Autopsy AFL 2025 Second Qualifying Final - Cats v Lions Fri Sept 5th 7:40pm AEST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 8 5.3%
  • Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 12 7.9%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 42 27.6%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 64 42.1%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 10 6.6%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 14 9.2%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.3%

which draft hands? let me know. Melb has been the most disadvantaged club in terms of father/sons and nga's so that's the only reason. We get Mac Andrew we win another flag. Give us 2 Ashcrofts we win another 2.

Disadvantaged with father sons? You’re blaming the sperm of previous generations now?

That’s a new one.
You’ve got a two-time best and fairest winner out of the father-son rule during your best period in a quarter of a century who was an important part of your only flag win. That’s more than a lot of clubs, especially considering a number of clubs have more or less got next to no access to father sons or are only just starting to gain it.

Mac Andrew gives you another flag? No he doesn’t. You shit the bed in 2022, the only other year recently you’ve been within a bulls roar of it and you weren’t beating us with 3 Mac Andrews.
Get off the pipe

I can see him and Weddle having epic battles on the wing for a decade just trying to run eachother into the ground. That's where I reckon he ends up once we settle on a position for him.

I think Ollie is slowly making the transition as a midfielder and that is where he will settle in next year. Now has a feel for the game and will put on a bit more weight in the off season to handle heavy minutes in the middle.

Not many guys you’d say are outrageously gifted with talent (compared to Brisbanes team for example), but a bunch of blokes that work well together.. and the consistency in training and routine is a huge factor in that.

Nah, we have a lot of underrated players whom I presume you wouldn't have much of an idea about.

Miers for example. He's a gun. Will never get the accolades. He's one of the best gut runners in the comp and extremely creative. Arguably Geelong's most important in terms of how they like to play.
Henry is another Wilkie (underrated gun defender) and barely noticed.
Holmes is finally getting credit but even he took some time before the public caught on.

Now the likes of Neale, Dempsey and O'Sullivan are transitioning into legitimate guns.

I still worry about our midfield.
We need another big bodied midfielder but last night they beat Brisbane's midfield fairly comprehensively when it mattered.

Once again, five of the remaining eight finalists have good solid rucks (Hawthorn, Gold Coast Freo, Collingwood, GWS).

And yes, I am well aware Geelong have not had a solid ruckman. It's kind of satisfying to know we can still make preliminary finals (the occasional grand final) without one.

Makes you wonder how we will look next season with someone like Rohan Marshall in the center square :thumbsu:

Meek and Briggs are decent rucks, but they aren't A Graders in their position. Both get pantsed by the real A graders (yet their teams still usually win). Both def B graders and no shame in that. Cameron had a great year this year, his best by a mile, and still didn't get in the AA squad.

Witts and Jackson are A graders, and one of their teams will be gone by tomorrow.

Brissy won the hitouts 59-40 tonight. Crows won it 41-32 last night.

Maybe check out the last 15 flag ruckman too while you're at it. The covid year is the one anomaly

Far as it being a 'leg up'. Yes you're wrong. The only 'big club that gets out of coming to Geelong is Collingwood or Hawthorn if it's our turn to host Easter Monday. Good teams will tend to win more than they lose and it won't matter where the game is played. This century if you take out all games played at Kardinia Park Geelong still have a better win rate than anyone. Get lost.
This year you had Giants, Brisbane, Freo, Port and GC down in Geelong.

It’s absolutely a leg up when you can play all the genuine interstate games at a niche stadium and then waltz up to Marvel to play the Saints “away”.

You travelled to Perth to play us (hardly counts), up to Sydney twice, Brisbane once and Adelaide twice including Gather round

That’s 5 legitimate away games whilst playing the rest of the interstate sides at GMHBA and every other game in Melbourne.

Doesn’t take much to get 14 wins a year from a fixture like that.

Your players wouldn’t look half as good if they were on a plane every second week. Thats the issue here. Same as Collingwood’s list, or Hawthorn’s.

Not many guys you’d say are outrageously gifted with talent (compared to Brisbanes team for example), but a bunch of blokes that work well together.. and the consistency in training and routine is a huge factor in that.

Sure it is, mate. That’s why we have the best interstate record over the last 15 years as well.

For an Eagles nuff, the most likely scenario in this finals series was 1 side equally us on 4 flag AFL cups (Coll), or 2 sides exceeding our 4 and equalling Hawthorn on 5. To rub salt in the wound of a 1 win season.

I mean, I don't really care in the grand scheme, but when you follow a sports club you make an emotional investment in these silly things beyond your control.

Well, soak it up Cats fans I guess.
You dislike Geelong and Collingwood much more than Hawthorn though, which is wild as an Eagles supporter. They also have 4 fairly recent flags and have been the dominant team in the league over the past 50 odd years.

The Saints beat us at Marvel, the Giants beat us every time they come to KP (they’ve won four times in a row there you clown) and so did Brisbane. We absolutely hammered Port in Adelaide and we beat Freo at the end of last year in Perth when they were playing for a finals spot and flogged them this year at home: what should we do, just play our home games against them in Perth?

And the Suns? Well gee, sorry we got to host them. That’s a shame.

Hey maybe if you guys host every game on an X-Box you might win a f**king match next year 😂😂

Your argument is literally ‘you get a leg up because you get to host interstate teams 80km further away from Melbourne than Melbourne teams do’ as though it makes a difference to the dockers playing in Geelong as opposed to Melbourne after flying 3000 f**king kilometres you peasant
I’m just saying on law of averages that’s a very good draw to have. Obviously you’re not going to win every game in Geelong but you’ll snag one away in Adelaide or Sydney to offset that.

All I’m saying is it’s an unbelievable base to have, just like our 12 home games a year is a nice boost, but that’s also offset by having to travel across the country every second week, not hop on a bus for an hour.

I’m just saying on law of averages that’s a very good draw to have. Obviously you’re not going to win every game in Geelong but you’ll snag one away in Adelaide or Sydney to offset that.

All I’m saying is it’s an unbelievable base to have, just like our 12 home games a year is a nice boost, but that’s also offset by having to travel across the country every second week, not hop on a bus for an hour.

So. Get over it. The Eagles teams between 1987 and 2018 generally seemed to deal with it reasonably well. Stop looking for excuses. When my team loses I generally accept that, you know, the other team played better.

It’s inexcusable with some of the draft hands you’ve had not to be doing the same but here we are
Phatty you've been doing so well up to this point.

Dan's right. The father-son selections make a mockery of the draft as an equalisation measure, which is why there is such a big push to remove them.

Teams winning flags and playing prelims getting top 5 talent with junk picks is trash. Of course Brissie should be doing better.

You double dip with a Victorian fixture as well as a genuine home ground advantage. Thats the biggest leg up of any club in the league. Hence why you always fail when finals come.
Staggering that your takes tonight aren't the worst I've seen this week.
That's still defending that BS VAR call.

They've beaten West Coast in two grand finals! Most successful team of the AFL era. Best of the past 50 years. A decade of not making a grand final is enough to wash that away?
Yeah I'm they sure when they start winning more flags I will again. I'll probably take a Hawks flag over Cats or Pies, narrowly. Cats over Pies by a little simply because Pies fans boasting about a 17th will be insufferable, even if they pull ahead on 5.

Pies really started getting on my nerves due to umpiring mostly, but that hasn't been a big issue lately. Geelong cos they're annoyingly always contending etc and get gifted a lot. Cats and Pies seem to get so many players to. I used to not mind the Cats, I was happy you won in 2007.

Phatty you've been doing so well up to this point.

Dan's right. The father-son selections make a mockery of the draft as an equalisation measure, which is why there is such a big push to remove them.

Teams winning flags and playing prelims getting top 5 talent with junk picks is trash. Of course Brissie should be doing better.

I don’t necessarily disagree to an extent, but continually being at the arse end of the draft gives you a lot of leg ups too. Melbourne got those leg ups. It led to, really, next to nothing beyond - finally - 2021.

Yeah I'm they sure when they start winning more flags I will again. I'll probably take a Hawks flag over Cats or Pies, narrowly. Cats over Pies by a little simply because Pies fans boasting about a 17th will be insufferable, even if they pull ahead on 5.

Pies really started getting on my nerves due to umpiring mostly, but that hasn't been a big issue lately. Geelong cos they're annoyingly always contending etc and get gifted a lot. Cats and Pies seem to get so many players to. I used to not mind the Cats, I was happy you won in 2007.
I just hold my hands up and acknowledge other high performing teams in any sporting code, but you do you. I never understood the whole intense bitterness angle. It's a horrible way to follow sports.

Domination in the AFL era is hardly like when Manchester United owned the league for years and years and years. Geelong have won a single flag since 2011 and we've had a multitude of different premiers this century.

Which was also proven to be the correct process when the VAR recording came out. Try again
In a completely unsurprising development you're wrong again.

PGMOL dropped the VAR from performing those duties the following day citing an error in intervening in King's disallowed goal.

PGMOL literally admitted it was an error.

I just hold my hands up and acknowledge other high performing teams in any sporting code, but you do you. I never understood the whole intense bitterness angle. It's a horrible way to follow sports.

Domination in the AFL era is hardly like when Manchester United owned the league for years and years and years. Geelong have won a single flag since 2011 and we've had a multitude of different premiers this century.
I mean, we love to hate them because it's sweeter when we beat them or they lose.

Yes we can be thankful the AFL is comparatively equal.

Disadvantaged with father sons? You’re blaming the sperm of previous generations now?

That’s a new one.
You’ve got a two-time best and fairest winner out of the father-son rule during your best period in a quarter of a century who was an important part of your only flag win. That’s more than a lot of clubs, especially considering a number of clubs have more or less got next to no access to father sons or are only just starting to gain it.

Mac Andrew gives you another flag? No he doesn’t. You shit the bed in 2022, the only other year recently you’ve been within a bulls roar of it and you weren’t beating us with 3 Mac Andrews.
Get off the pipe
disadvantaged in that we're far below the afl mean. 1 good father/son in 20 years is a massive disadvantage.

Regarding Mac Andrew, yes he does.. Mac Andrew plays and we win in 2022. With 2 number 1 picks and a Fletcher, it's an easy win in 2023. So yeah, everything stacks up and it shows you just how much f/s and nga dictates success. No surprise to see Collingwood and Geelong in the mix of the flag this year. They've just got to scrap the rules.

We dealt with it well because we had some of the best players of all time all on the same list at once. Much easier these days for Vic sides to have a handful of guns and 15 role players and be in the conversation most years.

Geelong, Collingwood and Hawthorn have very similar list profiles whilst Brisbane, Giants, Freo, and GC are all stacked to the brim with first round (and a lot of top 10) talent.

That right there tells you all you need to know. The bar is far lower for Victorian sides to compete, whilst non Vic sides need stacked lists just to get close.
It's Vicbias when Vic clubs have to make do with less skilled playing lists. :eekv1:

Autopsy AFL 2025 Second Qualifying Final - Cats v Lions Fri Sept 5th 7:40pm AEST (MCG)