Preview 2020 AFL Grand-Final: Richmond v Geelong @ The GABBA (Serious one)

Strange. Haven't watched any of 360 or listened to any radio all week. Not read one paper either.
Lots of noise for the Cats.

You know the drill,’17,’19.

Such a strange feeling building up to the GF this year. Working from home I don’t get any of the SEN coverage I normally would going to and from work (not that it sounds like I’m missing much!) no reading the papers at work or talking about it with people at work.
Despite this I’m more nervous than I was for the other 2.
I’ve been thinking about why I feel like this and think I was just so happy and excited that we made it in 2017 and could soak up the whole week leading up to it. Adelaide were favourites but we had the form and win or lose I was glad we were there.
2019 was relaxed because we had one already from 17, we had proven it definitely wasn’t a fluke and while I was always fairly confident we would beat GWS it wasn’t a worry if we lost because, we’ll it was GWS and there were no supporters to rub it in.

This time it’s different. So many years we had to put up with being beaten by Geelong and not just beaten but humiliated. Ablett senior running riot kicking bags at will, 100 point thumpings and dealing with the arrogant hicks in the stands.
I can’t deal with the thought of this mob beating us. All the joy of beating them in the finals 17 and 19 will be lost because they will be able to hold this over us. The entitlement of Dangerflop and Ablett to win this GF.

For the love of everything that is good in this world, please flog these prickmy Tiger boys. Don’t let them have a sniff. Pound them into the GABBA turf from the first bounce and don’t stop till the final siren.
Please leave us with the lasting images of Dangerflop and Hawkins crying like little babies at the end of game wondering how it all went wrong and despite all that has been wrong with this year, there will be something so sweet and joyful to take out of it.

Carn the mighty Tigers, eat em alive.

Strange. Haven't watched any of 360 or listened to any radio all week. Not read one paper either.
This week feels more like the build-up to the '93 Richmond - Bombers escort cup GF.
Still so hard to get enthusiastic. Obviously that will change come game time.

This week feels more like the build-up to the '93 Richmond - Bombers escort cup GF.
Still so hard to get enthusiastic. Obviously that will change come game time.

I watch the front bat and that’s it , I can’t stand everyone else on the other shows and radio etc .

Lost me when they said how some of our score lines flattered us recently due to poor opposition goal kicking !
Umm didn’t we have 22 scoring shots to 11 against the cats yet only won by 4 goals , against Power we had 6 more shots & won by 6 points , please , what are they referring to ?
The saints game , Christ we were 5 goals up before they started missing & if Tom kicked straight we would have won by more !
They also talk like Danger has only just been switched to the forward 50 recently for periods of the game , pretty sure he was in there in 17 QF & even round 17 this year for a while !

Scratch the head stuff

You're getting into some special kind of stupid here with the assorted footyball media. Breathtaking stuff.

lol Geesook supporter interviewed on front bar and he stated “ He went to bed and didn’t watch the Prelim and will not watch the GF “ like wtf , what’s the use in being a supporter .
He’s just following what the coach does

Na there’s two things I’ve really noticed about Geelong.
He’s changed his tune because it just wasn’t getting them anywhere.
And Dangerfield has been so obvious in not getting excited, celebrating or even smiling.
That little carry on before half time Of the prelim which caused Dusty to tell him to shut the fu** up and then torch them, really made him change his ways I reckon.
This version of Dangerfield is far more dangerous before that he was too full of himself.

Or putting so much pressure on himself and team mates , He has already played the game 100 times in his head and will be exhuasted by game day
Emma Murray was on the whately show last week and spoke about this and said mentally thinking too much and trying to be too determined before the game actually gets you mentally tired that its not a great difference to being physically tired.

Relax and dont think about it until its time to think about it then switch off when finished is the best way to stay calm and in the space

fridge has been pretty good working off his opponent and getting involved in some chains. In pretty good form at the moment just need more of the same.
His delivery inside F50 has been awesome the last month. Well at least I’ve really noticed for the first time over this period.
Bullet passes on the chest or to the forwards advantage almost every single time. He is really damaging with ball in hand and I think this isn’t acknowledged enough in his game.
Yes he’s our go to stopper, but he is so much more than that. When he’s going well the team does so much better.
I’ve always had the nagging doubt about his pace and those shoulders are always a worry, but I’m so glad he has re-signed with us and I really hope he gets the premiership medal he should have received last year.

First, great write up mate, well done!

Secondly full credit to both sides. Both have had to contend with interstate clubs having all the advantages this year and for it to be a all VIC GF makes my hart sing, going to get #VICBIASE tattooed on my back after a win.

On the game, I am really confident we will get the win and that is not a slight on the cats, who have been great this path month and have had some major in's since our round 17 game. What fills me with confidence is simply how both teams prior games have been played. Cats have had 2 of the most bruise free finals type games you are likely to see. Its not their fault the pies were gassed after West Coke game and the bears played as lose as they could and allowed the cats all the space in the world.

Our games have been fully contested and great prep for the Grand Final. The cats love to maintain possession and carve you up with short kicks. We are elite in being able to close down the space and force that possession to be a quick release, if the cats don't pinpoint a lead up pass, they are often exposed on the turnover, also outside Rowhan there forward line is not as fast as ours.

The biggest thing which most over look, is that we have fixed our main weakness against them is sides ability to dominate the air, that does not happen now. We have also had 2 rehearsals leading up to this game. We had WC who needed to win to make the top 4 coming off a 7 game win streak. We had the cats needing to win to lock in top 4 coming off 6 straight wins and we dominated both games.

People make excuses and one of them is that the tigers have not played "great footy". I disagree, we seem to lift based on the oppo we play. Saints game was a perfect example, we were electric in the first quarter, conserved energy in the middle two quarters and when the saints started to fight we blew them away in the last. Against both "contenders" in the WC and Cats we smashed them from start to finished and played the game on our terms.

If we equal the cats in the first quarter and hold them in the second to go into half time with a slight lead, we have proven in the last half of games we can accelerate to extra levels and in those last two quarters the older legs tend to tire. We just have to make sure we dont allow them easy ball, if we do that we can and will be cut up
You watch who’s on the field when we are top in the game. If we have a bit of a lead they rest our big names. Nank and Cotch will rest on the bench, Dusty will go forward to rest. The coaches save our best players for later in the game.
I think it’s one of the reasons we rarely blow teams away as we conserve our players for when they are really need during the season or in a match.
The only concern with the hardness of the two paths we have taken is if it’s close in the last, but I believe in our side that even then they would have the commitment to keep going.

Anyone else watching this 'ultimate preview' on foxtel?

All these stats are great making Geelong look unbelievable, but when you don't quantify it with the fact the cats played against witches hats the last 2 finals games with close to no pressure its not very accurate.
Initially I was shocked at the amount of TV "experts" tipping Geelong but as the week goes on, it's clear it's because we're hated so much now.

....Garry Lyon is the exception, I understand he has to pick Geelong as his missus barracks for them.

Just got woken up about 20 minutes ago by my 2 dogs outside carrying on. Turns out they found a cat in the backyard and killed it.

Quite sad that I couldn’t stop them in time, but maybe it’s an omen for the game...

Really hasn’t felt like a normal grand final week
We’re more interested in the trade/fa thread as this time of year is normally when that stuff is going on

media/everyone from work are on geelong. I have an uneasy feeling, will know in the first 5 minutes though If we’re on or not.
If we make it hard for Geelong to kick goals they’ll struggle, if they score efficiently were in strife as they’ll get their confidence up. Gotta hit them hard and early and make them play catch up. Don’t wanna keep them anywhere near it. Hoping the day off today pumps me up a bit more, might go back and watch last years prelim and remember how well we played after half time!! Gotta be like that for 4 quarters this year though they’ll be up for it