Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast

6.16m at 44%.... That means he’s missing every second handpass or sideways kick to.

As a mid if you’re missing your handpasses than it’s very hard to blame the guys around you

I don’t think so. Disposals need to be effective to count in metres gained I reckon. Basically means most of his kicks were turnovers.

I’m a big reluctant to drop Murphy cause he’s seems to be one of only a few that actually look like he gives maximum effort, especially in aerial contests
We need to play our best talent

Ned can play Murphy role which allows for McAdam or Davis to come in

I like Murphs attirude to his footy hiwever he just doesnt impact enough games

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Cornes showed footage of him on channel 7 news tonight just jogging after Dursma, who ended up walking into goal unchallenged.

Players need to be accountable & give their all. If you are just going to jog after your opponent, you can jog off our list.
This is the one I spoke about before.

Good to hear Nicks talk about prioritising defence as well. Also putting it on the senior players and saying they will be the ones to move aside.

Double thumbs up in my book

Head actually, Crows have typically always responded well from really bad losses, especially if there is a big statement at selection and senior players start to get nervous about their spots. Young sides like the Suns are generally inconsistent from week to week too.
It didn't go too well last year.

If a senior player gets dropped, wait for them to sook it up

We need to play our best talent

Ned can play Murphy role which allows for McAdam or Davis to come in

I like Murphs attirude to his footy hiwever he just doesnt impact enough games

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I actually think Murphy has more tools to be a decent small defender.

Fast, tough, booming kick, can tackle, good pressure.

I'd certainly be willing to try him there and move Laird out.

In saying that, the glimpses I saw of will Hamill (I think it was him) has me thinking he's the future, so I'd much rather get games into him.

It didn't go too well last year.

If a senior player gets dropped, wait for them to sook it up
And if they do they instantly expose themselves as the type of players we (hopefully) move on at the end of the year.

It's fine to be upset if you lose your spot, but to have the (past) expectations that you keep your spot no matter what shouldn't be tolerated anymore. Performance dictates selection, not seniority.

If I was Nicks I would be bringing in some speed and hitting some of the agers around. For all the talk of big midfielders, Rozee carved us up on the weekend, all 75kg of him, intent makes up for size all day long.

Up forward I would like to see Ned and McAdam working with Tex at FF. Fog at CHF with Crocker (or bring back Davis) as a third marking option. As for Lynch I am genuinely torn, he had the most metres gained but his disposal was awful. The big change is Crouch to HFF.

Down back Milera is moved out with Laird and Smith at HB with Dude. Last line is Tals with Kelly and Brown.

Milera in centre with Hamill and Seeds on the wing. ROB, Sloane and Jones

FF: McHenry, Walker, McAdam
CHF: Bcrouch, Fog, Crocker
C: Hamill, Milera, Seeds
HB: Smith, Dude, Laird
FB: Brown, Talia, Kelly
Full: ROB, Sloane, Jones
IC: Lynch, MCrouch, McAsey, Murphy (Murphy running through centre as well as up forward)

Out:
Keays - tough after 1 game but 1 metre gained from 6 possessions isn't enough
Atkins - not working hard enough
In:
McAdam,
Hamill

On notice:
Brouch - 154 metres gained
Seedsman - 176 metres gained
Matt C - not working hard enough
Hidden - only playing Jones for 77% of the match whilst he had the 3rd most metres gained

I would also like to bring in Poholke but the only likely replacement would be for Brouch, Lynch, Seeds or Murphy. Seeds and Brouch the most likely candidates

Meh, we dropped Atkins last year and the rest of the senior players didn't give a shit. Kinda like back in the Sando days when Vince, Jaensch and Johncock used to get dropped from time to time.

Needs to be a bigger name if you're looking to make a statement (though I'm not adverse to dropping Atkins as well).

One of the Crouches, Smith or Lynch. Maybe Laird, but similar to Atkins, I doubt it would shake things up with the aforementioned group. Maybe Walker, but I don't really want Fog to have to cop the opposition's best defender just yet.

Honestly, Smith might be the one to make an example of. Would be a big statement to make two games after promoting him into the leadership group, and is also the one we can most easily replace (with Sholl or Hamill).

We are in rebuild mode so I was expecting losses... but also expecting effort... which was piss poor.

If we don't get a response this week, there should be mass changes.

Yes of course. This isnt our first rodeo in terms of expecting losses, I agree. I didnt expect us to win the Showdown, but youre right, the effort was disgraceful on Saturday night.

I would be shocked if things changed. This is a "new team" we have playing this Saturday, in the past 3 years, I would have expected a response, well at least eventually in the upcoming games. With this team Im not so sure.

As a supporter of our Club, as you are too, we are going to have to endure. I expect this to be a very long journey truth be told, Im expecting it to take at least 5 years conservatively too. I just hope the Club can learn from other Clubs that have failed in rebuilding and have had to undergo multiple rebuilds.

In some instances I dont blame the Club, even with some of the players that have departed over the last 6-8 years, for me it was what we got for them that hurts the most. If we received even a fair trade, we would be in a much better position that we are now in. This current list is not going to go anywhere and I have never said that about any list the Crows have had since supporting them.

I’m a big reluctant to drop Murphy cause he’s seems to be one of only a few that actually look like he gives maximum effort, especially in aerial contests
There is a lot of "what I would like to do" on here. But what would you actually do. Do you react and make wholesale changes or do you give players a chance to settle in at least for three games and I mean three games from the 2nd beginning. We have to find options because our current options dont jump out at you. It appears that Kelly may not play so who replaces him. Hamill is one option along with Hartigan, McPherson and Scholl.

I also think Murphy would be dropped is Stengle was available. I am just not sold on Murphy. I have seen him do some great things with his elusive skills but he just doesnt seem to be in the game for the four quarters. McAdam might be the one to replace Murphy. I have already express my desire to see Atkins dropped.

Meh, we dropped Atkins last year and the rest of the senior players didn't give a shit. Kinda like back in the Sando days when Vince, Jaensch and Johncock used to get dropped from time to time.

Needs to be a bigger name if you're looking to make a statement (though I'm not adverse to dropping Atkins as well).

One of the Crouches, Smith or Lynch. Maybe Laird, but similar to Atkins, I doubt it would shake things up with the aforementioned group. Maybe Walker, but I don't really want Fog to have to cop the opposition's best defender just yet.

Honestly, Smith might be the one to make an example of. Would be a big statement to make two games after promoting him into the leadership group, and is also the one we can most easily replace (with Sholl or Hamill).
To be honest I reckon we're beyond statement dropping / get a reaction

It's not a lack of motivation that's the problem where we can just spark them into action with an axe hovering or dropping a big name.

We're just not good at football.

Need to simply pick those who are good now (very few) or those who we think will or might be good one day

As a supporter of our Club, as you are too, we are going to have to endure. I expect this to be a very long journey truth be told, Im expecting it to take at least 5 years conservatively too. I just hope the Club can learn from other Clubs that have failed in rebuilding and have had to undergo multiple rebuilds.

As a Glenelg member, I have learnt to endure. And last year saw them win their first flag for 33 years.

Getting all the cogs working together in the right way is not easy. Like you I’m not sure we even have the right cogs yet.

Endure we must and endure we will.

As a Glenelg member, I have learnt to endure. And last year saw them win their first flag for 33 years.

Getting all the cogs working together in the right way is not easy. Like you I’m not sure we even have the right cogs yet.

Been a bay supporter since 1960. Grand Final wins have been far and few between. Even up here in Brisbane I still follow them. Funny how you become attached to a team.

To be honest I reckon we're beyond statement dropping / get a reaction

It's not a lack of motivation that's the problem where we can just spark them into action with an axe hovering or dropping a big name.

We're just not good at football.

Nees to simply pick those who are good now (very few) or those who we think will or might be good one day
The problem is that there is a lack of buy In from certain senior players. In short they have a poor attitude and are purely playing for cash and feel no loyalty and genuine care for the club. This has been the case since our 2017 GF debacle. Until those players are weeded out from the club the group will not be able to move on with a fresh start. I feel sorry for the young players as the environment would not be a positive one. I would completely write off this year. Get games into kids, agressively clean out those that need to go end of the year, trade and draft our asses off, sign up some quality assistants and a mentor for Nicks and finally clean out Chapman and his cronies. 2021 will be a better year.

Side note:
I'm not letting the club (key decision makers) off the hook as they have been completely culpible in mismanaging the club for some time but we have reached a point where there seems to be a irreconcilable impass between the club and certain senior players which is blocking the teams improvement. For the club to move forward both groups need to be moved out. Once this occurs the club can move in a positive united direction. The other part is the media has been pretty disgusting in how they have targeted the club with a vindictive campaign which they would not try with any other club. This is not helping the industry grow. These media companies are disgusting grubs. A decent chairman would have nipped the gutter journalism in the bud two years ago. They also wouldnt have alliowed the clubs self induced ****ups to have occured in the first place.

I agree. Its just going to be a strange approach for me for the next 5 years following the Crows. I have gone into almost every season thinking finals is a realistic possibility and sometimes during a season I start looking at flying to Melbourne in September.

You can forget that for at least 5 years. I think our next flag will be in the 2030s truth be told. Sobering thought is that a lot of Crows supporters from 97 and 98 probably wont be alive to see it.

Fortunately I punt on the AFL so in some ways I can still enjoy the AFL to some extent. I cannot recall being ever so disinterested in a Crows game, esp a Showdown during an AFL season, how that changes post pandemic is going to be interesting.

With its list management, recruiting and trading, the Club really needs to be innovative here and trying something from left field to get ahead and compete for a flag sooner than later.

Glory be also within the rules too. :drunk:

The problem is that there is a lack of buy In from certain senior players. There has been the case since our 2017 GF debacle. Until those players are weeded out from the club the group will not be able to move on with a fresh start.

Controversial, but I agree 100%. The stink of the GF performance and the camp that followed will always be around till then to haunt our Club.

I don’t think so. Disposals need to be effective to count in metres gained I reckon. Basically means most of his kicks were turnovers.
You are both right and wrong. There are 2 separate stats. Meters gained is the one listed on AFL.com and is the stat 99% of commentators use during the game. However there is also effective meters gained which takes into account ball security. But you rarely see it referenced because the numbers don't look as sexy.

Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast