Review A Win’s A Win - Freo by Six In The ‘Away’ Game vs North

If you watch the last 2 minutes Banners actually encourages Treacy to move the ball on when he still had plenty of time to kick in the last 30 seconds. For a smart guy I really question his footy IQ sometimes.
Thats not what I saw that as....He was close to Treacy and waved up the field to get players to move toward the line.. ????

It was surprising that Freddie wasn’t subbed. He had struggled for a touch in the first three quarters. Sub him off and move Erasmus into Freddie’s position to provide some forward line pressure and tackling that was missing. Fyfe into midfield rotating with Erasmus.
Fred's ability to cover ground at speed means hes all but a non negotiable. I know many dont rate him and he needs to lift but hes pretty critical to team. Stats have him a clear third for pressure acts and I may be wrong but im pretty sure he nailed Hansen late running i50 where most of team dont have that speed to get there.

If Fyfe is going to play the sub role and we're running Jackson as a ruck - mid we're forced to sub Ras or one of the talls (and redeploy jackson). We can't possible be subbing a runner can we? Its an issue going forward.

Watched a little bit after the game (I know I'm a sucker for pain).

FMD Papalia is a piece of shit, just openly barracks for whoever we are playing.

Also didn't notice at the time how much we got ****ed over by the maggots (again). Too many inconsistencies to even mention.

This is the problem though, we keep letting the games get close which gives them the chance to **** us over.

Thats not what I saw that as....He was close to Treacy and waved up the field to get players to move toward the line.. ????
Im surprised they didn't go a step further and he told Treacy to kick it out on the full aswell lol

But yeah I think he was waving for players as you said to move towards the boundary and maybe offered advice to Treacy to kick it there

Where are all those who disputed my Frederick comments after Gold Coast game?
Effectively playing with 17 men on the field. He is pathetic out there. Throw in Sharp as well, panic merchant who is not AFL standard. Stop selecting Fyfie, he is done well and truly, highlighted by the chase on North player and only saved by North player spilling the ball.

Bottom six will kill you, say it again and slowly.

Disliked Pav the second he dropped the footy and picked up the mic, and it's only gotten worse over the years.

Also agree with the previous poster re Paps, an absolute flog and you can tell he is background barracking for whoever Freo vs.
Yes, normally I would agree. Did seem yesterday early on at least pav was having a go at umps having their own set of rules that was bit surprising

Seriously a bunch of negative nancies on this board. We won the game after conceding 5 goals in a row. North are better than their position on the ladder. When was the last time we won after a bye ? It’s not all unicorns and rainbows but hey we have now won 4 in a row, 3 in the wet, and two close games. Two of those wins were against top eight sides away.

We have some weapons that we can pile on 5 goals in 10 minutes.

The negativity on this board is draining at times.

Sometimes you just got to find a way to win and get the four points and Freo did that last night.

It was tough conditions coming of the bye. Make no mistake the Kangaroos set themselves up for this game and really wanted to make it a statement game.

I prefer to look at the positives, history says we are shocking after the bye but this year we got the four points which in previous years we have failed and it has cost us final spots.

Now onto a quick turn around and hopefully Dudley comes in.

Seriously a bunch of negative nancies on this board. We won the game after conceding 5 goals in a row. North are better than their position on the ladder. When was the last time we won after a bye ? It’s not all unicorns and rainbows but hey we have now won 4 in a row, 3 in the wet, and two close games. Two of those wins were against top eight sides away.

We have some weapons that we can pile on 5 goals in 10 minutes.
I think here lies the issue why posters are feeling negative.

100%. People just see what they want to see.
He may be lacking in footy smarts, but I'd almost bet my house that he aces all the theory about our game and the individual roles, etc. There has to be a reason JL loves him and is willing to swing him wherever required.
There's literally no natural flair to be coached out of him either.

Drapers ability to constantly give away unnecessary free kicks will cause me more grey hairs soon.

I say this weekly, but Amiss........could drop him for OMac and lose nothing. Honestly........
Draper is all hands this year, probably just because he's young and doesn't know how to use the body yet. Very timid in the contest and hesitating..

I thought Fyfe was pretty good when he came in and I’m not sure why people were complaining about Raz being taken off - he had a poor enough game and it was an obvious sub for me.
Fyfe was big in a few key moments - the clearance in the lead up to the amiss missed set shot was vintage Fyfe and Erasmus just does not have that in his locker, full stop. Yeah he’s a bit slow with defensive running but that’s outweighed by his other positives.

It was great to get the 4 points but we were so lucky we were playing a rubbish team.

Some of the comments here are hilarious pumping them up.

They. Are. Shite.

One of the worst sides in recent AFL memory that have pretty much no idea how to win a game. They have barely won ten games in the last 5 years.
Someone said earlier the have “a really good midfield” - no they bloody well don’t!! It’s one of the worst midfields in the comp, a bottom 3 midfield group.
“Their ladder position is misleading” - lol no it’s not. They are exactly where they deserve to be in the bottom 3 teams.

Anyway onwards to Essendon. A better team than north so we’ll need to improve to beat them but we have loads of room for improvement so I expect to see it.
If we drop either of the next 2 I think we won’t make finals so they are massive.

He's 21 mate. I know we all love Dead Eye Jye and want him to hit the scoreboard like he did when he first started - but there's a good chance he's the first forward that oppositions are looking at when they play us. His work-rate up the ground and the contests he provides have improved. He literally won us a game this season doing that. Let him build and work through having these (half the time multiple) mature bodies glued onto him.

Yes it's frustrating as hell when he finally does get the opportunity to slot them and he doesn't like tonight - but lets not act like that's all he's good for, and lets not forget every other lead up he does that never gets honoured or sets up a teammate.

I still have my money on him to be the best forward of the 3, so don't stress too much over it ;)
I agree with you totally, his upside is amazing and the team is not using his strengths in my opinion. He's a lead up forward and not the pack mark beast as Tracey is. Now Voss seems to be the one leading which is good because he won us the game last night but Amiss's skills are so much better than Voss when he's around the ground and the ball hits the ground, handball to Jackson to ice the game a case in point. We just need to utilise him better and he needs a good game to grow his confidence. How good was the goal against Gold Coast, no time for demons in his head. He will be a star for us.

I feel he is playing further up the ground, maybe with Voss in the team. His set shot is poor at the moment too. His marking yesterday was good for any conditions, magnificent in those conditions.
Could it be the work up the ground means he's taking shots when he's gassed and so not as accurate? Previous comments about Miochek and Jamie Ellis at Pies being so accurate, do they have to work so hard to get a shot, just a thought!

We should also be lucky we got away with few things. The foot air from the roos player running into goals 😂 and that turnover in the middle of the ground when MJ failed to hit the target but X 2

Review A Win’s A Win - Freo by Six In The ‘Away’ Game vs North