2nds 2022 Peel Thunder

That’s really pleasing to read & I think ‘Romance’ Valentine is working nicely towards a development job at Fremantle.

I still don’t think Worner was ‘axed’, with his preferred position taken by Hughes & Henry who are closer to AFL than he is, with Worner continuing his development on the wing in the 2’s. I think he’s developing well, with the club happy with what he’s doing.
Isn't that what being axed is?

He's the third of two possible options. He's just had a defender nudge in front of him. Hope he finds it challenging.

I think that’s rubbish, he has huge drive to better himself. Saw him doing repeat 400’s over and over again, with an athletics coach in the off-season. He’s doing everything he can to stay on the list. His tank has improved immensely and you can see it in the wafl games, he’s getting big numbers. It’s just a matter of disposal with the ball that lets him down. A trait hard to train. It won’t be a lack of trying that sees him delisted.
When club needed Connor to stand up as a mature mid,He was too 'busy'with 'other'things, and He had sizable contract for next 2-3 years.

Now contract is almost up and He is TTHD trying to get back into the team(read to get new contract)...Guess what...too late mate...Club doesn't need U..

You can GAGF-

When club needed Connor to stand up as a mature mid,He was too 'busy'with 'other'things, and He had sizable contract for next 2-3 years.

Now contract is almost up and He is TTHD trying to get back into the team(read to get new contract)...Guess what...too late mate...Club doesn't need U..

You can GAGF-
Here's what I thought but didn't write.

You can GAGF-
I'd say that's pretty harsh. Blakely always been team orientated and hasn't ever complained since he was dropped. With Covid protocols dramatically increasing the number of players missing games likely to continue in 2023 I wouldn't be surprised if he was picked up as DFA by another team. Our list is way deeper than most teams so I think he'll struggle to get an extension here. Good luck to him whatever he does is my view.

I'm starting to change our tune on how good our recruiters are. They can't be that much better than everyone else that all their picks are diamonds in the rough. I suspect that the best thing we have at the club is player development, coaching and drive of the playing group. Seeing our average recruits shine this year is testament to this and the hard work put in by all.

Don't get me wrong, our recruiters have been fantastic, I just think the turnaround is deeper than just the names read out on draft day.
Some years you just nail it. The 07-09 drafts put us in the position to contend 2010-2015, quicker than we expected after finishing third last in 2008 and cutting heaps of senior talent. 2008 in particular was a draft we went deep in and got 6 players that played in the GF 5 years later.

Often the measure of a good recruiter is being able to identify talent in late picks. Someone like Brandon Walker plays like he's been on the list a lot longer than 18 months. Obviously the factors you mention help, but you have to have something to work with in the first place.

No, because no matter how he played in the 2’s he is back up the next week.
The feedback is clearly that he has some way to go before he's considered.

A rare opportunity to get a game in his specialist position opened up and he wasn't even given an opportunity to impress. His spot was taken by a hbf-er who has never played that role at AFL level.

Or are you worried about the emotional connotation of the word "axed"?

The feedback is clearly that he has some way to go before he's considered.

A rare opportunity to get a game in his specialist position opened up and he wasn't even given an opportunity to impress. His spot was taken by a hbf-er who has never played that role at AFL level.

Or are you worried about the emotional connotation of the word "axed"?
Huh, Warner is a work in progress & does not play the Acres type wingman role in any case. He is a rookie listed player learning his craft & is still some way from selection & he is under no illusions of that.

As soon as was named in the 2’s it was clear that Hughes was going to play wing & take Acres role.

They are clearly happy with his progress as they extended him 3 weeks ago as a rookie until the end of next year. Either give a developing playing limited minutes in position he doesn’t play at League level or give him an opportunity to play full minutes in the 2’s to continue his development. No brainer for me.

1. Connor’s card has been marked.

2. Freo agreed many years ago to have no more than 12 AFL listed players in the Peel league side. Hughes was given a specific role with a view being retained in the AFL side for W / HBF. Worker was moved to the reserves. No big issue.

AFL is full of these stories, and it's often the single role inside midfielders who do well in state footy, but are looked over for the big league.
They're almost always limited in role (eg. can only play inside), don't have a clear attribute outside of ball winning / footy smarts and are lacking the mix of endurance / speed to keep up with AFL.

There's even plenty of them on AFL lists, but typically they showed some sort of standout attribute in their junior years and just didn't make it, and once that becomes clear they're not going to improve that's the end of their AFL story.
See: Blakely.

Doesn't mean they aren't very good footballers, like Bell.
On this point, I think Crowden will win a Sandover or the equivalent in a state league if he gets delisted and not picked up by another club.

Surely WC are going to pick up some of our extra depth with AFL ready bodies. They aren't competitive so you think they would want to cut back hard and upgrade a few players that can fill in when the oldies get injured and the young kids get tired.

I can see it getting worse before it gets better too & you don't want to be getting flogged regardless of the picks.

Surely WC are going to pick up some of our extra depth with AFL ready bodies. They aren't competitive so you think they would want to cut back hard and upgrade a few players that can fill in when the oldies get injured and the young kids get tired.

I can see it getting worse before it gets better too & you don't want to be getting flogged regardless of the picks.
Agreed, Didn't Brady Grey play for their WAFL team in their first year? Surprised he wasn't a top-up for them this year.

Like us, I don't expect West Coast to delist contracted players.

They have two or three extra players on their list atm due to having a **** tonne of inactive players.

I can see a scenario where they cut very few on top of retirees and some of this years SPP players tbh. They don't have much else out of contract.

Huh, Warner is a work in progress & does not play the Acres type wingman role in any case. He is a rookie listed player learning his craft & is still some way from selection & he is under no illusions of that.

As soon as was named in the 2’s it was clear that Hughes was going to play wing & take Acres role.

They are clearly happy with his progress as they extended him 3 weeks ago as a rookie until the end of next year. Either give a developing playing limited minutes in position he doesn’t play at League level or give him an opportunity to play full minutes in the 2’s to continue his development. No brainer for me.
No brainer for me either. Good decision all round. Just as it was when Ryan and Treacy were axed from the 22. They are in development mode.

Like us, I don't expect West Coast to delist contracted players.

They have two or three extra players on their list atm due to having a **** tonne of inactive players.

I can see a scenario where they cut very few on top of retirees and some of this years SPP players tbh. They don't have much else out of contract.
If they only make 4-5 list changes then they are in a world of hurt. I think they need to be getting at least 5 kids plus 3-4 moneyball older types minimum who are starved of opportunity. Everyone has had a game this year and there aren’t many standouts. I’d be cutting hard for a few years.

Thing is they’ve got four inactive players (five if you include Sheppard) and three replacements already. That’s a senior/Category A rookie list of 45, which needs to be cut - they can only have 42 active players on those two lists.

I’d say it’d be 8-10 players this season and probably similar levels for the next two seasons after that. I can’t see them cutting much more than that - they’ve ****ed up contracts as well as just the age of their list etc. Tbh, whilst they’ll still be sh**e they have a significant amount of 28+ year old talent which will provide exactly what Crowden does. Age is insignificant as neither option will be playing in their next top four side.