2006 GF Day: Where were you?

Absolutely pooing my dacks with my face in my lap mostly for the last two minutes in the lounge room must of been 12 at the time.

I was there.

Then I was at Punt rd.
Then I was at Crown.
After that, things get really REALLY hazy.
Same.

Same.
Same.
Same.

Happy days :)

Highlights of celebrating was at Punt rd they played the original eagles song once, was kinda surprised they would, but really happy they did. Then at Young & Jackson some guy had a Lynch glove, got up on a table, pretended to take a grab then threw the glove across the pub. Casino just singing the song over and over and over and making up a silly chant with some other random guy "Darran Glass kicked Halls ass!"

Same thing happened to my sister, though she clicked during the second quarter when she realised Sampi wasn't meant to be playing.

I remember them playing the replay at the same time as the 2006 Final on another channel. During the game someone hit the remote and it changed channels. When I was trying to change the channel back, for some reason I went to the replay without realizing. 30 seconds later I saw Sampi and went "wait a minute!". Glad I only missed 30 seconds of the real game.

After witnessing a feral crowd at one of the derbies in the early 2000s my old man vowed never to follow the footy again and forbade me to repeat the language I had learned or even follow footy anymore(apparently abuse was aimed at both him and I despite my age and because it was his first footy experience he assumed it was the norm)from then on I was forced to listen to the radio in secret and then would watch important games at my mates houses. Unfortunately in 2006 this was not a possibility, however dad happened to be working and so I was home alone!!! Yeah boi, I celebrated in silence, hand on the remote ready to switch channels fearing he would finish his shift early. Was pumped I got to watch it.

In 06 I was at hope downs construction camp.The mine manager, a Scottish bloke, shut the site down for the afternoon,opened the bar so the whole camp could watch it.Was a great day
In 05 I had been driving around Europe with a few lads.Was in Switzerland, made a few calls and found a hotel that would play it up in the alps.Think it was 7am or something like that.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Poor dockerland

There's still freo supporters that think they would have won the flag if they'd beaten Sydney in the prelim

Ignoring, of course, that they didn't get close to Sydney in that game

Doggies thought they would push us in the finals too. That worked out well for them :cool: and we'd have done the same for the dockers

Same.

Same.
Same.
Same.

Happy days :)

Highlights of celebrating was at Punt rd they played the original eagles song once, was kinda surprised they would, but really happy they did. Then at Young & Jackson some guy had a Lynch glove, got up on a table, pretended to take a grab then threw the glove across the pub. Casino just singing the song over and over and over and making up a silly chant with some other random guy "Darran Glass kicked Halls ass!"
One of the pubs we were in everyone would randomly start chanting "smother...handball...shepherd...GOAL!!,!" And cheer wildly.

Very top row behind goals city end.

Original theme song at punt road was great. A few quizzical looks from the under 25s in the crowd who hadn't heard it before. Getting to yell it out word for word (or close enough) was very cool.

In a small town in Turkey called Selcuck. The only internet was a laptop in the reception of the hotel we were staying at. Tried to keep up with the game watching that stupid graphic on the AFL site which had an oval and showed you were the ball was 5 mins after it happened. Couldn't cope with the stress so went up to the room and left the wife to it. About an hour later she comes up to the room and says It's half time and we are a point in front, I lost my s**t "it was f**king half time when I left". Just then the little Nokia we had with us rings and it's my son "f**k yeah, we won by a point" he screams into the phone and I can hear the joyous chaos going on all around him.
The Efes tasted good that night.

Having a BBQ for my 18th watching the game and having froths as a warm up for the night.

Watched it at a mates in Marangaroo, remember being pissed as playing king of the pack in the middle of the road with half the street trying to take speckies on peoples heads and grazing the fk outta myself on the road.

I won $280 on Hanson first goal, Embers NS and Eagles under 9 points, ended up at the Cas and blew all my winnings got kicked out when me and my mate picked up a Swans supporter we knew and ran around with him on our shoulders yelling.
Went to an after party and woke up at some randoms house hungover as fk and bruised and grazed. Had a hair of the dog and got straight back on it again.
It was the Best of times, it was the Blurst of times!

200096_5293351105_4940_n.jpg
Herdsman parade wembly . My old unit.

Hugging a stranger next to me, back row, top tier at the MCG. Those last two minutes were the longest of my life. My then 11 year old daughter kept asking every ten seconds "How long to go now Dad?". When the siren went the scenes of jubilation around us were out of this world.
Sounds eerily similar to me! Only I was asking my partner how long to go at that last ball up. The relief was so great when that siren sounded.
I turned to hug my partner who was hugging a random next seat over!o_O He was so excited about the win that he accidentally threw off his new $250 sunglasses and we never saw them again.
He still says if someone asks at the beginning of the game a win will cost you your new glasses he would pay the price every time!:cool:

Poor dockerland

There's still freo supporters that think they would have won the flag if they'd beaten Sydney in the prelim

Ignoring, of course, that they didn't get close to Sydney in that game

This always makes me laugh; the whole we beat you during the season so IF we'd played you in the GF then we would have beaten you again, such flawed logic a lot like that flog Barrett's "sentences starting with if and then".

In a Queenstown pub after a week of trekking... Screaming my ****ing guts out after persuading the locals to flick over a tv to the game.... Nobody knew what was going on.

At my place with family and sisters bf who is a mad Swan fan. He was pretty silent all day too afraid to say the wrong thing. We went absolutely nuts when the boys won, celebratory burnouts and all.