Autopsy Autopsy vs Carlton - absolutely bashed the shit out of the Blues

A Carlton bloke and his family came and sat in front of us at half time yesterday. His kids were freezing, but had moved into the sun, but now they were too high .... His wife said when they got there that they were in the middle of a North group. He was a good guy. Asked me why X got a free early in the 3rd,his 2 boys were dirty when we'd kicked away, but he offered them some solace when they goaled. At 3/4 time there was a family meeting .... dad wanted to stay, the boys wanted to go back where they had been, the wife and youngen wanted to stay put, and little Ms. Angsty teen demanded that "I'm not staying here to watch the whole of this match". Ms. Angsty teen won. Fella turns to me and says, "well done mate, it's been a good win". I told him that we were due, the 90's were a long time ago. He replied that the 90's were the last time that they were good as well. I gave him, if it's any consolation, essington have Brad Scott. He laughed, said "good call" and off he went.
LOL.

Great post rickety.

As an aside. Something very beautiful about watching us get a run on and kick goals on a beautiful, sunny day at the MCG with the sun going down. I think it looks great whenever the suns shining there but when it's us, it is so special

The McKercher goal to the Punt Road end, and particularly the Sheezel goal to the same end (looked like it meant a lot to him as well), look amazing now ... Imagine what theyll look like on a gorgeous sunny day in September
Been a bloody long time since I walked back to city with the sun going down after a win at G.

It was basically a lifetime ago.

The idea their club can buy the way out of their problems but never truly stay the course.

Although to be fair we get back to the top and start stomping sides on the regular opposition fans won’t want a bar of me to be honest.
100%

The last 5 years there is so much vented up
anger to release

It’s gonna be a ****in avalanche

Having been woeful for the best part of 5 years, we put together probably the best football up to 3/4 time I've seen in that stretch, and people are miserable?!

We lost to these punters by 85, 2 months ago. Sure it's a bit disappointing we stopped in the fourth, but we are talking about a team that was manic for the first three quarters and not been in that position in a long long time. I didn't know what to do as a supporter - so God knows what the players must have been thinking. Think in the long run it will be a good lesson to the team about how q

What a day!!

Headed up to the Gold Coast to watch the game with the Qld Supporters club, downed a few beers, got a win, met Arnold Briedis at the function, and won a Bailey Scott signed jumper too.
Is this group on FB?

Well this is the first post I've read on BigFootball this evening and firstly LOL at the 69+ odd likes. Turn it up suck ups on BigFootball. There is good reason for posters to feel jaded and not happy with where we are at. Even after a victory like today. :stern look

Anyway to the matter at hand. 3 Quarters you say FG? We only won 2 of them. There was a lot to like about the 2nd Quarter but there was very little to like about the last. Great that we won but it really was unconvincing in the end. To go reverse JGreaseball on you all including the Very Flawed Genius, 3 of our 4 wins have been achieved with less registered scores (Goals and Points for you bananas) than the opposition. Cracks are being wall papered over. We do have some young talent that do look good. Sheezel, McKercher, FOS, Hardeman, Curtis and shit even Powell when he turns it on like he did today. But sadly that aint enough. :stern look

Allow me to do a little bit of crystal ball gazing for you all. Yes this coming from the guy that gave you a Quatrain predicting the demise of Nobles. We will only ever be as good as a bottom part of the top 8 with this current list. It still has holes. There is still a lack of talent. There aren't any real match winners. You know that dominant type that can just turn the game on when required. I still maintain that Rawling should be shot in the sun for what he has done to this list. For how bad we have been for so long. Historically one of the worst teams we have had to bear witness in our lifetimes. I'll repeat that its great that we won today and I'm happy. But the truth is staring you all in the face. And many of you are too soft to admit it. :stern look
Gee you could have just said ‘love the win but we still have work to do’ and that would’ve just about covered it. 😉

And your analysis of our scoring is flawed you reference goals and points without mentioning the third score type in our game ‘behinds’. The biggest reason for the winning score differential is the vast improvement in our defence, they are causing more behinds from our opposition because of the applied and perceived pressure.

It’s good to win no matter how WUGLY 😎

It's so weird to me that when we win we're labelled "unsociable".
There was nothing unsociable about our play yesterday, we just played harder, well within the rules of the game.

Fair game there by CZ. 3 goals, 3 goal assists, 7 score involvements. A fair few of us (myself included) were concerned about his contract and form coming into the season. Fairly sure we had nothing to worry about, and our two pronged attack of power-medium forwards in PC and CZ have a had a field day most games they’ve played.
He was good, really liked his attack on the ball and keeping it in front when doing so.

Ive raged at how many times players let the ball get behind us in the past, as a team we were much better at it this week. Larkey in particular was great, far less out the back stuff, brought the ball to ground and kept it in front. Far from his best game but those little team aspect things helped a lot.

Well this is the first post I've read on BigFootball this evening and firstly LOL at the 69+ odd likes. Turn it up suck ups on BigFootball. There is good reason for posters to feel jaded and not happy with where we are at. Even after a victory like today. :stern look

Anyway to the matter at hand. 3 Quarters you say FG? We only won 2 of them. There was a lot to like about the 2nd Quarter but there was very little to like about the last. Great that we won but it really was unconvincing in the end. To go reverse JGreaseball on you all including the Very Flawed Genius, 3 of our 4 wins have been achieved with less registered scores (Goals and Points for you bananas) than the opposition. Cracks are being wall papered over. We do have some young talent that do look good. Sheezel, McKercher, FOS, Hardeman, Curtis and shit even Powell when he turns it on like he did today. But sadly that aint enough. :stern look

Allow me to do a little bit of crystal ball gazing for you all. Yes this coming from the guy that gave you a Quatrain predicting the demise of Nobles. We will only ever be as good as a bottom part of the top 8 with this current list. It still has holes. There is still a lack of talent. There aren't any real match winners. You know that dominant type that can just turn the game on when required. I still maintain that Rawling should be shot in the sun for what he has done to this list. For how bad we have been for so long. Historically one of the worst teams we have had to bear witness in our lifetimes. I'll repeat that its great that we won today and I'm happy. But the truth is staring you all in the face. And many of you are too soft to admit it. :stern look

I agree on Rawling being fired into the abyss and that is staring me in the face BUT we did carve up an admittedly weakened Carlton side. Choosing not to worry about Q4 BUT always things to work on knowhatimean?

So with those 5 players you mention 4 of them absolute champions of the game where they expected to win the flag that year.
Their team goes on.. theres heaps of em. Polished on all lines. Whether they were meant to be premiers or not is irrelevant to the calibre of players compared to ours.

* age was 24.3 years

On the weekend our teams average age was 25.1

Not sure why you are comparing us to them anyway.

LOL

Paul Salmon vs Nick Larkey
James Hird vs Sheezel
Hardwick vs Wardlaw
Tim Watson vs Jy Simpkin
Dustin Fletcher vs Toby Pink …

La la land
So were do we stand as a club when or do you expect to be playing finals or competing for a flag or do you think the talent we have is not up to it.

Their team goes on.. theres heaps of em. Polished on all lines. Whether they were meant to be premiers or not is irrelevant to the calibre of players compared to ours.

* age was 24.3 years

On the weekend our teams average age was 25.1

Not sure why you are comparing us to them anyway.
Well i was simply referring to teams that won flags very unexpectedly never did i compare them to us. I also mentioned the Dogs and Eagles.

Dogs were good enough to travel all round the country and wish the rub of the green all over the country, including in the GF won an unexpected flag.

West Coast? Which one? 2018? With All Australians all over the park?

No, I do not think its up to it. I think our list has gaping holes all over it to be a premiership team.
So how do we address this in your opinion. Ready made players are not coming to us at the moment Tasmania will be here before we know with compromised drafts again or i should be saying more compromised How do we become a flag threat in your opinion if the mob we have now is not up to it.

Nothing wrong with crying during a loss. My brother bawled his eyes out during the 98 grand final as a kid, went on to be an army sergeant. Having a certain degree of sensitivity is pretty damn masculine IMO.
Showing kids crying is not fair at all. Cheap stuff. Any kid who hasn’t cried at the footy is not a supporter. IMHO.

Autopsy Autopsy vs Carlton - absolutely bashed the shit out of the Blues