Preview Changes Rnd 11 vs Brisbane Bears, Sunday twilight at AO

The AFL don't care about where they send interstate sides, it's just typically the ones who aren't playing well get the crap spots. We've been crap for 2019-2022 so we can't expect much.

If we finish the year well then we will get an improved fixture next year. But it's only Round 11 of this year. A lot of wins still to get.

Bigger picture is that all interstate sides should play at finals venues when playing a VIC side. That said, if a financial basket case needs to sell a home game to Cairns or NT for growth or whatever and reduce their advantage, then I'm happy enough with that. But no ballarat and no Tassie for any of us. They should all be vic on vic games.
Amen

The AFL don't care about where they send interstate sides, it's just typically the ones who aren't playing well get the crap spots. We've been crap for 2019-2022 so we can't expect much.

If we finish the year well then we will get an improved fixture next year. But it's only Round 11 of this year. A lot of wins still to get.
To get Ballarat in consecutive years is wrong

Would like to see every second year at most as an unofficial rule

Nothing wrong with Mars Stadium, one of the best surfaces in the AFL...what's wrong is the time of year they scheduled the game...

Not really, the only thing wrong is that an interstate team plays there. Looks an awesome deck, as is my old stomping ground at Traeger Park. Nothing wrong with pkaying footy there in winter, it's just a matter of who. Bossy and I were going to go this year but ended up in Adelaide as a mate from Alice was down to watch his horse in the Goodwood. So we did that instead. I think a good decision made.

Ditto geelong

I'm conflicted on Geelong. We'd never play a final there and we get so few games at Etihad/G, but then they deserve their share of home ground advantage. And it's a great measuring stick when you're not contending. When it potentially costs us 4th or 2nd against 5th or 3rd it'll be annoying though.

Aren't they planning to play all of their home games there when the stadium is finished?

Probably be less to be unhappy about if that's the case

Yep maybe 50-75% of the years , not every year

After this week we'll have played 6 of the top 7 teams.
And we still have to play all of the top 4 - Port, Collingwood (MCG) and Brisbane (Gabba) again, and Melbourne (MCG).

Still not quite sure why a team that finishes bottom 6 (14th) has to play both the losing prelim finalists from the previous year twice. If we finish top 8 with the draw that's been inflicted on us, we definitely deserve it IMO.

We don't play Sydney until R23.

Of our 6 double ups - three against what look like top 4 sides this year. Only 4 games against the leagues 3 basket cases - North (AO), Haw (Tassie), WC (H&A). And I have no doubt Sydney and WC will both be much better sides by R23 and R24.

Aren't they planning to play all of their home games there when the stadium is finished?

Probably be less to be unhappy about if that's the case

Brings up another grey/borderline area though. Why does a team that's 1hr away from Melbourne get their own pure home ground advantage. If Port redeveloped their stadium to house 30k and played clubs like Roos and Freo there, is it fair that those clubs then play at AO come finals time when they may not have played there? Travelling sides should only ever play at finals venues. The VIC clubs only play at finals venues when playing interstate, it's not asking too much to extend the same courtesy to the rest of the league.

Probably not fair

The AFL taking the gate for all finals games would have considerable bearing on that

Geelong has maintained that they expect to make the same amount of money at Kadina Park when it's completed as they do now playing the bigger Melbourne clubs at the MCG for their own home fixtures

Another case of decisions made based on financial outcomes

Probably not fair

The AFL taking the gate for all finals games would have considerable bearing on that

Geelong has maintained that they expect to make the same amount of money at Kadina Park when it's completed as they do now playing the bigger Melbourne clubs at the MCG for their own home fixtures

I remember at the time, John Elliot was completely derided as a fool, for wanting to retain the use of Princess Park .....this at a time, when Marvel Stadium had just been completed

GEEL make the most money from gate receipts of all AFL clubs, at their boutique GMBHA Stadium .....the same model Elliot was advocating

_________________________________________________________________________________

THE OLD Princes Park became a white elephant, when in its most costly of Blues, Carlton sank millions into building stands for a ground destined to become a training venue. Today, as the poor clubs cry poorer, Visy Park is the elephant in the equalisation room.

John Elliott did plenty wrong in his final years at Carlton, his bluster and blunders leaving the Blues in a sizeable fiscal and football hole. But Elliott was on the money in his vision, if not the management, of Carlton's traditional home.

AFL footy in North Carlton, 2005.

Big Jack reckoned there was room for Princes Park, not only for Carlton games against the interstate teams, but also for the likes of North and the Dogs. The Demons fans simply wouldn't cop the place. In 2013, as Melbourne's weakest clubs fight against dismal stadium economics, they've had a look down the Geelong Rd and taken note of how a crowd of 20,000 can generate returns of $600-000-$700,000

Probably not fair

how much money they make is irrelevant in the grand scheme. The AFL is a not for profit, once they've paid for has an obligation to make the league as even a playing field as practicable.