Autopsy Round 10, 2025: Suns get it done against plucky Hawks

Up against it tonight and the boys really put in. Effort was there but our midfield was outgunned. Not sure why Finn was moved off Anderson in the last quarter. He and Rowell carried them most of the night.

Newk, Amon, Wiz, Ginni, Moore and Weddle were our best. They probably had a better spread of contributors and their ruck dominance was a key factor as well.

Add Meek, Nash, Impey, Gunston/Lewis and Day and we will have their number. They were basically full strength, with home ground advantage and got plenty of assistance from the umps and only just beat us. In September at the G we have them covered comfortably.

Hopefully everyone pulls up okay. Battle looked sore at the end and would be a huge loss. Fingers crossed for Scrim as well. He is due for some luck.

Closer than I thought we’d get and certainly shows our growth from 12 months ago.

Great effort considering our outs, 5 day break travelling.

Tag Anderson all game is the lesson out of this. And lock Noble down.

Letting a spud like Long kick 4 goals is not good for our defence.

Onto Brisbane next week.
He got 2 charities didn't he, has actually been very good for them this year. Thought Barrass was very good on King, reason Noble got off the chain was because we were locking down on Rioli with Finn. Needed our half backs to have the same impact and they couldn't. Mass was quiet which is becoming an issue now. CJ had a shocker defensively unfortunately and it's something that doesn't look like he will ever get better at so move him to a wing where he can just run all day and not have to be as accountable 1 on 1.

People need to stop mentioning Day. He's not going to be much of a factor for us this year we need to do it without him. A top 4 side should be able to cover a few injuries.
I mean, we can and are?

Losing by a kick to a team at a ground and in conditions which should not be allowed to host games is an excellent result. Especially with 6-7 of the best 22 out…

Umpires didn’t help, but what killed us most was our first qtr.

This is the first time we’ve had close to our best team available, proud of the Hawks.

We’re only going to get better as our best team gets to take the field each week moving forward.

BOG Wiz and Chol

We will see the Suns in the finals with potentially Lewis and Day!

Verses Lions

Out: Reeves, MacDonald.B, Morrison, Maginness

In: Meek, Nash, Gunston, Impey
Episode 5 Reaction GIF by The Office

What a cracking game. Proud of the boys effort. Suns just a bit stronger from contest. Felt like they got heaps of goals from free play and we were reliant on set shots. At full strength reckon we would be confident to get the win.

For me a big thumbs up for the venue - I thought that was an awesome spectacle (as was last week). Tough conditions but high scoring and conducive to fast footy. Crowd seemed loud. Also no injuries for either side (that I noticed). Footy is played all over Australia not just in the southern states and glad the NT gets some games.

Sicily needs a spell.

Invisible up forward today.
Liability down back.

He's becoming a real problem.

Sicily needs a spell.

Invisible up forward today.
Liability down back.

He's becoming a real problem.

Form is temporary

Class in permenant

Didn't think Reeves was that bad. Never felt it was Witts that was giving them the clearance dominance except for a short period in the 2nd. Just Rowell and Anderson outhunting our mids and then the lack of a sweeper
Just offers nothing around the ground and his ruck work does not compensate for that, he is depth however so it is whatever really.

There were some great signs tonight and we have so much scope for growth this season.

I get a bit worried about repeat offenders who refuse to take some physical punishment when they really need to for the sake of the team. How are we going to go in big finals if the likes of MacDonald are side stepping when a 50/50 ball is headed toward them?

Also it might be an unpopular opinion here but so far Barrass isn't impacting games enough considering the draft capital we gave up for him.

Agree with players not going hard. Disagree with Barrass.

Didn't think Reeves was that bad. Never felt it was Witts that was giving them the clearance dominance except for a short period in the 2nd. Just Rowell and Anderson outhunting our mids and then the lack of a sweeper

He was abysmal. He barely moved all night. A game played at a rapid pace all night and he just plodded along all bloody game even before he got injured. His efforts in the ruck consisted of palming the ball off to whoever happened to be there, be it a Hawthorn or Gold Coast player. There were a few times he could have sent the ball towards our forward line and he just kind of meekly swatted at it and the ball went nowhere. I don’t know how you can watch Meek just kill it for us all season then be remotely content with what Reeves serves up tonight.

Jai Newcombe - The true warrior

Well done Wardy and Karl, showing a few what good ball use means, yes you can accept the occasional turnover, but they are very good ball users

Weddle, is a man on a mission. Love him

Great game Ned. I thought he had a great game all things considered

Scrimshaw is a lock-in that defence. Gun, never thought I would say that

Ginnivan, was very good as were Wizz and Hardwick

If you want to continue as captain of this club, it is time you hit a Hawks jumper James. The rest of them cannot keep carrying your shit kicking and turnovers. How many more weeks?

If Connor Mac plays next week, I will not be attending another game this year. Liability once again.

My carlton supporting wife said when we were losing "they're playing well". I told her that we're trying very hard but not playing well. We don't accept losing at the Hawks as playing well. Can't fault the boys for 2.5 quarters but we got mauled in the midfield. Slipped a lot of tackles. Missed our outs. Hopefully can back up our effort next week.
I'm also very drunk. We tried hard but didn't play well.
Great individual efforts to Newk, Marb,

Autopsy Round 10, 2025: Suns get it done against plucky Hawks