Sydney's stand on betting

Football clubs are a business and if you are running a business your job is to create wealth. If you are not doing that you are failing at your job and are nothing but a liability to the company/business. Successful companies make money and lots of it. It´s as simple as that.

This is a great strategic move by the Swans. Taking this moral stance only brings about positive publicity for the club and therefore will attract and bring in more and new sponsors and supporters and as a result generate more money in the long run.

Extremely clever marketing ploy.
Is it clever?

What if the AFL decide that they now don't get revenue generated by gambling, is that clever then?

So so lame and embarrassing. People should be encouraged to do what they like with their own money. Some responsibility for self is a good idea.

There's a campaign here in SA that is 'love the game not the odds', and that is something I do rate to an extent. But I'm not really sure that this is all going to go away unless it becomes completely illegal. Gambling has been a part of human history forever hasn't it?

I actually appreciate the fact that the broadcasters will show the advertisements that have been paid for, but you never actually see gambling coverage as a proper part of the coverage. That's something that has happened in the US and I don't really love it. The USA is actually pretty bad with all the gambling content now, here it's at a good level. Maybe a few less ads would be nice but eh.

But my main point I was going to get to is:

One of their major sponsors is f*cking Qatar Airways lol.
Talk about having your cake and eating it too. They're gaining money from sports betting, pretending they hate it and taking money from Qatar.

I don't mind gambling per se in small doses.

I just feel the TV coverage is now absolutely polluted and over saturated with gambling ads that really diminishes the overall match experience for the fan.

Should be limited in some way. Maybe 2 minutes maximum per hour or something (including the BS half time segments.

It's just bloody ridiculous ATM.
Wait a minute. Is that really you Will?

I don't gamble online but have a little go on the pokies about 2 to 3 times a year.

Was chatting to mates about this Sydney initiative yesterday and raised the point that, as society, we perceive poker machines to be evil. Live betting on sport is seemingly far more accepted, as evidenced by the endless advertising.

So let's put it this way, why do we accept all of these gambling commercials when there is zero chance we'd allow an ad on TV for More Chilli or Where's The Gold?
I wish that translated to laws that regulate the act itself rather than advertising of it. The laws on live betting on sport are quite restrictive (have to call), whereas pokies has had nearly no changes in years. Pokie lobby very powerful was a good 4 corners story on it lately.

This is just so typical of modern PR.

The hide to make a self-aggrandising video, staring down the barrel of a camera, the poignant music is the background.

Right now, the Swans financially do not exist without sports betting. Their biggest financial backer is the AFL.

The AFL has huge sponsorship deals with betting companies. The AFL get a slice of every bet placed.

The AFL’s whole business strategy - including that in the northern states - is based on broadcast revenue, which is largely underwritten by sports betting advertising.

The salary of every bullshitting person in that video depends on sports betting.

Like many things, change starts with truth and the recognition of reality.

Guys: this is the business you are in, like it or not.

Trying to distance yourself from it is just PR bullshit to polish your own image and will make zero real difference.

In fact, it actively prevents change by conning people that actual change is happening. It’s not.

So 30k people who come to the game don’t see advertising. As they well know, multitudes more watch on TV and for them it’s wall to wall betting.

I loath statements like this generally, but really: modern society is just so rooted.

PR, PR, PR.

The absolute hide of them. More front than Myer.
I don’t care that gambling underwrites the footy, I just want to take my kids to a game without being assaulted with betting promotions every second of the game. Seems reasonable.

It’s not even that big an issue at games - it’s nonstop for you and them the way the vast majority of people watch: on TV. They know this. We all know this. It’s why it’s such a pathetically empty gesture.

It’s not even that big an issue at games
I disagree. A while back I saw trucks outside the G showing horse racing before an acternoon game. Not sure if that’s an every week thing or some special race was on, but either way.

it’s nonstop for you and them the way the vast majority of people watch: on TV.
Yeah TV coverage sucks too. My illegal stream has heaps less betting ads tho.

So so lame and embarrassing. People should be encouraged to do what they like with their own money. Some responsibility for self is a good idea.

There's a campaign here in SA that is 'love the game not the odds', and that is something I do rate to an extent. But I'm not really sure that this is all going to go away unless it becomes completely illegal. Gambling has been a part of human history forever hasn't it?

I actually appreciate the fact that the broadcasters will show the advertisements that have been paid for, but you never actually see gambling coverage as a proper part of the coverage. That's something that has happened in the US and I don't really love it. The USA is actually pretty bad with all the gambling content now, here it's at a good level. Maybe a few less ads would be nice but eh.

But my main point I was going to get to is:

One of their major sponsors is f*cking Qatar Airways lol.
Talk about having your cake and eating it too. They're gaining money from sports betting, pretending they hate it and taking money from Qatar.

One of the greater hypocrisys was when Netball Australia rejected Gina Rineharts money on moral grounds that she wont apologise for her dads actions, while at the same time having their number 1 sponsor in Origin Energy being a key exporter of goods from the Uyghur prison camps.

Its amazing at how so many of these people are in bed with something 10 times worse then what they are fighting against

Cummins is a good one. He is against Alinta Gas for environmental reasons but then plays for a IPL franchise whose owners actively employ thousands of child slaves and who actually funded the beginnings of their business by starting up a fake bank to steal millions of money from people to start up their company and also pay off the authorites, using part of that money to bribe officials to protect themselves. Being against energy but okay with theft and child slavery is a pretty special trait

Money doesnt disappear you will find. Any money not spent on gambling will be spent on something else and that something else will want advertising to attact that money to their product

The fallacy of gambling money is needed to provide money for the community is as senile as anything around, especially when so much of that gamboing is funneled out into overseas interests.

The salary of every bullshitting person in that video depends on sports betting.

Like many things, change starts with truth and the recognition of reality.

Leaving aside the (valid) criticisms of modern PR, I take issue with this statement, particularly when followed by exhortation to recognise reality.

Before sports betting was a big thing did everyone in the AFL work for free? Did the AFL not make any money?

The idea that the AFL and all participants have to accept sports betting because without it things would fall apart is pretty much industry lobbying. Just like the tobacco industry argued back in the day and sport survived.

If the Federal Government banned gambling advertising tomorrow would the AFL fold? No. Would it struggle to sell advertising spots? No. Would it make a little less money? Yes.

Leaving aside the (valid) criticisms of modern PR, I take issue with this statement, particularly when followed by exhortation to recognise reality.

Before sports betting was a big thing did everyone in the AFL work for free? Did the AFL not make any money?

The idea that the AFL and all participants have to accept sports betting because without it things would fall apart is pretty much industry lobbying. Just like the tobacco industry argued back in the day and sport survived.

If the Federal Government banned gambling advertising tomorrow would the AFL fold? No. Would it struggle to sell advertising spots? No. Would it make a little less money? Yes.

It may end up making more. For all we know advertisers who dont want to be lumped in with betting companies may step up.

When China started banning our products we took a while but found other buyers and diversified. Being so dependent on a single source is never good.

Could even argue they make more money I think.

Less gambling will mean more bums in seats, more children watching the game, higher viewership numbers and a ability to really target a different subset of advertising dollars, that being more child friendly advertising which has no base in Australian sport at present due to the dominance of 1 industry.

I think what you will find is once the gambling money goes, the junk food advertisers swoop in as a replacement

This a sad example of gambling and our youth

FriendlyJordiers who took on the gambling industry had his house firebombed 2 weeks later and no one did boo about it

Corruption is deeper then just political in Australia

It is the current reality.

I don’t care what some alternate reality looks like.

These people looking down a camera and saying they don’t accept sports betting is absolute, unadulterated horseshit.

Their careers are financed by it.

So don’t bullshit us. Don’t cloud the issue by pretending you’re not accepting it. You’re absolutely accepting it and have been for many, many years.

What you’re saying just means it’s actually worse - the industry could get by without it but simply choose not to.

These people looking down a camera and saying they don’t accept sports betting is absolute, unadulterated horseshit.

So don’t bullshit us. Don’t cloud the issue by pretending you’re not accepting it. You’re absolutely accepting it and have been for many, many years.

What you’re saying just means it’s actually worse - the industry could get by without it but simply choose not to.

Yes, I guess so.

LOL “current reality”.

Like it’s been like this for centuries.

“Their careers are financed by it”. LOL. Their careers are partially financed by it. And not long ago their careers were somehow perfectly remunerative without the gambling dollars.

“Alternate reality”. What, you think everyone has the memory of a goldfish?

Some of us can remember AFL before 2015.

Such a BS disingenuous argument.

Gambling bad.
Governments gaoling people for being gay good.

Apparently. According to the Swans.
You know some of us are capable of being against the insidious scourge of gambling, AND the Swans sponsorship by Qatar Airways.

Just another BS argument for letting the vultures get away with anything they like.

One of the greater hypocrisys was when Netball Australia rejected Gina Rineharts money on moral grounds that she wont apologise for her dads actions, while at the same time having their number 1 sponsor in Origin Energy being a key exporter of goods from the Uyghur prison camps.

Its amazing at how so many of these people are in bed with something 10 times worse then what they are fighting against

Cummins is a good one. He is against Alinta Gas for environmental reasons but then plays for a IPL franchise whose owners actively employ thousands of child slaves and who actually funded the beginnings of their business by starting up a fake bank to steal millions of money from people to start up their company and also pay off the authorites, using part of that money to bribe officials to protect themselves. Being against energy but okay with theft and child slavery is a pretty special trait
Yeah you can probably find hypocrisy from Mahatma effing Gandhi if you like mate.

Adelaide is sponsored by crypto.com, or something like that

Don't think that's too fair removed from gambling
It's not really the same.

You can get good at trading if you put time & effort into it to learn TA, charts, etc. Another club is sponsored by CMC(can't remember who, Saints?) yet nobody complains about a company pushing derivatives trading, because it's primarily stock market and not crypto.

Just like how there's good poker players and there's bad poker players, there'll always be winners & losers. Much less of a chance to train yourself to be a winner gambling though, especially considering sports betting inevitably leads to heading to the sports bar at the casino, which leads to tables, pokies, etc.

Mind you, any advertising for products that carry a great risk to participants losing money should be banned. Yes, this includes crypto/brokerage advertising.

Of course but some are larger then others. Personally profiting of child slavery cash is a line I wouldn’t cross myself
Yeah and as I say a lot of Swans fans are very unhappy with it and have made their feelings known to the club.

But on the other hand, the relentless encroachment of gambling into our sport is something that affects all of us, is very much of concern to the wider community, and is something we can do something about. A single club may have tens of thousands of members. The AFL has millions of fans. The only reason the AFL has allowed this infiltration is because we millions of footy fans have not been forceful enough in opposing it.

It’s a huge issue for Australia society quite apart from sport, and if the groundswell continues, expect the AFL to snap to attention.