Sacramento Kings
I think its time we started off a thread don't you??????:p

New coach, new freshness, new ideas (hopefully) 28 players to choose from and I still think Melbourne will win.

I doubt there would be many changes from the side that took on the WB. Torney for Smart is the obvious change.

I would like to try Rutten at FB on Neitz. Can't do any harm.

Thoughts??????

Neitz on Rutten would work well because Neitz does not have very good pace off the mark like some other FF's do. I think Rutten could nearly match him in body strength, and it would be a really good opportunity to assert Ruts and his future in this club.

Torney for Smart obviously, if Ladhams pulls up okay from the weekend he might be given a go.

Perhaps Jericho may be the only omission, and I for one would not want that.

And don't be surprised to see one or two of our "back up" players given a shot. According to Craig he wants to see if these players have what it takes.

My tip...Melbourne by 27 points. And even that would be a good result for us.

Agree Torney for Smart. Don't underestimate the value of an enthusiastic, committed, team approach. We'll win by 16 points.

Lets get behind them, it's been too quiet for too long at home, these kids need support. 37,000 for Nigel was pathetic - turn up and barrack. Wins, confidence, & development of our young guys now is better than the difference between a #3 or #6 draft pick.

Would return either Hentschel to the backline or even try Bock back there in place of Smart.

Without Stevo, bring in Perrie to play CHF, allowing Watts to play on a flank & Welsh to stay at FF.

Would like to see both JT & Ladhams back in the side, but not too many deserve to be dropped after the last game. As already mentioned, perhaps Jericho (to return later in the year). reckon we should be resting Stinger too so he can recover from OP.

Originally posted by Bockchoy67
Neitz on Rutten would work well because Neitz does not have very good pace off the mark like some other FF's do. I think Rutten could nearly match him in body strength

yep, ah ha wateva

neitz would take him to the cleaners in the strength division and is very quick off the mark

look at most of his goals this year, come from judging the play well and outrunning his defender to mark and goal

F Watts Welsh Skipworth
HF Johncock Hentschel Jericho
C Doughty Ricciuto Reilly
HB Torney McGregor Edwards
B Bassett Rutten Shirley
R Clarke McLeod Bode

Int Biglands Bock Mattner Gallagher

In: Gallagher
Out: Stenglein (OP break?)

It's not that bad a line-up, though I would possibly like McGregor at FB, Hentschel at CHB and Rutten at CHF or FF.

If Stenglein needs a break, then give himone. Gallagher needs a couple more games before we make a final decision.

F: Edwards, Welsh, Skipworth
HF: Johncock, Perrie, Watts
C: Doughty, Ricciuto, Reilly
HB: Mattner, Rutten, Hentschel
B: Bassett, McGregor, Torney
R: Clarke, Bode, McLeod
I: Biglands, Bock, Shirley, Ladhams

IN: Perrie, Torney, Ladhams
OUT: Smart, Stenglein, Jericho

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Not a bad team...

Perrie would add some strength to our forward line. However, it would be one of very few chances left for Perrie to prove himself.

Ladhams deserves a chance and has performed well in the SANFL as of late. Expect him to come in for Jericho/Stenglein.

Knowing the Crows' respect for Stenglein, I fail to see him missing this game, despite his rumoured Osteitis.

I am under the impession that Ladhams is injured. Either that or he had an absolute stinker (6 possesions) last week. Either way he doesn't deserve a game.

I think Perrie will cop an suspension for his punch up with Andrews.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I am under the impession that Ladhams is injured. Either that or he had an absolute stinker (6 possesions) last week. Either way he doesn't deserve a game.

I think Perrie will cop an suspension for his punch up with Andrews.

Ladhams twisted an ankle and I doubt that he'll be available.

Perrie got reported by 2 umpires so I can't see him getting less than a couple.

Rutten on Neitz would be absolute suicide. Neitz is quick over the first few metres.

I doubt that we have enough depth left to pick a winning side, but that's irrelevant.

I'll be happy if they achieve what Craig says is the first priority - for all players to be fiercely competitive.

I doubt there will be more that 1 or 2 changes. Torney looks to be the obvious one. I think Smith could come in if they promote him.

He won't get promoted unless he will play the game this week.

I doubt there will be more that 1 or 2 changes. Torney looks to be the obvious one. I think Smith could come in if they promote him.

He won't get promoted unless he will play the game this week.

Torney for Smart is a given IMO.

If Smith is promoted, who would be dropped for him?

Probably Jericho :confused:

I hope not.

Jericho needs these games to adjust to the higher standard of AFL, and he IS a talent of the future, whereas Smith probably isn't.

Who else could Smith displace?

Smith was on Channel 10 being interviewed tonight.

10 suggested it was between him and Parker for one elevation.

Smith was sayin how he was 'definitely ready' and that the past 3 years he knows he wasn't ready for a game but has put all that behind him and had put on a lot of (muscle) weight in the pre-season and this season and was ready for an AFL game.

Originally posted by macca23
Not sure because last game was a case of everyone played well. Jericho would probably be in danger because he had limited game time.

We all know Jezza will be around next year. I wouldn't have a problem with Smith being given 9 games to prove to the hierarchy that he is good enough for AFL. Players his size are usually late developers so I am hoping he is one of those :). If he can prove us all wrong and become a FB we are all craving for then it would solve a fair bit of problems for us and give us more options come trade week.

*Stiffy goes to pray*;)

Only one change this week IMO and it is the most obvious one...

IN: Torney OUT: Smart (retired)

agree however tho if Smith is elevated from the rookie list then Jericho could be displaced!

i think we'll start pretty well on Sunday, and to win it will take a spirited and committed effort from all the boys on the park...28 players to choose from limits us no question, but i think we can still cause an upset! having said that and being realistic, Melbourne should win and will IMO in a close one...

My Tip: Melb 15pts

i'll be there getting behind the boys, lets get a big crowd to AAMI!!

Ladhams twisted an ankle and I doubt that he'll be available.

Perrie got reported by 2 umpires so I can't see him getting less than a couple.

While Ladhams is still doubtful with an ankle, quite amazingly Perrie and Andrew both escaped with a reprimand.

Perrie's back in contention now, and should be a genuine chance for selection.

Probably would need to come in for a similar type player such as Bock.

If Ladhams is unavailable due to injury, then Jericho would get to keep his spot in the side I picked earlier.

I think the Crows will make just 1 change this week. Torney for Smart.

However, I'd like to see Gags given 1 more shot in favour of either Doughty, Shirley or Jericho.

I think we can beat the Demons, as long as we hold Green & Bruce who seem to be Neitz's biggest suppliers.

By the way, after the Smart/Carey retirements, the Crows are no longer the "Dad's Army" of the AFL.

That mantle now belongs to our crosstown wannabes Portz.

The Power currently have 9 players on their list that are either over-30 or turn 30 next year! Interesting times ahead for Chocco and the Chipheads. You don't ever hear Rucci go on about Port's aging list?

The 3 current oldest squads-:

Port 24.49 average age
Lions 24.45
Crows 24.36

The 3 youngest-:

Collingwood 22.68
Geelong 22.70
Fremantle 22.74

F: Biglands, Welsh, Edwards

HB: Mattner, Mcgregor, Rutten

B: Torney, Bassett, Hentschel

I: Skippy, Bock, Shirley, Gags

IN: Perrie, Torney, Gags

Torney for Smart is my pick, maaaaaybe Gallagher for Stenglein if he doesnt come up.

I'm actually going to back the crows here, often, after a change of coach mid-season the team wins, it is at home, Melbourne arent as good as we all think (hope). When is it again? Sunday arvo? If so, then weather should be ok, bulk of showers will be on saturday etc, sunday cloudy, odd spot perhaps not too bad, fresh breeze across the ground.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Like this line-up & definitely would play Perrie at chf for a few games straight to see (for the last time) what he can do.

Torney should never have been dropped in the first place & was very harshly dealt with by the coaching panel.

If Stenglein is suffering from op then give him the time off that is needed,

McGregor has played his best footy at chb & i would be a little reluctant to put him at fb on Neitz to start with so would give that Bassett first crack on Neitz.

Can Biglands run with White for most of the game. ??

Crows to cause an upset & win by 11 points.:)