Have Geelong become too powerful?

The moment he stubbornly insisted on the Weagles, never giving Freo a fair chance it was blatantly obvious that family excuse was a smokescreen and not the end all and be all of why he wanted to return to Perth.

I used the phrase 'shut up' for effect because I'm sure that under the alternate circumstances I outlined his wife would not have even contemplated to demand Tim leave a higher paying job living in Victoria for one that paid a lot less back in Perth. She probably would have smacked him for even suggesting it. lol

The only reason they did this it's because he had leverage due to him showing a high level of performance at AFL level that piqued significant interest of a club back in Perth.

If he didn't set the world on fire at AFL level but does enough to retain a regular spot earning decent coin at Geelong, this desperate need to return to Perth disappears. And like I said previously he puts his head down and works his arse off to retain his spot at Geelong for as long as possible.

And again to reiterate what I posted previously, his recent genuine interest to return to Geelong makes a mockery of the supposed urgency of his family situation. But you can believe whatever you want.

Wrong.

It was always about family.

Tim's partner ha issues with the Hill family at Freo.

Thats why Freo wasnt an option.

But you keeep building your own little narrative

You still want to get the best deal possible for yourself and your career.

To me, when it comes to money and work etc, I’ve always been a ‘take what you can get’ person and in the same scenario I would have bitten someone’s hand off to go to either club. They are both financially sound organisations with a lot of support etc etc. But he’s also just gone from the most competitive club in the land in terms of being ‘up’ every year for - at that point - 13 seasons, so he probably had that factored in to where he wanted to go, and then there were rumours (no one knows if they were true or not, for what it’s worth - I have no idea) about his wife’s personal issues with a player or something at Fremantle.

The upshot of all of it is, it helped Geelong take a step forward, it helped Kelly in terms of his family security, it set him back in terms of his legacy as an AFL player, it probably ultimately hurt Fremantle a bit that they didn’t get him (it could have hastened their development a bit in hindsight) and it has hurt the Eagles.

From my perspective it would have been nice had Tim shown even a slight willingness to go to either Freo or the Weagles to give Geelong the best chance to get the best return for his trade as a form of thank you and appreciation for his time at Geelong and what he was able to accomplish during his short 2 years there. The fact that he didn't make an attempt or at least feign one, was what left a bad taste in my mouth.

Wrong.

It was always about family.

Tim's partner ha issues with the Hill family at Freo.

Thats why Freo wasnt an option.

But you keeep building your own little narrative
Well only greedy and selfish people think they can have their cake and eat it too. She was back home needing assistance with taking care of their children supposedly. She could easily have avoided rocking up at club events, they're not compulsory for WAGs as far as I know, unless of course... You get what I'm hinting at.

From my perspective it would have been nice had Tim shown an even a slight willingness to go to either Freo or the Weagles to give Geelong the best chance to get the best return for his trade as a form of thank you and appreciation for his time at Geelong and what he was able to accomplish during short 2 years there. The fact that he didn't make an attempt or at least feign one, was what left a bad taste in my mouth.

Well only greedy and selfish people think they can have their cake and eat it too. She was back home needing assistance with taking care of their children supposedly. She could easily have avoided rocking up at club events, they're not compulsory for WAGs as far as I know, unless of course... You get what I'm hinting at.

‘You’re not playing at the club as long as that **** is there.’

That’s all it takes.

A long bow to draw, yes, but that’s literally all it can take. And I know this from experience - not obviously with a professional football club but in other circumstances

From my perspective it would have been nice had Tim shown an even a slight willingness to go to either Freo or the Weagles to give Geelong the best chance to get the best return for his trade as a form of thank you and appreciation for his time at Geelong and what he was able to accomplish during short 2 years there. The fact that he didn't make an attempt or at least feign one, was what left a bad taste in my mouth.

I think you’re the selfish one. You’re only seeing this from your side as a supporter of Geelong and how it all affected your club. How self centred and mean spirited can you get?

Isn’t one of his children disabled in some way or am I thinking of someone else? That would be a fair enough reason to want to go home. He’s allowed to say which team he’d like to go to. What if Adelaide had said to Dangerfield he could go home to Victoria but not to Geelong like he wanted to?

The current system makes it too easy for players in lower clubs to transfer to top clubs. AFL needs to look at this if they are fair dinkum about a more even competition.

Agreed.

They should probably start by stopping the Hawks from raiding the competition. They had 10 recruits on Friday and none of those were off footy's discard pile (delisted free agents or salary dump)

Barrass, Battle, Impey, Amon, Scrimshaw, Chol, D'Ambrosio, Meek, Ginnivan and Gunston is quite the group pillaged from other clubs!

Maybe the AFL can bring Hawthorn more in line with Geelong who only had 6 recruits from other clubs on Friday with 3 of those thrown a lifeline as delisted free agents or salary dump trades.

I think you’re the selfish one. You’re only seeing this from your side as a supporter of Geelong and how it all affected your club. How self centred and mean spirited can you get?

Isn’t one of his children disabled in some way or am I thinking of someone else? That would be a fair enough reason to want to go home. He’s allowed to say which team he’d like to go to. What if Adelaide had said to Dangerfield he could go home to Victoria but not to Geelong like he wanted to?
Sheesh we're going around in circles here. Fine, if the Kellys wanted to return so urgently and badly to Perth why did he put qualifiers than hindered that very process? Had he not just limited himself to signing with the Weagles, a deal could have been struck with Freo that might have allowed the family to return much sooner to Perth, spending just 1 year in Geelong instead of the 2 years that it took.

Work out why he was prepared to wait 1 more year. Hint: it probably had something to do with money.

And if the children's wellbeing was that important, I would expect a mother to put her petty personal grieavances aside, suck it up and just not turn up at the club to avoid trouble.

But noooo, it seems that their children's wellbeing wasn't that urgent and important after all, and had to take a back seat to other matters the Kellys deemed much more important.

What's the C in CFL stand for? I asked this a few backs in another thread and nobody seemed to know. Is it Corrupt Football League, Cat Football League, Collingwood Football League, etc...?
"Corrupt" Football League.

It's an expression from nuffie Richmond fans who believe that every single thing in footy that goes against the Tigers is part of a livelong all-powerful conspiracy by the AFL against them because reasons.

FWIW he has expressed this view on our forum and been shouted down by 50 people, so is very much an outlier.

Sheesh we're going around in circles here. Fine, if the Kellys wanted to return so urgently and badly to Perth why did he put qualifiers than hindered that very process? Had he not just limited himself to signing with the Weagles, a deal could have been struck with Freo that might have allowed the family to return much sooner to Perth, spending just 1 year in Geelong instead of the 2 years that it took.

Work out why he was prepared to wait 1 more year. Hint: it probably had something to do with money.

And if the children's wellbeing was that important, I would expect a mother to put her petty personal grieavances aside, suck it up and just not turn up at the club to avoid trouble.

But noooo, it seems that their children's wellbeing wasn't that urgent and important after all, and had to take a back seat to other matters the Kellys deemed much more important.
Didn't Dangerfield say he only wanted to go to Geelong? Isn't that the same thing?

What's the C in CFL stand for? I asked this a few backs in another thread and nobody seemed to know. Is it Corrupt Football League, Cat Football League, Collingwood Football League, etc...?

I think its this. Maybe someone from the lunatic fringe can help shed some light....

Smith's ball use has improved dramatically since he went to Geelong.

He uses handball much more, and has largely removed the constant '40m bomb down the line to a contest' from his game.

That's pretty much all he could do at the Bulldogs.

As a result, he's a far, far better now.

Is it coaching?

His handballing has been really noticeable to me as I have thought for years, that with a few exceptions, Geelong have had a lot of poor exponents of the handball.

Smith will jump up as he is being tackled or coming under pressure and give a decisive downward handball to a team mate.

You're forgetting Dempsey for a rookie pick, Holmes for a single late first rounder, Stewart for pick 40, Neale fiyt a pick in the 30s, J Henry for a rookie pick, Atkins for a rookie pick, etc, etc.

That sort of excellence with recruitment and development should be illegal.
We traded up with Richmond to get Holmes.

It’s amazing how in order to play with his brother, which was his reason for moving, he went to the very club where his brother was playing.
Yes I know that PB, I was trying to point out to randyzany that players have been picking what club they want to get to for some time. He was all nasty about Kelly wanting to go to WCE instead of Freo. I think it all worked out pretty well for Geelong as it turned out.

Geelong have internal systems & standards that they follow and unfortunately, clearly they work very well.

What also helps them is that a lot of the opposition clubs are plainly dumb in the way they manage their players making it easier for them to get picked off.

The AFL's equalisation measures are also flawed which make it easier for the the clubs up the top to exploit. When you have a complete dope like Dillon running the show, this will continue for eternity.

This recent change to the F/S system that is coming in is also flawed. Once again, the AFL make a poor decision to a serious issue especially as some clubs have benefited greatly from it.

There are two things that the AFL urgently needs to do to rectify this overall farce they call equalisation.

(1) dramatically increase the points value for draft picks (e.g. #1 is not worth 5000 points, #2 is worth 4750, #3 is worth 4500 etc)

This means that clubs up the top of the ladder who want one of those picks at the top of the draft then have to trade something of real value (a decent player or two) to get it instead of continually stockpiling the goodies and paying bugger-all for them.

(2) give all clubs who did not play in the finals an extra pre-round one draft pick

Call it the "equalisation round" (at present, it would be picks 1-10), the clubs with these picks effecrtively have the first 20 picks in the overall draft meaning that they get access to the cream of the dradft pool. Once again, it forces the clubs up the top of the ladder having to trade a player or two of real value if they want to get their hands on one of the equalisation picks.

This also means that priority picks & charity handouts are pernanently scrapped because in principle, all cellar dwellers get a priority pick because they didn't play finals.

Lastly, the Free Agency comnpensation picks have to be scrapped as well.

People reading this will be scratching their heads and saying it won't work because they will only be looking at the immediate short-term effect on their club, not the longterm benefits which will only be measurable & understandable after 5-7 years of this new system.

By the way, if there are clubs who cannot get their house in order and benefit from this proposed system then that is on them, there has to be a line in the sand somewhere.

Geelong have internal systems & standards that they follow and unfortunately, clearly they work very well.

What also helps them is that a lot of the opposition clubs are plainly dumb in the way they manage their players making it easier for them to get picked off.

The AFL's equalisation measures are also flawed which make it easier for the the clubs up the top to exploit. When you have a complete dope like Dillon running the show, this will continue for eternity.

This recent change to the F/S system that is coming in is also flawed. Once again, the AFL make a poor decision to a serious issue especially as some clubs have benefited greatly from it.

There are two things that the AFL urgently needs to do to rectify this overall farce they call equalisation.

(1) dramatically increase the points value for draft picks (e.g. #1 is not worth 5000 points, #2 is worth 4750, #3 is worth 4500 etc)

This means that clubs up the top of the ladder who want one of those picks at the top of the draft then have to trade something of real value (a decent player or two) to get it instead of continually stockpiling the goodies and paying bugger-all for them.

(2) give all clubs who did not play in the finals an extra pre-round one draft pick

Call it the "equalisation round" (at present, it would be picks 1-10), the clubs with these picks effecrtively have the first 20 picks in the overall draft meaning that they get access to the cream of the dradft pool. Once again, it forces the clubs up the top of the ladder having to trade a player or two of real value if they want to get their hands on one of the equalisation picks.

This also means that priority picks & charity handouts are pernanently scrapped because in principle, all cellar dwellers get a priority pick because they didn't play finals.

Lastly, the Free Agency comnpensation picks have to be scrapped as well.

People reading this will be scratching their heads and saying it won't work because they will only be looking at the immediate short-term effect on their club, not the longterm benefits which will only be measurable & understandable after 5-7 years of this new system.

By the way, if there are clubs who cannot get their house in order and benefit from this proposed system then that is on them, there has to be a line in the sand somewhere.
You are one step away from suggesting finalists only get to choose players from division 5 leagues, while the rest get full access to the national draft.

Piss off, you are being silly now.
Your post was silly. Extra draft picks on top. Whats the point of even following a game if merit is crushed. Its already bad enough geelong hasnt had a top 8 draft pick in like 25 year and a top 5 pick in well ever.

13 rookies, delisted players or lower league late bloomers playing this saturday. And our best one is missing through injury. Should write a movie about this team given what its had to overcome.

Have Geelong become too powerful?