Autopsy Geelong defeated by Tigers by 31 points.

Martin is the GOAT that I have seen since 1963, which goes back a way, but Coventry is way before my time.
I obviously didn’t see Coventry play but I think the fact he still holds records 80/90 years after he set them speaks volumes.

I really don’t understand why people insist on using the qualifier ‘of all time’.

Also i hate Cotchin but spoke with a lot of respect for Geelong which was nice, didnt know he was a supporter growing up.
Didn't know that, turned the TV off after the siren, kicked the cat, realised we don't have a cat, had another glass of red, realised there was none left...not a happy night...but I've been through this before. 1995 was the worst, half way through the first quarter knowing the game was over. Although 2008 was so utterly horrifying. This was bad and so disappointing, not losing, but our second half effort was dismal.

Dangerfield had a shocker lets face it, you cant say its Scotts fault because we were dominating before they started to come back so responsibly falls directly on those players that fell off not Scott, the plan was working fine before that. As i said previously we play like that against any other side and we win 9 times out of 10.

Likewise Gydafud, likewise.

I just hope we do not enter the dark times that we went through when senior retired with junior now retiring.
Dark times? we missed finals no more than 3 years at a time, finished no lower than 12th, brought in heaps of kids and set in stone the foundations off field that led us to where we are now.

Go tell Saints or dees fans about our dark times.
We'll be fine.

2019 prelim after half time: Richmond 8.8 Geelong 2.4 2020 grand final after half time: Richmond 9.7 Geelong 2.3 .
Add that they were a player down and had to travel. I think Geelong did well to make a grandfinal after losing Tim Kelly. After losing to GWS in round 1 I didn’t think we’d make finals. B2B is hard to do. Credit to Richmond, they are a good side.

Gordon Coventry kicked 112 goals in finals which includes the GF goal record and is still 34 goals more than any other player.

You might think Martin has ‘easily’ got him covered but I’m not prepared to claim that given his phenomenal record over a number of years.

The fact you have to go back that far to probably beyond when anybody was alive to see him kinda proves the point doesn't it?

Edit: Just checked Coventry's stats and that's pretty insane. 111 goals over 31 finals but only 16 wins, that's 3.5 goals a game.

Add that they were a player down and had to travel. I think Geelong did well to make a grandfinal after losing Tim Kelly. After losing to GWS in round 1 I didn’t think we’d make finals. B2B is hard to do. Credit to Richmond, they are a good side.

Had to travel?

I think our core stood up tonight, in my mind the three areas of improvement we need to look towards are

1) Being more willing to defend by attacking,
2) Ground ball gets for periphery players, once the contest moved from the initial contested our 2nd tier players panicked while fighting for the ground ball.
3) Flexibility up forward, we're way too reliant on taking marks I50

Some of this will be aided by personnel changes
Add speed to that assessment. Need speed in the middle. Tigers have speed to pressure and harass and gang up.

Dark times? we missed finals no more than 3 years at a time, finished no lower than 12th, brought in heaps of kids and set in stone the foundations off field that led us to where we are now.

We'll be fine.
Our dark times (in my footy watching life) were from 99-2003.
So five seasons! And we made finals once during then too lol.

Dangerfield had a shocker lets face it, you cant say its Scotts fault because we were dominating before they started to come back so responsibly falls directly on those players that fell off not Scott, the plan was working fine before that. As i said previously we play like that against any other side and we win 9 times out of 10.
Don’t understand why people would say any other side. We were playing Richmond. No need to mention any other side.

I don’t think I’ll rewatch that game but a few key moments stand out and the tide started going the other way. This is apart from the misses earlier in the game:

- Henry blasting the ball out of bounds on the full just before half time when he had a bit more time. The inside 50 led to the first Martin goal where we didn’t have enough cover at the front of the pack. We seemed to kick the ball OOTF an awful lot. Gets them back to within 15 points.
- After half time Riewoldt grabs Hendo’s jumper (I thought umpires look for the jumper tug?? 🙄), Hendo tries to get body position back and Riewoldt is awarded an awful free and Richmond back to 9 points
- Joel got a free out of the middle and was streaming forward but for some reason handballed to Guthrie who was unprepared which led to a turnover. Surely we had options forward.
- The missed shot from Guthrie’s turnover rolled straight into Kolo taking an awful option which led to Castagna kicking a goal from 50 which we possibly could have touched on the line with a bit more awareness. Richmond only 3 points down.
- Miers kicked a bit of a settler, then we did really well for a moment to prevent what looked a certain goal with tackling pressure, then Bewsy takes another awful option from the goal line trying to float one to Menegola about 15 metres away instead of trying to clear the 50. Bolton took a good mark. Menegola didn’t man the mark properly Bolton setup Lambert for a goal.
- Blicavs got the ball in a bit of space at the bounce and was running forward. Probably would have preferred him to kick, reasonable handball to Guthrie who rushed the kick inside 50. Blicavs arrived on the scene and had 3 players free for a handball, tried to free his arms before handballing and got pinged for HTB. Too slow. Goes up the other end and Martin kicks his second and Richmond are back in front.

The fact you have to go back that far to probably beyond when anybody was alive to see him kinda proves the point doesn't it?
No.

The game has existed for over 100 years and great players deserve respect whether we were alive to see them or not.

If you think Martin has been ‘easily’ better than Coventry in finals then OK I disagree but each to their own.

But I don’t see the point in labelling something the greatest of all time if you actually mean the greatest in your lifeline.

Yep- what I was worried about going into half time wasn’t even the late dusty goal-it was that our players looked spent already. Tom Stewart was bent over looking stuffed, so did the others around him. And I thought how can they look so exhausted when it’s only half time. So that’s when I got a bit nervous. Our best is better than theirs but we can’t keep it up for 4 quarters against Richmond. We can do enough against everyone else. So what is it about Richmond’s game that so taxes the opposition?
Dusty is truly amazing, paddy will, quite rightly, feel disappointed in his game. It’s arguable that we win that game if dusty isn’t playing.
And if Hawkins and Duncan were playing we would’ve won too!

So the GFC has fallen short in 66% of the GF's you've seen them play in. Same experience.

My other half has rarely seen her side lose a GF over the same journey.

It's in the perspective.

we were favourite in 2/3 of those 9
Maybe left one on the table? Maybe lucky in 09/11

perspective

Firstly, Well done to Dusty and his Tigers. He was unstoppable and tore Geelong’s heart out just like he has done every final he has played against us.

Chin up to our team, as a supporter it’s disappointing but it was a hard fort loss and sometimes you just aren’t good enough. Pick up the pieces and go again next year, its the Geelong way...

For those that suggest we should just copy the Tigers game style, the logic is just floored. The tigers game style is build around Dustin Martin, and hence without him its pointless.

I think the Cats would be confident against the other 16 teams, but clearly have scares VS Tigers. If the Cats are fair dinkum about beating the Tigers in a final, and I am not sure they are as they just want to “play our way”. They need to run through hours of footage to see if there is a player in the league that can shut him down and then good after that player (offer 500K p.a) get them to the club.

Go Cats.

We'll be fine.
Yeah you are right. The period when senior retired to when junior started were some of our finest years.

I think our core stood up tonight, in my mind the three areas of improvement we need to look towards are

1) Being more willing to defend by attacking,
2) Ground ball gets for periphery players, once the contest moved from the initial contested our 2nd tier players panicked while fighting for the ground ball.
3) Flexibility up forward, we're way too reliant on taking marks I50

Some of this will be aided by personnel changes
TOtally agree, and would add that in regard to "defending by attack" this relates not only to style but list management, coaching staff (a strong voice the importance of attack) and selection (having more than five or sometimes only four specialist forwards on the ground in a game). Ironic that Jordan Clark came away from the night with a medal ... it's rebalancing, not renovation, that seems, from the outside, to be desirable.

You what really makes me disappointed more than almost anything else (other than the obvious), Richmond just won 3 in 4 and back to back to eclipse our Great era. That's the second "dynasty" since ours that have been better, yet again you'd struggle to even suggest they were close in terms of talent and pure skill. Again, just cements the opinion that team under-achieved by atleast 2 flags (but I'll take the 3 regardless of course).
Kinda sums up being a Cats fan at times.

The question then is have on balance and compared to other clubs has Geelong been successful and rewarded its supporters?
Id say that despite the disappointments, the answer is still a yes.
Thankful that we had 2007-11 otherwise they’re horrendous finals failures. 89-97, 2012-2020 unbelievable.

No.

The game has existed for over 100 years and great players deserve respect whether we were alive to see them or not.

If you think Martin has been ‘easily’ better than Coventry in finals then OK I disagree but each to their own.

But I don’t see the point in labelling something the greatest of all time if you actually mean the greatest in your lifeline.

Just like you think people can't say Dusty was a better performer than Coventry, you can't say Coventry was better.

It's a 2-way street, none of us watched Coventry but we've watched Dusty.