Preview Changes/Preview round 22 v Carlton

Why are we bringing Tomlinson back in? Wasn't it only last week where everyone was saying 'that's the last I want to see of Tommo?'. Obviously Petty's injury changes things. But I'd rather see Hibberd play on a tall than bring in Tommo.

That was the voices in your head dan.

What do you mean? Why is Grundy so important for match ups?
We’re playing one of the few teams that plays two traditional rucks. Both are workhorses but both in good form. Their plan will undoubtedly be to work Gawn into the ground and leave a bit on him at every contest. All the forward options are shit, so we may as well play the guy who can play 20% of the game in the ruck when Gawn is off or dropping into the defensive hole.

My biggest mare is Gawn at FF blocking JVR’s run and Grundy in the ruck, so it would have to be with Grundy playing 80% forward.

We’re playing one of the few teams that plays two traditional rucks. Both are workhorses but both in good form. Their plan will undoubtedly be to work Gawn into the ground and leave a bit on him at every contest. All the forward options are s**t, so we may as well play the guy who can play 20% of the game in the ruck when Gawn is off or dropping into the defensive hole.

My biggest mare is Gawn at FF blocking JVR’s run and Grundy in the ruck, so it would have to be with Grundy playing 80% forward.

If we are still going to play Gawn 80% time in the ruck I don't see the point. Would rather play Schache over Grundy if the two of them are spending 80% of the time in the forward line.

We’re playing one of the few teams that plays two traditional rucks. Both are workhorses but both in good form. Their plan will undoubtedly be to work Gawn into the ground and leave a bit on him at every contest. All the forward options are s**t, so we may as well play the guy who can play 20% of the game in the ruck when Gawn is off or dropping into the defensive hole.

Don't think it matters tbh. Teams have tried to put a multiple guys on Gawn before and usually just means they overcommit and sacrifice elsewhere.

Gawns weakness is when teams go at him physically but even that has backfired recently.

Jordon is so much worse than Harmes. Harmes' disposal lets him down and he is low on confidence, but JJ is unfortunately a wet lettuce leaf of a footballer.

Screenshot_20230807_212647_Gallery.jpg

The “move defender forward” trick worked real good with Harry Petty. Maybe Goody can makenlightening strike twice?

Put Lever as full forward.
A scheme so crazy it may just work.

Jake combines the agility of Ben Brown, the explosive acceleration of Grundy and the kicking precision of Petracca.

All that's missing are the hands of Chris Dawes

I actually don't feel nervous about this game but for very different reasons from earlier in the season. Earlier in the season Carlton were playing like trash, I had no worries about beating them. This time they are playing like contenders and we could face them later in the year, I think it's a good opportunity to see how we go against a team playing really good footy.

Couldn’t agree with that. Game has gone past Harmes and his turnovers and inability to keep up were terrible on the weekend.

Jordon is a guy who needs to be playing very well by his standards to make a solid contribution at AFL level.

All that's missing are the hands of Chris Dawes

And the competitiveness of Sam Weideman.

Its Alive Quote GIF by Top 100 Movie Quotes of All Time

In - Oliver, Schache, Hibberd
Out - JJ, Petty

Don't think we need a 3rd tall against the Blues as they only have Curnow and a resting Ruck as tall forward options

B - Hibberd, May, Rivers
HB - Salem, Lever, McVee
C - Hunter, Oliver, Langdon
HF - Chandler, Schache, Sparrow
F - Melksham, Van Rooyen, Pickett
FOL - Gawn, Petracca, Brayshaw
INT - ANB, Bowey, Smith, Harmes
SUB - JJ

In - Oliver, Schache, Hibberd
Out - JJ, Petty

Don't think we need a 3rd tall against the Blues as they only have Curnow and a resting Ruck as tall forward options

B - Hibberd, May, Rivers
HB - Salem, Lever, McVee
C - Hunter, Oliver, Langdon
HF - Chandler, Schache, Sparrow
F - Melksham, Van Rooyen, Pickett
FOL - Gawn, Petracca, Brayshaw
INT - ANB, Bowey, Smith, Harmes
SUB - JJ

Don’t mind this. If not Brown then it’s certainly time to Back the Schach. Looks a nicely balanced side in paper.

The “move defender forward” trick worked real good with Harry Petty. Maybe Goody can makenlightening strike twice?

Put Lever as full forward.
Stevie May’s taken a few hangers this year? Him and Melkshakes kicking six a piece in the granny, what a story that would be! Big piss up at cheeseburger place grand final night!!!

Don’t mind this. If not Brown then it’s certainly time to Back the Schach. Looks a nicely balanced side in paper.

Horses for Courses in my eyes mate

No need to bring back Tomlinson when Hibberd can play on a 3rd tall anyway

I have a gut feeling Grundy gets one last chance this weekend

Preview Changes/Preview round 22 v Carlton