List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft

One is an AA defender, one was playing country footy a few years back and the other is a bog average SANFL mid asked to chase around defenders of course they are bottom tier.
And we use to have worse playing there.

I want my small forwards to be like Robbie Gray who is a top line midfielder as well.

I liked how this read in your post. I had a bit of a laugh. We all do, mate.

And we use to have worse playing there.

I liked how this read in your post. I had a bit of a laugh. We all do, mate.
I know what you're saying Robbie Gray s don't come along very often but the point I'm making is that they need to do more than one thing. Having guys like Cheese running around chasing guys and not contributing to the scoreboard just can't go on.

Not sure it’s a group think ‘it’s a weak draft’ situation as much as a recognition that taking 3 picks, all after pick 30 in this draft is low yield. It’s also a recognition that there aren’t many ‘sure things’ in this draft. Guys like Whitlock and Moraes likely would sit in the top 15-20 in this draft for example.

It’s not to say that we might not be able to get a good player late, just that it’s less likely in this draft.

Also important to remember that Draftees still get taken on a 2 year deal, whilst a DFA, SSP or rookie can be taken on a single year. So more flexibility with Wehr over pick 50. Or upgrade a rookie and give a summer to a potential player like Lai to show what he can do.

Also, our second and third this year might be swapped into next year to help any points that we may need to find or to trade up if we can't get Dougie as an academy pick.

Here's a question for the Draft nuffies who know everything about the draft.

If there are 6 first rounders that needs points for clubs to match them and the discount has gone down plus anything past pick 54 is invalid for points.

If you assume that it will take a minimum of 3 lower picks to match the bid won't that potentially mean that our pick 60 could end up at say Pick 45 and our Pick 42 could end up in the low 30's?

If you are smart it might be worthwhile live trading on the night.

I've got a real issue with goal sneak forwards. I don't like them because they are generally one trick ponies. I want my small forwards to be like Robbie Gray who is a top line midfielder as well. Or Brett Ebert who was a lead up small forward as well as a crumbing forward.

Rioli was very good at what he did well but he had plenty of limitations as well. I don't think he'll be as difficult to replace as you think. But he will be if we look for exactly the same type of player.
I dont like goal sneak forwards either particularly when they are very short. I prefer the Lohman types who present & are aggressive.

Agree its our number one priority particularly with the move of Bergman to midfield. Then a quick, hard working defensive midfielder as Drew isn't going to get any better now & Mead will never be good enuf. I'm really hoping Logan Evans can recapture that early defensive form he had but it is hope.
Could we turn Drew into a lockdown defender?

Yeh I've suggested that too after his poor year in midfield. I think we need to find a more mobile defensive midfielder to replace him. I definitely think its worth trying Drew as a defender though. We need to get more creative with positional changes during the early stages of pre-season.

I personally don't think he was the speed to do this

Do you like either of them?

Serong is ok and deserves game time.

HH, not sure. Liked him in his draft year but there are valid question marks on his game

Not sure it’s a group think ‘it’s a weak draft’ situation as much as a recognition that taking 3 picks, all after pick 30 in this draft is low yield. It’s also a recognition that there aren’t many ‘sure things’ in this draft. Guys like Whitlock and Moraes likely would sit in the top 15-20 in this draft for example.

It’s not to say that we might not be able to get a good player late, just that it’s less likely in this draft.

Yeah this has been called a weak draft from a long way out. A lot of decent kids already aligned and the depth is pretty shallow compared to most years.

There will be the isual decent finds in the 20s and 30s but after that it feels like a “better the devil you know” type draft

I know what you're saying Robbie Gray s don't come along very often but the point I'm making is that they need to do more than one thing. Having guys like Cheese running around chasing guys and not contributing to the scoreboard just can't go on.
Yeah, I know.

A good mix of general forwards is definitely needed. It is very hard to get high quality guys. I want forwards who can kick goals but yeah, they should be able to do other things.

It was one of the bizarre Hinkley traits. He seemed to like attacking defenders and defensive forwards.

As I've said, I don't think we've got a lot of goal kicking talent and creativity with the general forward we've got but we will see how we go. You never know who pops up.

Drew was clearly unfit (like with others) this year

Felt like half his possessions were lazy kicks off the deck
Our injury list was larger than was published.

Just a lot of blokes were being rolled out to make it to the finish line, in true hinkley fashion he preferred turning people to glue instead of getting them booked in

Yeah, I know.

A good mix of general forwards is definitely needed. It is very hard to get high quality guys. I want forwards who can kick goals but yeah, they should be able to do other things.

It was one of the bizarre Hinkley traits. He seemed to like attacking defenders and defensive forwards.

As I've said, I don't think we've got a lot of goal kicking talent and creativity with the general forward we've got but we will see how we go. You never know who pops up.
If we can get Luko and Marshall on the park I think you'll see a considerable difference and it will help smaller forwards as well. Not to mention a new playing style.

I think Carr will play a contested style of game. I don't think the defensive line will be as quite as high as Hinkley. I think there will be a focus on winning the loose ball and to try and get a winning advantage in the midfield. I don't expect to see JHF, Bergman or Butters playing up forward much at all.

I think the defence will play a more accountable style and I don't think we will try and force a plus one in defense I think if somebody goes plus one in defence we will go plus one at the stoppage. So we might not see as much Aliir and Rat taking intercept marks.

I might be wrong but that's what I'm expecting to see.

If we can get Luko and Marshall on the park I think you'll see a considerable difference and it will help smaller forwards as well. Not to mention a new playing style.

I think Carr will play a contested style of game. I don't think the defensive line will be as quite as high as Hinkley. I think there will be a focus on winning the loose ball and to try and get a winning advantage in the midfield. I don't expect to see JHF, Bergman or Butters playing up forward much at all.

I think the defence will play a more accountable style and I don't think we will try and force a plus one in defense I think if somebody goes plus one in defence we will go plus one at the stoppage. So we might not see as much Aliir and Rat taking intercept marks.

I might be wrong but that's what I'm expecting to see.

I worry about Aliir and Rat being forced to defend one on one. It is not either of their strengths. Though Rat actually showed some improvement in that regard this year.

Yeah, I know.

The teams that all made the prelims this year have multiple small forwards that kick goals and create goals. We don’t.

Apparently we are aggressively behind doors trying to get a small forward. If we do this - I’m still on the Rozee go forward bandwagon, Richards, Berry, and a midfield rotation spot.

I’d send DBJ back to be a lockdown small defender, and SPP into the midfield (and that forward spot).

The teams that all made the prelims this year have multiple small forwards that kick goals and create goals. We don’t.

Apparently we are aggressively behind doors trying to get a small forward. If we do this - I’m still on the Rozee go forward bandwagon, Richards, Berry, and a midfield rotation spot.

I’d send DBJ back to be a lockdown small defender, and SPP into the midfield (and that forward spot).
I loved that Geelong team with Stevie Johnson, Mark Chapman and to a lesser extent, Matthew Stokes, Travis Varcoe and just for the fun of it, Selwood or Bartel.

Rozee might be the answer up front but unfortunately he is the answer down back as well.

I hope we pick up Latrelle or grab a guy trading.

We need some guys but Cockers and Mackinley have some potential. Even Barrett.

Considering we tried to address it last year, it is still perilous at best. Zac Bailey would really help out. He'd be a number one and role everyone down a pay grade.

I loved that Geelong team with Stevie Johnson, Mark Chapman and to a lesser extent, Matthew Stokes, Travis Varcoe and just for the fun of it, Selwood or Bartel.

Rozee might be the answer up front but unfortunately he is the answer down back as well.

I hope we pick up Latrelle or grab a guy trading.

We need some guys but Cockers and Mackinley have some potential. Even Barrett.

Considering we tried to address it last year, it is still perilous at best. Zac Bailey would really help out. He'd be a number one and role everyone down a pay grade.
I reckon the game has changed. All the good sides have more fit, faster, players who can make space, and good players on the outside and up forward, who can convert.

Geelong, Hawks, Collingwood, even Adelaide this year. All good at transition. And the game is becoming more about team plays to make space, and convert like soccer and basketball.

This differs to defensive press, contested somewhat chaos game, the Brisbane, Carlton, Port Adelaide styles. Brisbane can still do it, cause their list is stacked.

it’s all about ground ball, transition and breaking even at stoppage. If the AFL goes to ‘no throw ins’ at boundary, it will go even further this way.

It’s kind of bruise free footy. Less tiring through hits and more running patterns and plays.

Anyway rant over. Would love Bailey.

List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft