Preview AFLW 2018 R2 v Fremantle (Saturday, 10th Feb, 7.10pm (EDT) / 4.10pm (WST), @ Optus (Perth) Stadium)

AFLW - R2 | FREMANTLE vs COLLINGWOOD

DATE: Saturday 10th February
GATES OPEN: 2.30pm (WST)
FIRST BOUNCE: 7.10pm (EDT) / 4.10pm (WST)
WHERE: Optus Stadium, Perth
ADMISSION: $2 (over 40,000 tickets already pre-sold), proceeds to Starlight Foundation and Fremantle Dockers Foundation
TICKETING INFO: http://www.afl.com.au/tickets/onsale-dates or via ticketmaster

PARKING: n/a - https://optusstadium.com.au/getting-here/
PUBLIC TRANSPORT: https://optusstadium.com.au/getting-here/public-transport/

TV: http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches/broadcastguide
Live on: Fox, 7mate (excluding Brisbane), AFL app

CLUB INFO:

LAST TIME:

2017 Round 5 - Mandurah
http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches/match-centre?matchid=100640503&competitionid=10064

Fremantle 2.1 2.1 4.2 4.7 31
Collingwood 3.0 4.1 5.1 5.2 32

PREVIEW:

Last week was a fair case of history repeating... Garner kicked the season opener and the result didn't go our way. Unlike last year though we stood tall when the blues again looked like running over the top. Not only were we able to scrap our way back into the contest, but we had the better of the play for much of the last 3 quarters. Pleasingly it's evident that we've further developed our style over the offseason with our run and carry and ability to find space on the outside much improved.

Without doubt a huge part of this is due to debutant Molloy who amassed a Collingwood high disposal tally. In defence we looked to pass the ball to Molloy at every opportunity and she proved dominant as our main outlet moving the ball from defence. Hutchins eventual return and strong kicking will only strengthen our ability to clear defence and move the footy especially with the last touch rule in place for 2018. Although I suspect Molloy will settle down back for 2018 another backline outlet may well allow her to spend more minutes forward. As seen very late against Carlton Molloy certainly straightened us up and provided a much need spark when swung forward. Fremantle will likely put more work into Molloy this week and if it me were I'd make use of a defensive forward.

Although lacking the dominance of Molloy I also thought Lambert our other big recruit played a good game through the middle.

Unfortunately though our forward line again had little impact as we struggled with the blues extra numbers down back coupled with poor kicking and some bad clangers (not being able to capitalise when we found space running back towards goal in the last quarter comes to mind). It was consistently reported that our game last week was the uglier of all displays for the round, a point that 'pies assistant Harford agreed with.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-02-07/aflw-we-were-garbage-admits-pies-assistant
"We were garbage, which didn't help. We tried to get the ball into free space a lot and just kept turning the ball over," Harford said.

"(We) couldn't pick it up, couldn't mark it and all of a sudden you get a pack of numbers swarming on the ball, so we played a fair part in that as a team.

"Then you've got the way Carlton played, with a bit more of a defensive structure behind the ball. Putting that together, you get a pretty nasty product."

Saturday night in front of a near capacity and near certain record breaking crowd may well turn out to the be a battle of struggling forward lines as Fremantle for their part last week limited their goal kicking to just the third quarter (kicking 3 goals) further only taking 3 marks inside forward 50 for the game.

The affect of the knee jerk rule changes AFL initiatives on scoring and individual team structure may well shape this rounds results. Without Bowers and Gibson last week Fremantle lacked targets inside 50 and while we have a much hyped forward line we've struggled in regards to space and structure. The latter suggests the new imposed zones will benefit us. It's a pity Hope was dropped this week as she's potentially the biggest benefiter to this new rule provided she cleans up her marking on the lead. Losing D'Arcy to suspension will undoubtably hurt in regards to the rule change too, but the return of Duffin will go some way to offsetting this lose as she finished 2017 as one of our better marks and forwards.

Overall I think the signs are there for a better 2018 (and better than I predicted) provided we clean up our ball handling. I just hope the continual AFL tinkering doesn't ruin the season or game.

TEAMS:

COLLINGWOOD

B: Cecilia McIntosh, Iilish Ross, Emma Grant
HB: Chloe Molloy, Stacey Livingstone, Caitlyn Edwards
C: Brittant Bonnici
HF: Christina Bernardi, Jess Duffin, Steph Chiocci
F: Lauren Tesoriero, Jasmine Garner, Melissa Kuys
R: Emma King, Jaimee Lambert, Amelia Barden

I/C: Holly Whitford, Eliza Hynes, Sophie Casey, Tara Morgan, Bree White

EMG:
Ruby Schleicher, Kristy Stratton

IN: Jess Duffin, Tara Morgan, Lauren Tesoriero, Holly Whitford
OUT: Sarah D'Arcy (suspended), Sarah Dargan, Moana Hope, Ruby Schleicher

NEW: Holly Whitford (19, Gippsland U18)

FREMANTLE

B: Hayley Miller, Alex Williams, Evie Gooch
HB: Ashley Sharp, Cassie Davidson, Gabby O'Sullivan
C: Dana Hooker
HF: Lisa Webb, Amy Lavell, Ebony Antonio
F: Mel Caulfield, Stacey Barr, Ashlee Atkins
R: Alicia Janz, Stephanie Cain, Kara Donnellan

I/C: Belinda Smith, Gemma Houghton, Leah Mascall, Jodie White, Lara Filocamo (late in)

EMG: Tiah Haynes, Tayla McAuliffe

IN: Gemma Houghton, Lisa Webb
OUT: Tiah Haynes, Brianna Green (late out - inj.)

NEW: Lisa Webb (32, Coastal Titans)

R2 AFL MEMO/DIRECTIVE/GUIDANCE/INITIATIVE (NOT A RULE CHANGE):

UNOFFICIAL ZONING IS HERE:
  • 5-6-5 formation (5 defence, 6 midfield, 5 forward) at all centre ball ups (start of quarter/after goal).
    • No free kick not having these formations
    • Umpire will not commence play until the structures are in place
  • 15-metre space protected space on the attacking side of midfield stoppages
    • Umpires will "communicate" with players about this protected area
  • General intent to hold forwards back from stoppages - ideally some forwards remaining inside 50 for between arc stoppages
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2018/02/07/aflw-alterations-aren't-rule-changes-says-women's-footy-boss/

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/womens...se-zones-to-open-up-play-20180207-h0vk6j.html

Better play expected

should be a good gauge of where we're at. D'Arcy will be missed but hopefully Hutchins, Brazil and Parker are pushing for selection to offset that to some degree. Really keen to see how Brazil and Parker go this year.

We really missed Hutchins last Friday. Will make a difference if she returns.

Knee jerk reaction in the form a memo from Steve Hocking to clubs, effective immediately. Nicole Livingstone described it as a directive, guidance and initiative on SEN this arvo, however she was adamant that it's not a rule change.

Basically unofficial zoning is now in place:
  • 5-6-5 formation (5 defence, 6 midfield, 5 forward) at all centre ball ups (start of quarter/after goal).
  • General intent to hold forwards back from stoppages - ideally some forwards remaining inside 50 for between arc stoppages
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/womens...se-zones-to-open-up-play-20180207-h0vk6j.html

copy of memo said:
043f28fae09e82cc9fd1c6b1d6c01970
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/je...n/news-story/4bce24d5624c10bf0b99d34062f10ab0

Knee jerk reaction in the form a memo from Steve Hocking to clubs, effective immediately. Nicole Livingstone described it as a directive, guidance and initiative on SEN this arvo, however she was adamant that it's not a rule change.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/je...n/news-story/4bce24d5624c10bf0b99d34062f10ab0

So the AFL again has just Changed Stuff on the Fly Again for the Sake of It

Turning the AFLW into a reality gameshow?

(Face of Shock) “You won’t believe the new daring challenges that the contestants will face this week, tune in to watch this week’s exciting episode of AFLW!”

LOL’ed at the “Spirit of the game” rubbish.

This is the same game (albeit men’s version) where players are coached to give away deliberate free kicks to hold up play, where players were giving up deliberate 15m penalties (back in the day) because they could turn it to advantage, where players sledge, where players pinch, where players were giving their opposition ‘tummy taps’ when they could get away with it.

The stakes are high. People’s jobs and livelihoods are on the line. The pride of footy clubs representing whole societies is at stake.

Is you is or is you ain’t a rule?

If you is, then weigh up the advantage versus the risk of getting caught and the penalty.

If you ain’t, then hovering above is a whopping big cherry red arrow being ridden bareback by the text “Exploit me!!!”

(No, life is not cynical ... but this is the footy field where the only thing stopping chaos, anarchy and ‘Lord of the Flies’ is a few folks in yellow carrying around a whistle and a rulebook)

Why can't they just let the game evolve FFS. I think we'll see improvement in scoring and general play each week through the season in much the same way we did last year.

Hope dropped. I'm not surprised. She has been pretty disappointing. Was expecting her to be a lot better this year after looking so fit. Hopefully this is the kick she needs.
Obviously it was bound to happen but she did put in the work over the off-season. She seems like a strong person mentally, hopefully she bounces back ASAP.

Still no Brazil :(
Or Hutchins.

B: Cecilia McIntosh, Iilish Ross, Emma Grant
HB: Chloe Molloy, Stacey Livingstone, Caitlyn Edwards
C: Brittant Bonnici
HF: Christina Bernardi, Jess Duffin, Steph Chiocci
F: Lauren Tesoriero, Jasmine Garner, Melissa Kuys
R: Emma King, Jaimee Lambert, Amelia Barden

I/C: Holly Whitford, Eliza Hynes, Sophie Casey, Tara Morgan, Bree White

EMG: Ruby Schleicher, Kristy Stratton

IN: Jess Duffin, Tara Morgan, Lauren Tesoriero, Holly Whitford