Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40

Treloar needs to get his sh*t together and fix his body language. Seemed very sulky even after the game. He's been carried to a prelim - time to repay the faith or step out of the way so someone who wants to be there can come in.
Totally agree. Someone like Garcia is built for finals and could have had a huge influence in a game like last night.

Definite Outs
R.Smith

Definite ins
JJ

Probable outs
Weightman
Bonts

Probable ins
Richards
Not sure who else yet

I mean conditions were tough for all the marking types last night. But I don't know if we can continue getting killed in centre bounces by oppo rucks.

I think Young survives though.

Bont misses. Obviously a massive blow but his absence means that Dunkley and Treloar would get more time in their favoured positions. Also Dunkley locking down on Wines, with Libba and Mcrae as our starting duo is still elite.

Young is a better chance competing against Lycett than BigO. Stays in for mine.

Young only played 53% game time last night.

Just don't see how we can carry him next week like that if he is ineffective again.

Bevo said the same thing about not being able to play marra/martin on reduced capacity, but I would have preferred 53% game time from those guys than young

Without taking away from the other discussions about injury replacements and possible ruck replacement, ideally I'd think we look at alternatives for Hannan and/or Schache.

Didn't think either was a 'threat' at all last night and when the lions worked this out they had more options themselves.

I reckon bev might try something different in the ruck this week.
Young only spent 52% time on ground compared with 80% the week prior which suggests that Bevo didn’t have much confidence playing him.

In the modern day you can afford to carry someone for 50% game time and essentially lose a rotation.

I almost expect we will drop Young for a mid or even Juh and play English full time ruck.

Personally hope JUH doesn’t play in this finals series, want him to come back really hungry next year and have a massive preseason so he can run out games. Unfortunately for a second year player a lot will ride on his ability to contribute to the forward line.

I'm hoping Bont was just worried about the possibility of missing next week based on a scan revealing something if what he said was true and the initial tests were ok that's a positive they probably also told him they'll need to scan it to be sure and I'm pretty sure that would weigh on your mind a bit thinking "shit what if the scan's not ok and I miss next week's prelim" Hopefully the reason he didn't seem all there when the siren went off and not himself in the post match

I think it means bruising or similar trauma rather than something structural.

On the bench he was grabbing below the knee a bit, so hopefully no hairline fracture in there

I've got a shit knee based on lots of running injuries meniscus always gives me the shits sometimes the pain can pulsate in places

I get the people sticking up for Roarke, they want to see him succeed and go well, heck he has done it "tough" for 7+ years on the list. But facts are he does not contribute, and is never going to be the player you all want him to be.

Stop convincing yourselves that he is a stopper, not 1 tackle in a high pressure final. His disposal is deplorable at best, good for a quick little handball to an open player, but anytime he needs to make a decision with the footy he misses the target, or just disposes in panic. He doesn't kick goals, he doesn't take contested marks, he doesn't run with the footy.

Even if Bont is ruled out with a knee i'd play him on one leg on a wing in place of Roarke.

Richards has to come in for him if he is fit. If not Richards pick someone who has the ability to contribute.

I get the people sticking up for Roarke, they want to see him succeed and go well, heck he has done it "tough" for 7+ years on the list. But facts are he does not contribute, and is never going to be the player you all want him to be.

Stop convincing yourselves that he is a stopper, not 1 tackle in a high pressure final. His disposal is deplorable at best, good for a quick little handball to an open player, but anytime he needs to make a decision with the footy he misses the target, or just disposes in panic. He doesn't kick goals, he doesn't take contested marks, he doesn't run with the footy.

Even if Bont is ruled out with a knee i'd play him on one leg on a wing in place of Roarke.

Richards has to come in for him if he is fit. If not Richards pick someone who has the ability to contribute.

Yeah nah. Roarke has been excellent. I'd easily pick him over any of the guys not currently playing.

Nah even as a person who didn't rate Roarke since his debut his form this year is leagues above anything he did previously while on the list. Looks way harder and less scared of contact goes hard at the ball now and does the team thing really well

Yeah nah. Roarke has been excellent. I'd easily pick him over any of the guys not currently playing.
He has improved off a very low base but excellent? What is he excellent in? A smoother or a hand ball here and there, dear in a headlight for 2 weeks in a row forward and been caught twice for being too slow, not strong enough one on one. Probably won't get dropped because clearly the MC love him and Gardner but both would not get games in the other finals sides left, well in my opinion anyway

Given no vfl for a long time, I don't see us bringing in any unforced changes. Expecting players like Lipinski, Sweet, West etc to step into a PF off no proper competitive footy in months is highly improbable for mine

Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40