Autopsy 1st Semi Final 2025: Hawks send Crows out in straight sets!

What an incredible night. But am I the only one bewildered at the praise for Weddle ? He keeps “nearly” turning into a monster, but lacked the polish tonight.
Weddle is understandably rusty, the fact that he was so close to tearing a game open after sitting out for so many rounds with back stress fractures is insane. Either next week or the week after the rust will clear and he'll tear a game open for real.

Question to you Hawks fans (I come in peace, Hawks and Tigers are the two teams in the family):

If you win the flag - and by golly you look more than capable - do you bother selling the farm for Zach Merrett?

You have a better player coming in 2026 and his name is Will Day.

My fear is you lose a guy like Josh Ward (can we have him 🙏) to satisfy the Bombers when Ward actually looks to now be locked in your best 22.

I dunno how else to put it but you don’t seem to have a need right now, you have all positions covered. I don’t think you need Merrett.

Also, I was in my mid 20s when Jack Gunston was kicking ass in the Hawks’ Hodge and co. golden era, I’m 38 now - how is he still so good? Wtf?

Mate I don't think there is any chance we trade ward for Merrett. The former will give Merrett like contribution for next decade.

In any case, Merrett meeting with like 5 clubs...who says he wants hawks? I reckon we offer our first and swap of 1st / second next year, max.

We can't rely on will coming back sadly so yeah we will go hard for a quality mid and pay for it.

Bummers are in a tough spot...force him to stay and he leaves for nothing in 2 years and cancerous environment if he stays.

Question to you Hawks fans (I come in peace, Hawks and Tigers are the two teams in the family):

If you win the flag - and by golly you look more than capable - do you bother selling the farm for Zach Merrett?

My fear is you lose a guy like Josh Ward (can we have him 🙏) to satisfy the Bombers when Ward actually looks to now be locked in your best 22.

I dunno how else to put it but you don’t seem to have a need right now, you have all positions covered. I don’t think you need Merrett.

Also, I was in my mid 20s when Jack Gunston was kicking ass in the Hawks’ Hodge and co. golden era, I’m 38 now - how is he still so good? Wtf?
Its a good question. If it means losing Ward I think Merrett can GAGF, and I don't think I would be alone in that opinion

Weddle is understandably rusty, the fact that he was so close to tearing a game open after sitting out for so many rounds with back stress fractures is insane. Either next week or the week after the rust will clear and he'll tear a game open for real.
Hopefully my dream last night about Wedds tearing up a final was about the prelim next week!

Its a good question. If it means losing Ward I think Merrett can GAGF, and I don't think I would be alone in that opinion
How the hell would we even convince Ward to go to that shambolic organisation when we look set for another golden era is another question that would need to be answered.

Moot point anyway since we wouldn't trade him regardless.

Wow
I thoroughly enjoyed that
Jai just told AA to stick their jumper, he’s going after a medal

So many highlights again tonight - it’s hard to single particular players out when they are obviously all in on this rise together

Good point, thanks.

What an incredible night. But am I the only one bewildered at the praise for Weddle ? He keeps “nearly” turning into a monster, but lacked the polish tonight.
Weds a little rusty but still did some incredible stuff tonight to halve contests and get the ball moving our way. Took a couple of great contested marks and could have easily kicked goals. Will be better for the run, if he fires next week, WE WIN!!!

We'll get either Merrett or Petracca and we won't sell the farm for them either.

Adding Merrett allows Newcombe to spendtime forward and Day to spend time half forward/back

but for now we are good thanks.

Jack Gunston I think is so good now because when he came back it was more to mentor the younger tall forwards (check out the job he's done with Calsher) but I think in taking on that role he found out more about his own game and reconnected with the joy of playing footy after a few tough years.

We are a very happy team right now

when it clicks it will be

Reaction GIF by MOODMAN

Imagine saying at the end of round 2 after Gunners hadn't even played a game that he would be on track for a 70+ goal season 🤯

He kicked that goal from outside 50m so easy tonight, he has got such great power in his legs at the moment.

He has made some of these young early 20s full backs look absolutely foolish this year with his smarts, they have NFI what is going on when they play on him 😂

He had four shots on goal playing on the wing, those are the kind of numbers we are dreaming of. He just needs to turn that into 3.1 instead.

Autopsy 1st Semi Final 2025: Hawks send Crows out in straight sets!