Multiplat AFL Evolution 2

• Thread starter Thread starter dwwaino

Finally got around to uploading some videos.

Rough day at the office here, pummeled the Saints, outplayed them all over the ground, Fogzilla leads the possession count and kicks a couple of snags. Unfortunately just couldn't jag a single Brownlow vote after doubling their score though.

Just had an epic match against the bombers at the Dome. See saw affair, dees finally hit the lead with 4mins to go, and just held on.
Gawn had a Barry crocker (I don't play as ruckman, always change to a rover), Neal Bullen probably went at 10% disposal efficiency, and Tippenwoodie(?) kicked 4.4 and nearly single-handedly won them the match - two of those misses were on the run 30m out on the angle in the fourth.
Pretty even stats, fairly happy with where I've got my sliders. Playing on 7.5min quarters.
20200415_115608.jpg
20200415_115436.jpg
20200415_115623.jpg

You're going to rattle off Richard E Grant's movies and not list his magnum opus, Spiceworld?

I like Spiceworld. A fun film. Then again I also really like Hudson Hawk, which REG hated and was an absolute box office flop!

I love that the bloke from TruBlu thinks we care about sale number specifics and doesn’t even give any response to the questions about the current game that this thread is actually about

And yet the Big Ant guy is telling us to utilise his presence here. Yep, Tru Blu seems really interested in improving the game :think:

You're not sorry, thanks for that :) (Edit: FFS - who do you think only allowed us two songs to work with! {and it was actually three....})

You've had a great outcome, you've got the main man that dictates the future of AFL games on your forum.
But but but

Muh sales!!!!

Tipungwuti is a little god mode campaigner. Every time i play the Bombers he wins every contest he's in on the flank.

Also, if anyone is looking for a real midfield pig you can run around with and rack them up all day without getting benched and disappearing, Jack Macrae is your man. Finished a 5 min quarters game with him last night on 25 touches and 2 goals.

Interesting that with a passionate community here just frothing to give them feedback, they're more concerned with debating over sales numbers.

Mmmm, yeah, it's kinda sad really. Seems like both developers have taken a leaf out of EA's book and are concentrating more on sales - which ARE important obviously - rather than gameplay and what the users want.

“ AFL and Channel 7 consider introducing canned crowd noises into games when footy returns - the noises would follow the flow of the game, rising and decreasing in volume depending on the scoreline and tension.”

I’m gonna be so mad if channel 7 get this right and we’re stuck with the god awful crowd noise on this game

“ AFL and Channel 7 consider introducing canned crowd noises into games when footy returns - the noises would follow the flow of the game, rising and decreasing in volume depending on the scoreline and tension.”

I’m gonna be so mad if channel 7 get this right and we’re stuck with the god awful crowd noise on this game

They should use Evo 2 crowd reactions

Jordan Gallucci: "Can't wait to fire up Evo 2 and see my character."

giphy.gif

AFL Evo 2:

07C1Jg2.jpg

Tipungwuti is a little god mode campaigner. Every time i play the Bombers he wins every contest he's in on the flank.

Also, if anyone is looking for a real midfield pig you can run around with and rack them up all day without getting benched and disappearing, Jack Macrae is your man. Finished a 5 min quarters game with him last night on 25 touches and 2 goals.

Is there a big difference in players like that in the game? If I used Scott Pendlebury rather than Macrae would he have less of an influence no matter who’s controlling him?

Is their a way to keep in the circle for marking/punching ? My player in control just seems to wander off

Is there a big difference in players like that in the game? If I used Scott Pendlebury rather than Macrae would he have less of an influence no matter who’s controlling him?

I reckon there is. It's pretty hard to tell who's got it in the middle of live play, but when I go to the stats I see the good players right up there.
What I did this game (and last) is boost the top tier players - above their standard ratings.

I wanna be in awe/anger at dustin, danger, buddy, de goey doing what they do best.
And the freak speedsters, they get top speed and acceleration - makes the likes of tippenwoodie, rioli, al most uncatchable. One thing this game could use by default is more contrast (and this effectively does that).

Also spent time lowering the speed and acceleration of most ruckmen and big forwards.
Next I will try to raise their stamina or whatever its called of the rucks in the hope they are rotated less (a bit unrealistic, but would make for a more accurate game).

Another thing I do, as I pretty much only play as the dees is drastically turn down the kicking accuracy of my B grade brigade. Same goes for goal kicking accuracy for non forwards (and those notorious with missing) and kicking distances for short people like Spargo (he quite literally can't kick 40m, and now he can't in the game either).
I legit want spazs and list claggers to infuriate and entertain me.

You've had a great outcome, you've got the main man that dictates the future of AFL games on your forum.
:handpointup: This!!!

Sebastian Giompaolo we, as the most passionate AFL video game community, want the best possible games...irrespective of who makes them.
Would just be nice to know our voices are being heard and are being addressed (something that BigAntStudios was great with during AFL Live)

I want to float this idea... which definitely could mean a ‘too many cooks in the kitchen’ scenario.. but...it’d be really cool to have a ‘working group’ on this... like a good (smallish) set of people from this community, who know how to articulate opinions, report bugs, offer solutions... helping to collate the greater community feedback into constructive, usable info for the developers.

You're not sorry, thanks for that :) (Edit: FFS - who do you think only allowed us two songs to work with! {and it was actually three....})

I actually don't want to get involved! Couldn't leave that meme go begging though. Your Live game was the last AFL game I played so I honestly forget the soundtrack now. The local 2v2 games I used to play with mates over beers after watching the footy was still unforgettable though.

In all seriousness, I have often wished we had more presence from our local developers here and I often stress this to the site's admin. As gamers on a sporting community we would be your core audience. Though I understand why we don't get the pleasure as some of the natives can be pretty hostile and I probably wouldn't bother either lol.

it’d be really cool to have a ‘working group’ on this... like a good (smallish) set of people from this community, who know how to articulate opinions, report bugs, offer solutions... helping to collate the greater community feedback into constructive, usable info for the developers.
Sebastian Giompaolo
Free* research/bug reporting for you, known involvement for us, better games for everyone.

*payment by way of having our commentary names in the game accepted :)

Hello Ross, please don't try to divert the conversation , my post is about this part "NPD sales data has AFL Live as the #1 grossing AFL game of all time". Firstly, I feel (maybe I'm wrong) that the average person when he/she reads "best seller", say a book or game, they think of the number of books or games sold(eg. sales exceeded 1 million copies, etc.). When people talk about " the best grossing movie or game " they talk about the dollar value or its revenue, your comment was referring to best seller. However, assuming that for one moment that I'm going along with you and best seller /best grossing are the same, I would have to ask how would NPD know my sales? They have ( or maybe had) a few retailers reporting their numbers and your information is based on this, seriously? Did you know that for a period of time EB refused to supply their sales figures and NPD ( I think at the time they were called GFK) took a guess at it? Does NPD include digital download sales? What % of sales were digital downloads when we released AFL Live compared to AFL Evolution? What year did NPD start gathering data? I have been in business since 1982 and I'm suggesting that there has been other AFL games which sold in greater numbers and had greater revenue than AFL Live or AFL Evolution. If you want to compare AFL Live sales and AFL Evolution sales which I'm sure its all you are interested, I only have on hand sales up to Feb 29, 2020 and AFL Live was beating Evolution only by 167 pcs, so I wouldn't go bragging too much. Its likely that by the time you made your comment a few days ago, sales of Evolution would have surpassed Live and your statement is false. As for the comparison, its hard to compare apples with oranges but for the sake of the exercise , I have compared the total sales numbers of AFL Live PS3/X360 (digital and retail) to sales of AFL Evolution PS4/XB1 (digital and retail) . I would appreciate , if you would retract your comment about "best seller" as its likely to be misleading and deceptive. We can then close this matter , continue to respect each other and if we survive COVID, we can have lunch.

You have an entire board full of passionate AFL game fans who have a great number of very reasonable suggestions and bug fixes that would improve your already enjoyable game greatly.

Congrats on the sales data dick measuring, but we’re all desperate for Evo 2 to be the undisputed best footy game ever. Unsolicited advice from me, a nobody on an internet forum, but if you engage with this community good things will happen.

Still, We have two members of the Australian Video Game community and the only ones running Australian Video Game Publishing Houses having a pissing contest over who's game is the best when honestly these games are mediocre at best. If we want to actually judge without applying a curve, AFL Live 2011 and AFL Evolution 2 are piss poor compared to their compatriots in the Sports Games community. If we're that proud about these games that are 6/10 at best that we have to have a AFL Game Civil War in an internet forum, We're all pathetic.

Honestly, If this is what we have got. We are never getting a good AFL game period and we should honestly dash that dream and just end it here. If this is the end of the road, It's time to hang it up and move on to something else. This is a waste of everybody's time. I hope the AFL sees this and ends their involvement in Video Games here. Because this is an absolute joke.

Thank you and good night!
I'm out of here.
AFL live one had allot of flaws but Big Ant never got the chance to iron them out.

WW have had 5 games now and the best thing you can say about any of their games is there’s a spare man in defence you switch to.

As the Bombers try to mount a comeback in the last quarter, they find Jake Stringer loose on the back flank. However, Stringer decides this is the perfect time to turn heel and do the football equivalent of tearing off your shirt to reveal an nWo shirt underneath. In a virtual middle finger to the Bombers faithful, he just pumps it out on the full back where it came from to give the Crows the chance the seal the game.