Unofficial Preview 2025 Hawk's Hypothetical Trade Discussion...now with added DFA spitballing!

This thread is becoming increasingly popular, and to keep some sort of order, we will have some….

Rules of engagement:

1. Bring valid news or links to Twitter posts from notable sources. Don’t post screenshots or “some bloke just said on SEN” or what some “trade whisperer” has posted on a Facebook page.

2. Ignore what other team boards are putting up as trade offers. Don’t quote or bring them here either.

3. Don’t post “buckle up” for the lols.

4. If you can’t say anything nice about Worpel or CJ, don’t say anything at all. The continued slaps and backhanders are just going to be deleted.

Don’t really wanna death ride st kilda next year with all their new additions, gonna be hard for them to suck, then again never underestimate a team that has gone 1-151
Will be an interesting watch. Could take them a while to click with all the new personnel. Then if they get an injury or two it could derail the year. Lots to play out.

Walsh is very much getteble as long as we can convince him. Us and Geelong have been into him so time will tell.
Blues need two top 20-25 picks for Walker as the rules are changing again next year with academy and f/s matching. So, with their own first round pick they'll need one more. We have that covered plus throw in 2027 first or one of our seconds.
They have Sydney's 2026 round 1 from the Curnow trade

If we rated Greeves we would have taken him already. At least at 23.

Doubt we'd now try to trade up from 52 to nab him.
Just means we rated him below the 2 we picked. We could have rated him 15th in the draft but the others 6 and 9. But I don't think we'll go for him as we likely have plans for all those future 2nds.

It's not just that, its a factor of the cost of upgrading from down at 52 to around/inside 30 to get him now. I don't see it.

I like Butts but that's a big step up for him to replace Worps in the middle next year.

Time will tell though, one thing for sure for our young mids is their are spots for the taking in 2026 of they step up to the plate.
In a way I think it plays out similarly to when JOM and Mitchell were shipped off allowed others to step in and develop. Getting a Merrett probably gives the preferred outcome ASAP but hopefully those behind Worps now have their time to shine. All of Butler, Ward and Mackenzie and possibly even Finn are certainly at a level where they could now take the next step.

Hopefully it’s now an even stronger focus than before 👍

Mate, they need more than one high end talent through their doors before the Tassie draft . Their list is bottom 5! And will remain there .
Tassie draft is a bit overstated they have to trade out half the picks its not like GWS & GC drafts where it was pretty much a first round lockout, plus long may it continue there list sucks if they want to pay half a dozen of their players half there cap thats on them stuff em

The Devils will get the number one selection in the 2027 National Draft along with picks 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13, but selections 5, 7, 11 and 13 must be traded to other clubs either for players or other draft picks

So 3 picks they are guaranteed hardly draft altering

Tassie draft is a bit overstated they have to trade out half the picks its not like GWS & GC drafts where it was pretty much a first round lockout, plus long may it continue there list sucks if they want to pay half a dozen of their players half there cap thats on them stuff em

The Devils will get the number one selection in the 2027 National Draft along with picks 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13, but selections 5, 7, 11 and 13 must be traded to other clubs either for players or other draft picks

So 3 picks they are guaranteed hardly draft altering
True but, the fact that they won't be trading them out for a half eaten bag of chips is also true. They won't lose out of the trade. Good luck to clubs in no man's land trying to keep their good assets.

I’ve been hunting around the Internet trying to find out the draft picks/points that were used to match Academy and Father son bids. In previous drafts it has been fairly easy to find them but I can’t find it anywhere this year. Can anybody point me in the right direction or let me know what the picks were? Especially interested with Gold Coast managing to match for 4 picks in the top 20 and also using a heap of draft currency to select Petracca. I know that the AFL love controlling the narrative but it seems they have gone out of their way to keep these details away from public scrutiny this year.

Won't quote my own post from another forum due to board rules, I had put this before draft started
Now think Suns have enough picks to get all their targets, even if Jai & Beau get bid at 18 & 19 as per Cal's Phantom.
before pick 2 bid comes Suns should have
[MEDIA=twitter]1990534707994624227[/MEDIA]

14,18,24 goes for Zeke, gets pick 40 back

28,33,35,36 goes for Dylan ( comes in 4-5 spots), gets pick 35 back

35,40 for Jai ( comes in 2 spots)
48,49,52 for Beau ( comes in 1 spots)
53 for Koby

Once suns arranged this, they were all set

Actually I think their list management team is among the best with how they make deals.

Again copying another person post

Zero hanger web site has all the Pick swaps from the 1st night of the draft

Pick Swap
Gold Coast receives: Picks 14, 33 and 53
Western Bulldogs receive: Picks 15 and 29

Pick Swap
Carlton receives: Picks 21, 27 and 30
Essendon receives: Picks 9 and 43

Pick Swap
Carlton receives: Picks 25, 46 and 2026 Round 2
North Melbourne receives: Picks 11 and 54

Pick Swap
GWS receives: 2026 Round 2 (tied to Melbourne)
Gold Coast receives: Pick 35

Pick Swap
Gold Coast receives: 46
Port Adelaide receives: 2026 Round 3

Pick Swap
Gold Coast receives: 47
Adelaide receives: 2026 Round 3 (tied to Essendon)

Pick Swap
Hawthorn receives: Pick 18
Brisbane receives: Pick 21 and 2026 Round 3

Pick Swap
GWS receive: Pick 14
Hawthorn receives: Pick 16 and 2026 Round 2

Pick Swap
West Coast receives: Pick 17
Hawthorn receives: Pick 18 and 2026 Round 2

Will we really go after Merrett again?
I’d prefer we go for Humphrey. Suns will probably need points for academy players again and we have those 2nd rounders now.

We weren’t going to potentially pay what we had on offer for Merrett this year with the expectation that he’d only be a high performer for the next 2-3 years. If we think he’s someone who will be elite well into his 30’s then I reckon best to just take him for free as a UFA in 2027.

I hope not. I'm NOT ready to be hurt again.
I, too, hope not. We have quite a few players to sign up, not the least of which is Weddle. Calsh is also out of contract, but I cannot see him ever abandoning the Hawks.

I’d prefer we go for Humphrey. Suns will probably need points for academy players again and we have those 2nd rounders now.

We weren’t going to potentially pay what we had on offer for Merrett this year with the expectation that he’d only be a high performer for the next 2-3 years. If we think he’s someone who will be elite well into his 30’s then I reckon best to just take him for free as a UFA in 2027.

Humphrey is a target.

Hopefully GCS shed a few other talented players like Davies, Jeffries and Rogers.

I, too, hope not. We have quite a few players to sign up, not the least of which is Weddle. Calsh is also out of contract, but I cannot see him ever abandoning the Hawks.
keep an eye on Gold Coast. With all the top end talent they have accumulated, they cannot play them all.

Somone will drop out for more opportunity. The Suns may also be more obliging at trade time due to their abundance of assets.

Do not want Merrett nor dealing with the scum again, but would be fine targeting Walsh as a FA, because I can't see Butters in brown and gold. Although that would be delicious.

Zac Bailey as FA would be a great get as well.

Walsh, Zac Bailey & Bailey Humphries would get me excited. We probably need to eject someone of worth though as our salary cap would be sorely tested. Ahh, dream away... :)

Unofficial Preview 2025 Hawk's Hypothetical Trade Discussion...now with added DFA spitballing!