Preview Changes: R7 v Carlton

Yeah but you’re talking about 2 utility players with 2 preseasons under their belt who have trained with Both forwards and midfield groups vs 1 rookie whose built like a KPF and coming off an injury and only trained with the forwards group. It’s apples and oranges mate

None of that matters. We allowed him time in the AFL to pinch hit behind the ball for a few minutes. He's not chained to the forward line. And he played some midfield against Norwood, so it's not like they share your view. Just do it more but purely for fitness reasons.

You can’t be surprised with coaches throwing magnets around when the team is getting pummeled. By I think you’re gonna be in for some disappointment if you’re gonna expect more then that.

It just doesn’t make sense with what we use our SANFL team for.

On the basis of no inside knowledge, I have always suspected Jarman is playing on a wing to keep him involved and assist building is fitness base. I doubt the club has any intention of playing him that position initially if he ever makes it to the firsts.

It’s a league wide problem.
I reckon you're right.
It's staggering how many shots @ goal are missed from within that 90-degree arc of goal center and only 20-to-40m out. Some miss more than others eg JJ for us (57.9% this year, awful) and Cox for Collingwood (both not natural footballers) but my impression is that some players are more accurate when on the run when their well-drilled reflexes from years of practice take over. Could be wrong.
Have a look at:
https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_goal_kickers
If you had to guess, who is our current most accurate goalkicker?
(This season, Walker 75% --- overall, Andy Otten !!! 69% :huh: https://afltables.com/afl/stats/accuracy.html)

There are quite a few who are suggesting Mackay should be dropped in the next couple of weeks. That is quite reasonable as we a facing a bit of a selection squeeze over the next month and he is certainly a fringe player, but please do not use Saturday's game as justification. Mackay was good on the weekend. If you want him dropped say you want him dropped because of what he tends to produce over his career - we will be able to have a discussion about that. If you say he should be dropped based on Saturdays performance you are showing your bias and there is no point having a conversation with someone like that.

The composure of Mackay and Milera, with ball in hand, is like chalk and cheese
Nail, head --- composure, which makes for good decisions.
Even when clear, Mackay butchers the ball or kicks to a group much too frequently. After so many games it's staggering that he doesn't hit more single targets.

I reckon you're right.
It's staggering how many shots @ goal are missed from within that 90-degree arc of goal center and only 20-to-40m out. Some miss more than others eg JJ for us (57.9% this year, awful) and Cox for Collingwood (both not natural footballers) but my impression is that some players are more accurate when on the run when their well-drilled reflexes from years of practice take over. Could be wrong.
Have a look at:
https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_goal_kickers
If you had to guess, who is our current most accurate goalkicker?
(This season, Walker 75% --- overall, Andy Otten !!! 69% :huh: https://afltables.com/afl/stats/accuracy.html)

A set shot is harder then on the run to be fair aa you are given time to think about the shot and what you are doing. Gives more room for technical/mental flaws to show up.

Nail, head --- composure, which makes for good decisions.
Even when clear, Mackay butchers the ball or kicks to a group much too frequently. After so many games it's staggering that he doesn't hit more single targets.
He really does seem to lack lateral movement coming off the back half. While Milera will get the ball and evade, before putting himself in best position to deliver, Dmac tends to run in a straight line come hell or high water.

Results in him not being properly aligned with his target and he just ends up lobbing a ball forward. I'm not calling for Dmac to be dropped just yet, but if/when we get a full list back, it is hard to find a place for him in the 22.

A set shot is harder then on the run to be fair aa you are given time to think about the shot and what you are doing. Gives more room for technical/mental flaws to show up.
Could be right, and there are set shots that are difficult because of angle, distance or strong wind.
I was referring to "within that 90-degree arc of goal center and only 20-to-40m out.", you know, the ones they miss and you go "How the Hell did he miss that??". OK, 40m might be a stretch, but I saw many set shots within 30-35m and no/little angle missed over the Round.
It's funny, I remember Chris Scott (might've been Brad, not sure) commenting on how many goals we kicked with swinging tumble kicks (opposite of checkside) from angles up to 45m out last year, "doesn't happen by accident" (paraphrasing). JJ's 3 goals vs Sydney were all like that. That's something we do well, oddly. Eddie, especially.

There are quite a few who are suggesting Mackay should be dropped in the next couple of weeks. That is quite reasonable as we a facing a bit of a selection squeeze over the next month and he is certainly a fringe player, but please do not use Saturday's game as justification. Mackay was good on the weekend. If you want him dropped say you want him dropped because of what he tends to produce over his career - we will be able to have a discussion about that. If you say he should be dropped based on Saturdays performance you are showing your bias and there is no point having a conversation with someone like that.
Yeah, I think that he gets squeezed out as well. I think that we now have other players who offer more. His versatility and endurance has kept him in for a while because he can fill anywhere.

Alright... so... when we start getting guys like sloane, Betts, Hartigan and later bcrouch back in the next weeks who do you think should be dropped instead of Mackay?..

Because ultimately, whilst Mackay is getting a lot of touches this season, he is one of the worst users of the ball in the squad.. so many turnovers, so many kicks that don’t advantage his teammates and just a lot of dumb decisions. Who goes out if you think he should stay?

I can’t see a spot for him in the side next year especially when Smith comes back.. so I think we should be giving guys like Milera, gooch, poholke etc (even Wilson) more time in the 22 than Mackay... the time to start moving him on is now.

Yep. DMac has a free target on the wing at one stage but bombed it into the middle of the ground for a turnover. Was baffling.
Saw that. Unbelievable how dumb of a footballer he is sometimes.
I'm much less happy with Dmac than I used to be. For a bloke of his experience, his delivery is average at best, even if this year he's been playing better. So, for the most part I agree, except in cases where either
1) Dmac hasn't seen or heard the loose man (people alone in good positions are often missed), or
2) he's under instruction to kick to a particular player (eg Laird & Co often look for Lynch, Lynch always looks for Tex, JJ, or best lead), or
3) the outnumbered player is Tex or similar and screaming for the ball --- hierarchy applies (it's human nature), especially under pressure.
Still, Dmac needs to find targets better, for sure.

Trouble is Mackay was a second or 2 too slow to pull the trigger and he lacks the stab pass required to make the kick. His kick was too lofted, giving GC players time to make the contest.
Yes, this, all three --- and it is "trouble", from a player of his experience. Even when he's playing better he makes rookie errors, soooo frustrating :mad:.
When BCrouch, Gibson and Smith are fit'n'ready, I can't see Mackay as best 22. Handy as depth, though.

Interesting, because Milera made three key errors last night by slightly underkicking the ball. Each was a turnover.

The closest folks can get to a Mackay error was a kick to a contest, without discussing whether that was still the best option to get us a stoppage.

Now, I think we'll be able to tidy that out of Milera's game and Mackay has years of history on the errors front, but I still think it needs to be acknowledged that Mackay is probably having a career best run over the last 25 games.
Have you watched the game again?

I'm travelling from Canada and will be at this game with my fiancee! This will be my second Crows game (saw them play the Eagles in Perth back in 2016), and first game at the Oval.
Wow, that's great! :thumbsu:
Is your fiancee a Canuck (hint: instead of saying 'owt' for 'out' she says 'oot' ;))? Make sure she eats a meat pie and/or some apricot slice :D. I hope she enjoys the game :rainbow:.

Yes, this, all three --- and it is "trouble", from a player of his experience. Even when he's playing better he makes rookie errors, soooo frustrating :mad:.
When BCrouch, Gibson and Smith are fit'n'ready, I can't see Mackay as best 22. Handy as depth, though.

I honestly can't see Gibson getting a game now unless we get some more injuries with our defenders. Especially once smith comes back in. Handy depth player to have though if we need him.

Mackay should only be dropped due to his injury. Was great on sat and this year.

Alright... so... when we start getting guys like sloane, Betts, Hartigan and later bcrouch back in the next weeks who do you think should be dropped instead of Mackay?..

Because ultimately, whilst Mackay is getting a lot of touches this season, he is one of the worst users of the ball in the squad.. so many turnovers, so many kicks that don’t advantage his teammates and just a lot of dumb decisions. Who goes out if you think he should stay?

I can’t see a spot for him in the side next year especially when Smith comes back.. so I think we should be giving guys like Milera, gooch, poholke etc (even Wilson) more time in the 22 than Mackay... the time to start moving him on is now.
If Kelly is right to go this week I would like to see Mackay be the one who makes way. Mackay has been good at half back this season but I thought Milera's game was better than anything Mackay has produced and he certainly has more upside. It is not like Milera is needed at half forward with Betts, Gallucci, Murphy and Knight all being good.

Mackay does offer significantly more run and carry than Kelly. I disagree with you about Mackay's disposal being poor. I think his kicking is above average - it probably looks worse than it is because he is goes for attacking options like Atkins, Seedsman and Milera do but his kicking isn't up to the same standard as the others. If he took the same options that Kelly, Talia, etc. do, he would never miss but as an outside runner that is not what he is there for. Next time you watch Mackay take notice of his involvement in handball chains. His ability to put team mates in space with his handballs is elite and in my opinion a hugely underrated part of his game. Having said that, I think we need a player like Kelly when we come up against teams who have multiple dangerous small/mid sized forwards like Port Power, Geelong and Richmond. Kelly allows Doedee to do his own thing as opposed to having to match up on players like Gray, Menzel or Martin.

I disagree with your last point to a certain degree. We are trying to win a premiership this year so we should be putting close to our best 22 on the park every week, not looking at developing player for 2019. It would be horrible if this time next year we were talking about losing/missing a grand final because we played Poholke ahead of Mackay or Murphy ahead of Betts.

What have you heard and who from?
Listen to the crow cast weekend wrap from last night.
They mentioned I believe Seedsman had considered retirement last year and Brad is having a somewhat similar issue where they need to start over and basically rebuild him from the core up. I don’t know where they got that info from.

Mackay should only be dropped due to his injury. Was great on sat and this year.
I agree that Mackay has been good this season but I prefer the defensive structure when Kelly is back there. Unfortunately for Mackay, as good as he has been playing as a running half back, Milera was even better on Saturday playing the same role. If he misses he is very stiff but it means that we are in a very strong position with our outside midfielders for the first time in a long time.

All this DMAC hate is getting pretty monotonous and seems to bred from peoples preconceived notions of DMAC's form from about 18 months ago. He's holding his spot absolutely fine and has been playing his role pretty damn effectively since he was dropped last year. If the team had a full list to choose from then sure, he would absolutely be under pressure from the kids coming through. But right now calling for his scalp is just nonsense!

All this DMAC hate is getting pretty monotonous and seems to bred from peoples preconceived notions of DMAC form from about 18 months ago. He's holding his spot absolutely fine and has been playing his role pretty damn effectively since he was dropped last year. If the team had a full list to choose from then sure, he would absolutely be under pressure from the kids coming through. But right now calling for his scalp is just nonsense!
I agree with the first part and he is playing well but so are the other wingmen and flankers. Who ever does get dropped can consider themselves hard done by. I think it should be Mackay.

The second part of my post admitted that with a full list he would feel pressure to hold his spot though. Which is probably a good thing. I mean Iron sharpens Iron! And we want all our outside runners firing come September, cause thats how we play our best, most attractive football!

Preview Changes: R7 v Carlton