Bruce and Junior?

Melbourne Storm
5 rounds into the season, what's the feeling among the supporters on how the team are going without these two veterans?

Personally, I feel the tough stance by the club has been justified already! Both Tapscott and Gysberts probably wouldn't be getting crucial senior game experience if Bruce and Junior were playing. and I feel both those youngsters have proven that they will be solid players for us.

Bail has also taken on a new role vacated by Junior. The tagger! He's been solid so far this season and with Junior in the team, we may not have seen this side of Bail's game. Plus, when McKenzie is back fit, we have 2 players now who can fill that role left behind by Junior. And as far as Bruce goes, he's certainly not setting the world on fire at the Hawks. In fact, I'd say he's on the brink of being dropped if his form doesn't improve. Still looks too slow, disposal is average and at 32, isn't getting any younger!

I know a few on here voiced there opinions, good and bad on letting these two champs go last season. Just wondering if anyone has changed there minds???

Bruce was the right decision. Hard to gauge with Junior. He'd be a great leader to have around the clinches, in the stoppages, at 3QT etc.

Having said that, his spot is now up for grabs and it means we can blood more youth.

I just wish we'd handled the Junior situation better. I'm pissed off at the club about that.

Bruce is looking like a better & better decision. Even if he improves, it wasn't that we didn't want him, it's that we didn't want to give him a 2 year deal. Looks like at the moment that his renowned fitness is slipping, he'll be cactus next year.

Junior, was handled badly. And nothing will ever change that, the club have even admitted as much. But with a mostly fit list & 2 midfielders on the injury list including one that that plays very similar to Junior, seems like it was the right decision.

It was nice to be able to watch Bruce on TV against the Cats putting in a pretty uninspired and uninspiring effort without being emotionally caught up by it. I think he would be driving us crazy if he was still turning it over for the dee's playing the loose man in defence. Same goes for Brad Miller, although Pia has been a tremendous loss to the club.

On Bruce's current form, his performance would not be able to justify the type of contract he was seeking.

I am still against MFC's decision to sack Junior.

Bruce was the right decision. Hard to gauge with Junior. He'd be a great leader to have around the clinches, in the stoppages, at 3QT etc.

Having said that, his spot is now up for grabs and it means we can blood more youth.

I just wish we'd handled the Junior situation better. I'm pissed off at the club about that.

Spot on mate.

5 rounds into the season, what's the feeling among the supporters on how the team are going without these two veterans?

Personally, I feel the tough stance by the club has been justified already! Both Tapscott and Gysberts probably wouldn't be getting crucial senior game experience if Bruce and Junior were playing. and I feel both those youngsters have proven that they will be solid players for us.

Bail has also taken on a new role vacated by Junior. The tagger! He's been solid so far this season and with Junior in the team, we may not have seen this side of Bail's game. Plus, when McKenzie is back fit, we have 2 players now who can fill that role left behind by Junior. And as far as Bruce goes, he's certainly not setting the world on fire at the Hawks. In fact, I'd say he's on the brink of being dropped if his form doesn't improve. Still looks too slow, disposal is average and at 32, isn't getting any younger!

I know a few on here voiced there opinions, good and bad on letting these two champs go last season. Just wondering if anyone has changed there minds???
Yes, and No!

Yes we made the absolute right decision with bruce to go, as we've finished the major rebuild.

No, to Junior Mac, as we are even more juvenile with these changes, so for stabilities sake, we've left ouselves vulnerable.

In the longer term we've done the right thing, But in the shorter term we can see tonight that the footy dept, inc' Bailey, has left the head coach dangling out on a Limb.
We will have some days like these occaisionally through this year. We are about one year behind the Eagles in development, about 2 years behind them in Physical development, and ahead of them on the list potential for the future.

Today we see the result of a selection dilemma, with picking 'skillful players', with barely any games, ahead of more physicaly mature players who may show more Mojo @ the contest.

The end result in the short term is embarassment. Hence the coach out on that Limb.

Should we play all the 'skillfull players', or a stronger blend of players to hit harder?

I suppose it depends on the type of supporter one is. If you want instant gratification, or are prepared to wait to see the bloom in spring.

James McDonald was the heart and soul of our club. The way we shoved him out last year sat very uncomfortably with me. He was one of the few consistent triers we've had for the past decade. His work ethic is sorely lacking from the team this year. Bruce - not so much...

We have nobody setting the example every week and we are poorer for it.

The Junior debacle I feel has seriously damaged the club internally. Much the same way the Shane Woewodin saga hurt us. I reckon Bailey has lost the players.