Sydney's stand on betting

I think Adelaide has also done this? Sorry, can't see a thread anywhere but surely this is worthy of discussion?

I hope players go further and boycott the game itself until the AFL disassociates with this dog industry that preys on the weak and vulnerable

I think Adelaide has also done this? Sorry, can't see a thread anywhere but surely this is worthy of discussion?

It's a small step but it's a start.

In the past financial year dumb people gave billions of dollars of their money away to sports betting businesses.

And there is an entire generation of children who have been deliberately groomed to gamble in adulthood through advertising and sponsorship.

Last edited by a moderator:
Went to the G to see footy, my round. Took about half an hour because there wasn't enough staff. Had horse racing on the TVs instead of the game I'd paid like $100 to watch, thanks campaigners.

Last time I bothered going to the footy. I don't mind gambling but I don't want to see the odds pumped at my face on video screens all over the ground, hear advertising masquerading as commentary ("DeGoey's had 30+ in his last three games, put him in your multi!"), and be forced to watch a whole load of dickheads whipping horses if I feel like a drink. It's a s**t experience.

I hope players go further and boycott the game itself until the AFL disassociates with this dog industry that preys on the weak and vulnerable
That would replenish my belief in people to make things better if it could ever happen.

I don't mind gambling per se in small doses (I have an account).

I just feel the TV coverage is now absolutely polluted and over saturated with gambling ads that really diminishes the overall match experience for the fan.

Should be limited in some way. Maybe 2 minutes maximum per hour or something (including the BS half time segments.

It's just bloody ridiculous ATM.

And we all know GM has his tongue all the way up the ass of the gambling companies cos he loves cash and polo and is generally an arsehole .

I would prefer gambling ads being banned as cigarette ads are

I would also prefer gamblers pay the state taxes, plus a $1k deposit on top of the state tax, one month ahead of gambling. That way there is no spontaneous punting but rather planned and limited by the pre payment.

Singapore has a similar system for locals wanting to go to the casino. Foreigners go in free but locals pay a gambling entrance fee.

A similar law applied in Vietnam for many decades as regards casinos. I believe it has veen relaxed a bit lately.

My firm has to occasionally replace its night time security when they foolishly play cards for cash with doors and windows open, easily viewed from the street, a police visit will promptly follow.

Vietnamese are notorious gamblers, much like Australians have been historically, willing to make a wager on virtually any event. Mostly the poor become afflicted with intolerable debt on top of their already significant financial woes. They often just can't control themselves.

Please be the start of an industry wide stance, it’s become unbearable. The advertising dollar from punting companies is massive and plays into TV rights deals which is a legacy that Gillon should forever be ashamed of.

There is a reason casinos are the flashest looking establishments.. they are as good as governments at sucking money out of people.

I don't gamble online but have a little go on the pokies about 2 to 3 times a year.

Was chatting to mates about this Sydney initiative yesterday and raised the point that, as society, we perceive poker machines to be evil. Live betting on sport is seemingly far more accepted, as evidenced by the endless advertising.

So let's put it this way, why do we accept all of these gambling commercials when there is zero chance we'd allow an ad on TV for More Chilli or Where's The Gold?

This is just so typical of modern PR.

The hide to make a self-aggrandising video, staring down the barrel of a camera, the poignant music is the background.

Right now, the Swans financially do not exist without sports betting. Their biggest financial backer is the AFL.

The AFL has huge sponsorship deals with betting companies. The AFL get a slice of every bet placed.

The AFL’s whole business strategy - including that in the northern states - is based on broadcast revenue, which is largely underwritten by sports betting advertising.

The salary of every bullshitting person in that video depends on sports betting.

Like many things, change starts with truth and the recognition of reality.

Guys: this is the business you are in, like it or not.

Trying to distance yourself from it is just PR bullshit to polish your own image and will make zero real difference.

In fact, it actively prevents change by conning people that actual change is happening. It’s not.

So 30k people who come to the game don’t see advertising. As they well know, multitudes more watch on TV and for them it’s wall to wall betting.

I loath statements like this generally, but really: modern society is just so rooted.

PR, PR, PR.

The absolute hide of them. More front than Myer.

What? Lives are ruined and this is the response?

On SM-A528B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Football clubs are a business and if you are running a business your job is to create wealth. If you are not doing that you are failing at your job and are nothing but a liability to the company/business. Successful companies make money and lots of it. It´s as simple as that.

This is a great strategic move by the Swans. Taking this moral stance only brings about positive publicity for the club and therefore will attract and bring in more and new sponsors and supporters and as a result generate more money in the long run.

Extremely clever marketing ploy.