’ out!

And Duursma, Lycett and McKenzie all resuming after layoffs recently and probably underdone.

Not to mention Drew, Watts, bergmann and Burgoyne missing a lot of the pre season, and yet to have the requisite fitness to challenge for a spot in the best 22.

PORT ADELAIDE 4.4 8.6 10.11 13.15 (93)
RICHMOND
3.3 7.3 11.6 11.6 (72)

GOALS
Port Adelaide:
Gray 3, Dixon 2, Ladhams 2, Amon, Butters, Houston, Rockliff, Wines, Woodcock
Richmond: Riewoldt 3, Aarts 2, Chol 2, Lambert, Lynch, Martin, Stack

BEST
Port Adelaide:
Gray, Boak, Wines, Butters, Rockliff, Amon
Richmond: Bolton, Short, Riewoldt, Vlastuin, Chol

INJURIES
Port Adelaide:
Rozee (heel) replaced in selected side by Sutcliffe

Genuine Port brand footy.
Been thirsting it for a long time and how good was it to drink it all in!
Kudos to you people there, sounded amazing! Wet your worn throats with a well deserved one.
It was deafening in that last quarter - if it had been a full house, I reckon at least 1 of the grandstands would have lost its roof.