• Charlie Dixon

Votes: 3 0.9%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 38 11.4%
  • No, not them. This guy

Votes: 22 6.6%

I vividly remember the day my Dad explained to me at a game when I was a young kid that the Port captain always wears number 1 and that it was a sign of the strength of our captain and club that we did this. I have always wondered why other clubs don’t as it just seems to make sense that the captain should stand up and wear number 1. Every time I see the number 1 Port guernsey I get an indescribable feeling of pride, calmness, assurance and confidence. It also makes me think of my Dad. That is literally how I feel for a split second EVERY time I see that jumper. Now that’s been taken away and that magic is never coming back. Heartbreaking. Not sure I will have to stomach to actually watch a game this season.
Two posts in four and a half years. I sincerely hope this isn’t a troll account.

Port Adelaide CEO Keith Thomas says he told coach Ken Hinkley the club should not break with tradition and elect co-captains if it was a “50-50 call”.
KT has told the FIVEaa sports show:

“The final thing I said to Kenny was, mate, if this is a 50-50 call my sense of it is we shouldn’t do it because there is a significant impact, there’s going to be an impact on this and we value what our members think and feel about it.

“He came back and he said we hear that, we understand it, we respect it but emphatically for the football team right now, in this moment, this is clearly the best proposition for us.

“At that moment we backed it in and there was no doubt about it.”

AKA, Ken has sent us into a full rebuild and needs 2 captains to help develop our next group as quickly as possible.

The process was terrible, the interaction with and respect for members was downright offensive.

The one positive, is it is the right three players.

So which one stands next to the coach in finals on anzac day matches?
The coach has a left side and a right side so this clearly isn't an issue :rolleyes:

However, if we chose to take the next logical step some time in the future and go with three co-captains, one of the captains would have to sit on the coach's head at such times

. Mate, it’s not. Trust me. Only posted here because I just have no other forum to express how I feel about this. It hurts a lot.

zEkQZ5H.gif

The process was terrible, the interaction with and respect for members was downright offensive.

The one positive, is it is the right three players.

This is true and it’s a shame that it all had to be engulfed by a cyclone of bullshit. If these three players were named C/VC/DVC, in any order, I reckon almost everyone would not only be on board but happy too.

What does this mean?

It means an old sycophant said something that no one heard but the old people who attend 'talking footy'

This is true and it’s a shame that it all had to be engulfed by a cyclone of bullishit. If these three players were named C/VC/DVC, in any order, I reckon almost everyone would be not only on board but happy.

lol it would have been huge. Yet here we are. You know they could have just kept it as C/VC/DVC publicly, but ran it internally as co-captains right?

****ing lol, what a farce.

lol it would have been huge. Yet here we are. You know they could have just kept it as C/VC/DVC publicly, but ran it internally as co-captains right?

******* lol, what a farce.

People will not like me saying this again but “internal co-captain” a.k.a. vice captain a.k.a. spiritual leader a.k.a. guy who gets his jollies getting shit done just doesn’t have the same prestige as captain and that is important, sometimes more important than the role itself, to some.

My guess is that Ken is desperately looking around for anything. The guy he promised it to just ****ed himself up. He knows we are screwed this year and suddenly needs the enforcer. Enter Tom.

Port Adelaide has one captain who wears the number one. Within weeks the marketing department is going to ramp up the 150 shit and attempt to flog that. The person in charge of that is probably the only person internally that is currently freaking out. And that is because of dollars.

My guess is that Ken is desperately looking around for anything. The guy he promised it to just ****** himself up. He knows we are screwed this year and suddenly needs the enforcer. Enter Tom.

Port Adelaide has one captain who wears the number one. Within weeks the marketing department is going to ramp up the 150 shit and attempt to flog that. The person in charge of that is probably the only person internally that is currently freaking out. And that is because of dollars.

Regardless of the exact point of origin I’m just disappointed that we’ve dishonoured our heritage for likely zero practical impact. It feels like a decision made for the wrong reasons.

I vividly remember the day my Dad explained to me at a game when I was a young kid that the Port captain always wears number 1 and that it was a sign of the strength of our captain and club that we did this. I have always wondered why other clubs don’t as it just seems to make sense that the captain should stand up and wear number 1. Every time I see the number 1 Port guernsey I get an indescribable feeling of pride, calmness, assurance and confidence. It also makes me think of my Dad. That is literally how I feel for a split second EVERY time I see that jumper. Now that’s been taken away and that magic is never coming back. Heartbreaking. Not sure I will have to stomach to actually watch a game this season.

They had no right to take that away from you

What does this mean?

Probably dribbling his usual bile on facilebook - I don't think Barry does twitter or instagram - but you'll find that Ilias person being negative about absolutely everything on absolutely every platform, even here if you use the Show ignored content function.