Footy Fans Shafted Again

Pretty sure the Grand Final is the only FTA I watch now that I think about it. I'm way out of my depth when people try to make small talk about MAFS and I have NFI what they are on about.
I don't know how anyone can watch the absolute junk on FTA, MAFS whatever other garbage is on there - spare me. The one or two times a year I watch FTA (Aus Open/GF) the ads for the shows on there horrify me.

I don’t think most people know how good the access is to watch our teams compared to the US/UK. Ridiculously cheap ticket prices and plenty of free to air games.
Yep. If you like in the UK and want to watch the Premier League legally, you currently need 3 different streaming subscriptions and then there’s still a chance that you won’t be able to watch your team every week because they have a blackout on broadcasting professional games at 3pm on Saturday’s.

To have all 3 subscriptions, as well as the monthly TV license which is mandatory to watch live TV in the UK, will set you back a minimum of £105 a month.

Thats over $200 AU every single month for them to watch the PL. And if your team is playing at 3pm on Saturday, tough shit.

We’ve got it pretty good here.

How did Rugby Union go once it got punted of channel 7 and onto pay TV?
Obviously a smaller market than Aussie Rules but I recall it had it's fans. Never see or hear anything about it anymore.
Yet still get the same amount of crowds as they did back in the day.

They are just ignored by News Ltd but that’s all.

How did Rugby Union go once it got punted of channel 7 and onto pay TV?
Obviously a smaller market than Aussie Rules but I recall it had it's fans. Never see or hear anything about it anymore.

Same situation with the A-League isn't it?

Remember when they actually had a little momentum behind them?
Although to be fair, I don't think they planned for the rise of the BBL and how it would completely takeover the summer sport schedule on a domestic level.

Same situation with the A-League isn't it?

Remember when they actually had a little momentum behind them?
Although to be fair, I don't think they planned for the rise of the BBL and how it would completely takeover the summer sport schedule on a domestic level.
The A-League will never be taken seriously in a summer time slot and with the current clown show that are running it.

The Sydney Grand Final deal put a lot of fans - myself included - offside. I haven’t watched a game since that deal was announced.

Geez we really are entitled in this country.

“I want it for free or else the sport I follow is just taking us for granted” 🙄
AFL is funded a truck load by the government and wouldn't be more than a bush league without it. Why shouldn't it be set-up like the tax system and the ones who can afford it pay but the ones that cannot not, don't?

It's the principle. It'll slowly get worse until the whole thing is on pay TV at a much higher cost. Look at other sports around the world.

May not help you on a Saturday night, but screw the AFL and go support your local suburban / country club on a Saturday arvo.

Agree. There’s footy everywhere on Saturday arvo. The bigger leagues even broadcast on YouTube and Facebook.

I don’t think the AFL should even play on Saturday arvo. It’s not a popular time for them and it’d give other footy a boost.

I would definitely put a game on Saturday night however.

Geez we really are entitled in this country.

“I want it for free or else the sport I follow is just taking us for granted” 🙄

There’s really nothing wrong with wanting to protect that fiercely.

Footy is genuinely still a game for the people and very accessible. That has been ripped away in many places around the world, such as soccer in Europe and the American sports. They’re just not accessible.

It’s always taken in steps, not all at once. So people will and should yell loudly when it is.

I only really feel for the oldies stuck in retirement homes or hospitals unable to watch.
For anyone else it's peanuts.
A 12 year old delivering junk mail would be able to afford it

Sick of hearing about this cost of living crisis - gen alpha bullshit.

At what point in time was the collective population like “oh this is sweet, everything is so cheap and life is so easy”?
Look, it is true that nobody ever likes being told they have it easy. That said, the issue is that wages have stagnated badly in the last forty years.

I still can't fathom how the AFL let this one through. I have Foxtel so it won't affect me personally, but I get that a lot (majority?) of footy fans don't have access to Foxtel or Kayo. It's an absolute farce and the AFL is yet again taking the fans for granted.
Roughly 4 in 5 Australians subscribe to at least one streaming service.

Channel 7 will be showing live VFL games on Saturday nights - so those who don't want to pay for Foxtel/Kayo can watch some form of footy for free.

Itll be free state footy into WA/SA/Victoria on Seven depending on state. Not sure about other states.
More live perhaps, in Victoria.
Back in the 90s we could get up to five games a round in Tassie, even with a delayed Saturday afternoon to protect the TFL. Not all were live, and often it was more like 4.5 games.
Friday night, delayed Saturday, Saturday night, delayed half Saturday night, Sunday, delayed half game Sunday or sometimes full game delayed late or sometimes live "rest of game" if from Perth.
And a Monday game on public holidays. There was certainly more on FTA, less of it was live.

regional markets were taking multiple feeds back then - this as true in Tasmania and even regioal victoria and parts of SA. Now everyone is aligned to fixed networks (Prime is owned by Seven, SCA is now owned by Ten/Paramount, and Win is aligned to Nine)
The AFL doesn’t need the money, the game is funded largely by the government with free stadiums & tax breaks.

The Government might build stadiums, clubs and the league still pay rent. They arent gifted them free.

They need to look after it and offer it to all socio economic walks of life otherwise it starts to turn and before you know it, it falls away because the suits in their ivory tower got too greedy for their own bonuses.

Alone of the sports in this country, you can get live coverage in your home state of your home teams. The number of matches on free to air tv is roughly the same as it was last year. The difference is saturday nights are being replaced by Thursdays until round 15 and then you get your Saturdays back anyway.

Look I can understand the outcry, on paper it's a worry but for the past how long - 10 years? it's been one channel 7 game on FTA between the Bulldogs and St Kilda in front of 12k people at Marvel with a bunch of hacks commentating that nobody could give two shits about anyway. It's hardly changing.

I know $25 can be expensive to some but to most it's do-able.

For mine, the "deal" as such used to be that if your club played interstate, you had a Free to Air option to watch them, and if they were in-state, you could at least go to the game. The demise of that deal was a bit of a landmark moment for footy fans, but in the professional era, it's not a surprise.

The AFL app provides all VFL,SANFL ,WAFL and VFLW games live for free,but you need a Chromecast and also from this Season the Binge streaming service will have the AFL channel
Think Binge is around $10 a month
Hi ya snails13 do you know what content Binge will have re AFL, is it just there talking heads shows or are they intending to show games live or in replay? Cheers