Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40

Why are people thinking Bont will not play
He said it was fine after the game - bit sore. They'll do a scan - as Bev said - and assuming there is nothing serious
He'll play, he may not play are much mid-field but he'll play

Cody is fine - but there are precedence he may not be permitted to play. The club will say it was precautionary and a conservative approach but he tested fine. Now the trouble with the AFL saying NO - is that it sends a bad message - putting pressure on medical staff to not be so conservative - not a good look! If he is actually ok, we can play that card and the AFL should cave.

As for Changes:
Out- YOUNG
IN- SWEET/MARTIN

We are getting destroyed in the Ruck - if you can't see it - you aren't watching. Fortunately, English lifted and was able to nullifiy O a little - but it really was only a little. He was still routinely grabbing the ball clearing it himself. If it wasn't for the desperation of McCrae and Libber in the clinches we had no hope.
Absolutely, superhuman effort from Libber - I was exhausted watching him scrambling at the bottom of packs 2,3,4,5 efforts at a time.

Why are people thinking Bont will not play
He said it was fine after the game - bit sore. They'll do a scan - as Bev said - and assuming there is nothing serious
He'll play, he may not play are much mid-field but he'll play

Cody is fine - but there are precedence he may not be permitted to play. The club will say it was precautionary and a conservative approach but he tested fine. Now the trouble with the AFL saying NO - is that it sends a bad message - putting pressure on medical staff to not be so conservative - not a good look! If he is actually ok, we can play that card and the AFL should cave.

As for Changes:
Out- YOUNG
IN- SWEET/MARTIN

We are getting destroyed in the Ruck - if you can't see it - you aren't watching. Fortunately, English lifted and was able to nullifiy O a little - but it really was only a little. He was still routinely grabbing the ball clearing it himself. If it wasn't for the desperation of McCrae and Libber in the clinches we had no hope.
Absolutely, superhuman effort from Libber - I was exhausted watching him scrambling at the bottom of packs 2,3,4,5 efforts at a time.
Super post!

Given no vfl for a long time, I don't see us bringing in any unforced changes. Expecting players like Lipinski, Sweet, West etc to step into a PF off no proper competitive footy in months is highly improbable for mine

Agreed, forced only with the only exception bringing in Martin if the comments around him have been a smoke show and this has been a Clark Keating plan to have him right for 2 games with a week off in between all along, if we got that far.

Realistically though he more than likely is cooked though, so we stick with Young.

JJ for Weightman if required, or Bont if required with Treloar back to midfield. If both have to miss, I’d bring in JUH ahead of Scott.

Why on Earth are we flying to WA instead straight to Adelaide??
We will start the WA quarantine process in the hope that we win the Prelim and can return to Perth for a Grand Final having almost completed their quarantine requirements. WA will also allow our players more freedom while in quarantine than SA will. That's all supposition by me but it makes some sense.

Yeah nah. Roarke has been excellent. I'd easily pick him over any of the guys not currently playing.
Would prefer Mark Cullen, at least he could get the ball and not panick like a dear in headlights when 30 out from goal. 12 possessions for a wingman is deplorable and when you turn it over by foot nearly 70% of time, does not lay a tackle and below average in pressure acts. He was below Treloar in pressure acts and Treloar was terrible.
I am perplexed people rate Roarke, he is depth only and has perform poor in all finals. Richards, Garcia, Lipinski, West all far better.

Young is a better chance competing against Lycett than BigO. Stays in for mine.
Based on what? What does he bring to the side? What is the argument? I am at a total loss on this one. He was such a liability that we couldn’t play him for most of the night. it’s pure ego, to keep going down this path.

Young only played 53% game time last night.

Just don't see how we can carry him next week like that if he is ineffective again.

Bevo said the same thing about not being able to play marra/martin on reduced capacity, but I would have preferred 53% game time from those guys than young
Absolutely this. If Bevo picks Young again he is completely contradicting himself.

We are very low on forwards who can impact the scoreboard and the usual practice of using mids as half-forwards has not been very successful, if at all. Of those who could be considered are Wallis, McNeill, West or Garcia but none of these has played for weeks and are out of the team due to form. There are no obvious answers to this selection at this stage.

disagree. Marra, Wallis, Garcia, McNeil, and Lipinski are all proven options that can kick goals. Yeah, they may not be our first choice players this year but they have all played numerous AFL games and have decent VFL form. They only need to come in and play a role.

They won’t be passengers like Young or Treloar have been and have every chance of contributing more than Hannan or Schache.

Yes, Young was shown up, thankfully English stood up ok,
Treloar will be lucky to hold his spot
McInerney kept taking the ball out of the ruck and not being pinged when he dropped it. He dominated until 3/4 time then English got on top. Agree that Treloar was not good but he couldn't play that badly again.

It's no longer holding the ball if you take it out of the ruck and drop it after being tackled.

Should be, but the rule changed some time ago

Based on what? What does he bring to the side? What is the argument? I am at a total loss on this one. He was such a liability that we couldn’t play him for most of the night. it’s pure ego, to keep going down this path.

He at least has the ability to jump against Lycett and Ladhams.
Do you really think we're going to change?

Young's a victim of circumstance. A key defender who has been picked by MC to be first ruck because the best is injured, the backup is timid/ preferred fwd and the backup isn't rated.
He jumps in and has a crack, we can't expect him to out ruck full time ruckman, just compete. Unless Martin is fit he will play, can't ruck against Lycett with option C (Hannan, Bont and Schache)

He at least has the ability to jump against Lycett and Ladhams.
Do you really think we're going to change?

He only played 50% time on ground. That tells me the coaches lost faith. I don’t know if we will make a change but I have been saying for weeks that we should. If Bevo keeps telling press conferences that we can’t choose liabilities than how can he choose someone he wont play for half a game?

On your other point, I just think jumping is irrelevant. Macnerney can’t jump, Lycett can’t jump, Mumford can’t jump. They are dominant ruckman.

He needs to be able to Ruck. And he can’t.

We saw what happened when he played against Lycett two weeks ago. He was utterly destroyed, not competitive.

Just praying we bring in Sweet or Martin.

He only played 50% time on ground. That tells me the coaches lost faith. I don’t know if we will make a change but I have been saying for weeks that we should. If Bevo keeps telling press conferences that we can’t choose liabilities than how can he choose someone he wasto play for half a game?

On your other point, I just think jumping is irrelevant. Macnerney can’t jump, Lycett can’t jump, Mumford can’t jump. They are dominant ruckman.

He needs to be able to Ruck. And he can’

We saw what happened when he played against Lycett two weeks ago. He was utterly destroyed, not competitive.

Just praying we bring in Sweet or Martin.
How would you expect Sweet to play in a prelim and be competitive after so little footy this year and overall. Not saying the current situation is the best but it's what we are stuck with I think.

Left field suggestion and I don’t Know how I feel about it but if Bont Is only 50% fit would I play him on the HBF in a Luke Hodge role. He reads the ball brillantly, beautiful kick most of the time, courageous in the air. HBF a lot easier on the body. Backline has been brilliant of late and if anything we need more speed down there against port but we have options with a half fit Bont. Most likely would prefer in the fwd line but we need Dunks, Treloar and B Smith to take more time in the middle and lift

Absolutely this. If Bevo picks Young again he is completely contradicting himself.
You do realise our hit out to advantage were the same as Brisbane's despite the Big O being the dominate ruck.

Young did a job, competed in the ruck and the proceeded to drag the Big O around the ground to wear him out. It looked designed.

Lewy was then taken off at the end of the game when the lions big defender got subbed off for a nasty head knock, when a smaller player for the lions got subbed on.
We then got JJ to play 90% of the 4th being fresh.
We just won by 1 point in brissie coming from behind, and yet we are still taking pot shots at Lewy.

He would be ready to run thru several brick walls about now. Our midfield has been a bit weak defensively since...well since dunks and treloar came back in, to be honest.

Could Wally come in to do a number on the oppositions best mid?
Isn't that what Dunkley has done vs Parish in the 2nd half last week and vs Neale for big chunks of last night?

Young only played 53% game time last night.

Just don't see how we can carry him next week like that if he is ineffective again.

Bevo said the same thing about not being able to play marra/martin on reduced capacity, but I would have preferred 53% game time from those guys than young
Young's playing time was reduced when the big lion's defender copped a big head knock and was replaced by a fresh smaller player. It semed to be an in game decision.

With Timmy fresh from resting up fwd from Lewy running the Big O all over the park, this allowed Timmy to run over Oscar at the end.
Another great decision i thought.

The hit outs to advantage was even for both teams despite the Big O being the dominate ruck.

IIRC, when we beat Hawthorn in the 2016 SF, we started as +8.5 point underdogs. We started as +8.5 point underdogs last night too.

Against GWS, we started +15.5 point underdogs. I reckon that's going to be similar to our starting handicap this week too.
12.5 on sports sportsbet

We are not bringing in Sweet for a Prelim after month plus of no footy after the last VFL game he played he got beaten by Narhan Mullenger-McHugh playing for Coburg lol

With Bont the fact he passed structural tests is massive as that means there will be no full tears there which would definitely rule him out..

He may still have small partial tears though which could limit his stability so it’ll come down to how sore he is and how he’s managed through the week… not a bad time to be in a hub with docs who can look after him daily 😉

Promising news I’m sure he’ll be able to get up

Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40