Autopsy Round 21, 2025: Hawks can’t get it done against the Crows

Too many of our players are conditional.

Why crack in when I know Daysy will. Poor bloke wore so many hits for his team while they stick wet noodle one armed tackles out.

****ing Wayne Milera broke tackle after tackle like he was ****ing Dustin Martin FFS.

Too many of our players are conditional.

Why crack in when I know Daysy will. Poor bloke wore so many hits for his team while they stick wet noodle one armed tackles out.

****ing Wayne Milera broke tackle after tackle like he was ****ing Dustin Martin FFS.

Massimo's two-goal-turnaround miss just ****ing ended me...

It was a heartbreaking miss but he had been busting his gut working up and down the ground all night. It was a tired shot :(

I may have thrown something when they rebounded it and Walker drilled it from 50 on the boundary though.

Positives:
  • Sis - hope he keeps up the form.
  • Day. Badly needs help.
Negatives:
  • Worpel.
  • midfield disappeared when Day wasn't involved.
  • Meek was poor.
  • 4 talls doesn't work.
  • Having to listen to Dunstall on comms.
  • its pretty sour grapes of me to note this one down but I'm gonna do it anyway and cop whatever flak comes my way. The umpires probably favoured us for 1/4 of the game but the other 3/4 was all the way of those flogs.
  • Having to listen to Dunstall on comms.
  • F**k Dunstall.
  • Dunstall is a flog.
yeah my negatives kinda derailed a bit towards the end there.

Still processing that rollercoaster 🎢
Tough loss at Adelaide Oval , we started strong in Q1, but that scoreless Q2… what even happened there? 😩

Not sure why Worpel was made the sub, either play him or don’t. It’s wild we’re still trying to figure out our best set-up this close to finals. That second half felt like a scramble.

But hey, still proud of the fight. Hoping we can pull it together in time. Finals dream isn’t over yet 💛🤎
Go Hawks.

In the end losted in the 2nd quarter 6.6 to 0.0 is inexcusable

Also the last quarter they kick goals late and we kicked points, 3 easy shots
This was the game for mine. As a team we made a heap of errors in the last but had we had a good 2nd quarter the game would have been over well before the last quarter.

We aren’t good enough for long enough and instead really bad for far too long.

We just aren't there yet. Still too inexperienced to know exactly what to do in those big pressure moments

It'll come with time, I believe in this group. Trust the process
Yes, have faith everyone. Adelaide are a bloody good team, actually a deserving top of the ladder team. We almost beat them on their home ground. Still time to put it all together, just may not be this year. The jury is still out for me on the 4 talls but think the Worpel as sub was a complete failure. Either he starts or doesn’t play in the 23 at all.

Does anyone have an explanation for the 22-4 goals to the left of screen? Is that a thing at Adelaide Oval that im not aware of?

Same story all year. The midfield just isn't good enough. Their skills and decision making cost us the game, especially in that last quarter. We've got Day that is the only one in there with class and footy brains. Newcombe has had his great moments, but not consistent enough. Give him a pass if carrying an injury. Ward improving, but his disposal is mediocre. Nash and Worpel, though tackle and have grunt, cost us heaps with such poor disposal and constantly rushing it. Just don't have enough class in there.

Massive game by Battle. Sic and Impey too. It’s glaringly obvious we need class and better decision makers in the middle.
Yeh, sometimes we over analyse things when really it's just a simple observation.

Great backline.

Good forward line.

Mediocre midfield.

Fix the midfield and we are right in it.

Tonight showed me that Sammy has his favourites...
There are certain players getting a game that have been below par all year...
Yes, the holkball looks good, when its up and running, however when it comes to the crunch, you need to put your body on the line, they go missing....
I believe we don't have the midfield nous to compete...
These little dinky 1 mtr hand-passes to players standing still...
I mean we are 20mtrs from goal and hand passing, kick the damn thing...

Sammy hasn't found the right mix all year.....
To get over run in the last qrt again when our position in the final 8 is on the line...
I can't see us competing in the midfield against the pies and lions...

Well, in saying all this, Ambrosio misses a sitter and they go down and kick a goal from the boundary line...
12 point turn around, game over...

Thats my rant for tonight...

Carn The Hawks⚔️🗡⚔

That it’s not as effective as 5 TALLS COULD BE !!!!!
Doubling Down All In GIF by CBS

Disappointing but I honestly did not think we were likely to win pre match so glad to see us in it for large chunks of the game. I think we have enough good players, just need to tidy up a few things, including coaching/selection decisions.
Agree. What things need a tidy up in the coaches box do you think?

Haha….
You had 2 extra days rest!
Were gifted 7 goals from free kicks!

And still couldn’t get the job done!
Not to mention the Rankine touched mark and 50m penalty. Let’s see how you go on the G in finals. Maybe lay off the power stance this year. Pretenders.

I just dont like it. The guy said something years ago and put his hand up for it. Its unbecoming to wield it like around like a weapon to character asemantic him forever more. I dont think anything to do racial vilification in either direction belongs on these boards unless its a thread that specifically addresses it.

Hang on. If I racially vilify someone in my workplace I'm sacked. End of. I don't get "benefit of the doubt" or whatever. The bloke not only did that but then used a ridiculous power imbalance to film that cringeworthy 'apology' video.

The issue isn't whether he admitted to it - the issue is he's faced zero consequences as a result of his actions, which just goes to show whats acceptable in the AFL these days. And spare me the "oh he was suspended" Any other workplace in Australia the bloke gets the riot act.

If Worpel wants Geelong, im driving him down the highway. Everything he touched turned to shit.

Mass shat the bed. That was the ball game.

Tex draining 2 from 50m the difference. They deserved that win. 6 goals to 2 in the last. Was never getting it done.

Up against it now.
I'm living down that way, he can bunk up in my spare bedroom.