List Mgmt. 2026 Draft and Trade Thread

Ginbey started out as a mid, went back becuse it's WC. AT 191 cm I'd be happy to take him IF we lost Chad. Would rather keep the chad of course

Re McLean
Personally I would like to see him rotated into the side. He is a solid player and can play a role this year along with the other three.

Not relevant to this year’s draft, but:

* Troy Warner has been selected in the WA state 16’s

* Lachlan Sheldrick is in the extended WA state 18’s squad (despite being only 16)

Both will debut for the Swans in 2029.
🤞

* Lachlan Sheldrick is in the extended WA state 18’s squad (despite being only 16)

Is Warner there as an underager? I read on the draft board that he’s not eligible for the draft until 2029.

I reckon we should give up the Swans Academy for exclusive rights to Claremont players.

Now that I hear that McCreery is being sounded out by Tassie you have to wonder who they might be targeting from our list.

To borrow a phrase from Twomey, who is ‘gettable’ from our club that we’d probably be eager to lock away for the next few years before Tassie get their chance?

If McInerney hadn’t been signed up in February he would’ve been the first one I’d be worried about.

Now that I hear that McCreery is being sounded out by Tassie you have to wonder who they might be targeting from our list.

To borrow a phrase from Twomey, who is ‘gettable’ from our club that we’d probably be eager to lock away for the next few years before Tassie get their chance?

If McInerney hadn’t been signed up in February he would’ve been the first one I’d be worried about.

That would be Amartey

Then McLean

2027: McCartin, Grundy (maybe?), JJ

2028: Gulden, Heeney

I think of the uncontracted ones next year Sheldrick, Roberts, JJ, and McCartin would be most at risk of getting completely disproportionate offers from Tasmania that we can't get near.

Looking at someone like McCreery and offering him a big deal, worries me a lot more than if they were going to waste all their extra space chasing Daicos or Darcy.
They're going to need a minimum of 32 AFL standard players, most of whom they'll have to pay at least slight overs for, and they'll have to build a balanced list. Ideally they'd get a Tasmanian-born star player (who?) and at least one other top level import. McCreery is a mid-level player, not a star, and they'll need a fair few at that level plus role players. There's a big risk of not having enough experience and leadership across the park. A couple of Luke Parker types would be ideal. Hard to move with a family though.
Without a coach announced the degree of attractiveness is a big unknown. McCreery wouldn't get it done. Gawn would (for instance).

They're going to need a minimum of 32 AFL standard players, most of whom they'll have to pay at least slight overs for, and they'll have to build a balanced list. Ideally they'd get a Tasmanian-born star player (who?) and at least one other top level import. McCreery is a mid-level player, not a star, and they'll need a fair few at that level plus role players. There's a big risk of not having enough experience and leadership across the park. A couple of Luke Parker types would be ideal. Hard to move with a family though.
Without a coach announced the degree of attractiveness is a big unknown. McCreery wouldn't get it done. Gawn would (for instance).

I dunno if McCreery is a great example of the kind of player I would be targeting if I was Tasmania, but he isn't far from it.

It would basically be players under 25 who would get games in every team, but no one is going to offer them a million a season. You could potentially go a little older and higher with the contract depending on the player (i.e. Tom McCartin).

They should be in a position with their extra space and having a completely clean cap to start with, to bring in about 12-15 players like that and make them the core of your first team along with any draft picks and veterans they can bring in.

Someone like Darcy Wilmot at Brisbane. Everyone agrees he is a really good player, but would anyone actually offer him a massive contract and want to make him captain. Probably not. But that is the kind of player I'd be going for, and we have a few of them unfortunately.

I dunno if McCreery is a great example of the kind of player I would be targeting if I was Tasmania, but he isn't far from it.

It would basically be players under 25 who would games in every team, but no one is going to offer them a million a season. You could potentially go a little older and higher with the contract depending on the player (i.e. Tom McCartin).

They should be in a position with their extra space and having a completely clean cap to start with, to bring in about 12-15 players like that and make them the core of your first team along with any draft picks and veterans you can bring in.

Someone like Darcy Wilmot at Brisbane. Everyone agrees he is a really good player, but would anyone actually offer him a massive contract and want to make him captain. Probably not. But that is the kind of player I'd be going for, and we have a few of them unfortunately.
They will need a few like McCartin to try to start out with a decent spine. At least one in each line with good experience in a solid club (ie not Essendon except Caddy). One or two experienced smaller players with high standards to help drive those. That sort of stuff.

The money is the key issue.

I am sure they would love to have Caddy, he'd be perfect. But even with all their cap space, is their offer going to be that dramatically different from what Essendon could offer. They should have heaps of cap space as well.

Roberts is the one I would worry about from us the most, given his improvement this year.

It would basically be players under 25 who would games in every team, but no one is going to offer them a million a season. You could potentially go a little older and higher with the contract depending on the player (i.e. Tom McCartin).

They should be in a position with their extra space and having a completely clean cap to start with, to bring in about 12-15 players like that and make them the core of your first team along with any draft picks and veterans you can bring in.

I wonder what Israel Folau and Carmichael Hunt are doing these days?

The money is the key issue.

I am sure they would love to have Caddy, he'd be perfect. But even with all their cap space, is their offer going to be that dramatically different from what Essendon could offer. They should have heaps of cap space as well.

Roberts is the one I would worry about from us the most, given his improvement this year.
I wouldn't mind guessing that all 4 that you mentioned would give the Swans last crack so it will come down to place, career and $ in balance. But like I said, might be tough to keep them all.
Edit: Caddy might welcome a change of scene.