Changes v GWS

Yeah, no.

Rielly is absolutely cooked as a footballer. Appreciate what he has done, but watching him with the showdown (and the entirety of this season) the game has gone past him, for the good of the club, i wish him a farewell game but ultimately be depth for the rest of the season (and retired at the end).

There was a moment that summed up Riellys last two years against Essendon, when BT mentioned: Rielly this is the guy you want delivering the ball to your forwards, Rielly then proceeded to turn it over with a pretty average kick.

Thommo, Sloane, Danger, Crouch are all inside mids, you don't expect an amazing delivery and are going to have a few turnovers due to this, which is quite normal.

Dont forget that moment on the weekend, when we had finally killed ports dangerous 4th quarter momentum and had the game back in our control and Reilly proceeded to kick the ball into the corridor to not 1 but 2 Port players, who said a polite thankyou to Reilly and raced away. ****ing disgraceful to say the least.

Yeah he's played 200 games, yeah he's got a half decent leg on him, but the fact of the matter is, he's still shit. His decision making lets him down so often that it doesn't matter whether he's a good kick or not, he turns the ball over regardless.

As you said, appreciate him for what he's done, but now there are certainly better options at our disposal and his time should be up if the coaches had the balls to do so. I will sleep easier at night knowing that we have anybody but Reilly delivering the ball out of our back line.

I'd hope you would be prepared to "edit" this post mate, that sort of talk is not even appropriate on Bay 13 let alone directed at one of our own supporters!!

Sounds worse than it is.
The "get f**ked" is more of a shocked "OMG get f**ked you just said that"

I didnt actually have a personal attack or anything, just attacked his ridiculous opinion that Reilly is one of our best players.

Because he is one of our best players and has beautiful disposal and we are side desperately lacking in good disposers of the footy.

You might not like him but if you're honest about our midfield then Sloane, Danger, Thompson and Crouch all are great footballers but do not deliver the ball well at all. Crouch was brilliant at getting it on the weekend but must have stuffed up using it 8 times and so we can't afford to have players like Reilly and Smith who actually use it well not playing.

Any player who plays 200 AFL games (which is about 3% of all players) gets to that tally because of class. No one lasts that long unless they can seriously play and I find it sad that so called supporters feel the need to be disrespectful of any players who have given so much to our club over many years.

If he is one of our best players I'll eat my foot. His disposal is beautiful especially when he kicks it to the opposition, Reilly is completely inept to any pressure and even the slightest hint of opposition pressure is likely to cause a turnover.

Our midfield usually has a low disposal efficiency because they are normally under pressure. Reilly nearly made 8 mistake in the first quarter, remember Crouch is 19 or 20 and has a massive scope of improvement. Also Crouch has some of the best handball skills when at the bottom of the pack in our squad.

Reilly has played 200 games which says more about the AFC than Reilly himself. 200 times we have been unable to field 22 players better than Reilly, which may be one of the reasons we haven't won a premiership in years.

You may remember the 2012 Reilly who made the 40 man All Australian squad. Keep in mind Reilly has scored 4 brownlow votes in 202 games so far. He was best on ground once in his career (2005) and got 1 vote in (2009), but for the other 200 games he didn't once get rated in the top 3 players on the ground.

You should probably stop listening to what the ignorant Victorian commentators say and watch a few games of footy and your opinion will change.

He has good footskills and good over head marking and spoiling ability.
He has average hand ball skills, decision making and composure.
He has bad acceleration, pace and tackling ability.

Hendo has equal footskills, defensive skills and marking ability and him covered in decision making and composure and has excellent acceleration and pace. As soon as he's fully fit he replaces Reilly IMO.

You forgot to add to the bad list: the worst dont argue in human history.

Have you watched Mackay at all this year? He's cracked in just about as hard as anyone else on our list this year despite being tiny and a pure outside midfielder.

I find it amazing that people were all praising this guy's return to form, and yet he misses a couple of games with a concussion and all of a sudden he doesnt come back into our side. Ridiculous...

Mackay has been one of our best and most consistent performers this year, and has certainly been putting in the effort and laying some ripper tackles for the size bloke he is. He is vital to our side this year and in the 22 full stop.
Don't particularly like being dumped with everyone because this year I have continued to question if he is playing as good as everyone keeps going on about.

I loved what Mackay brought to the side late 2012 (I think it was then......) and into the finals but last year was average and this year I just haven't been sold. There are probably no stats that will help my case but I personally haven't been sold on this year.

I love the idea of Mackay, fast, good disposal, outside player but there just is something nagging at me.

Because he is one of our best players and has beautiful disposal and we are side desperately lacking in good disposers of the footy.

You might not like him but if you're honest about our midfield then Sloane, Danger, Thompson and Crouch all are great footballers but do not deliver the ball well at all. Crouch was brilliant at getting it on the weekend but must have stuffed up using it 8 times and so we can't afford to have players like Reilly and Smith who actually use it well not playing.

Any player who plays 200 AFL games (which is about 3% of all players) gets to that tally because of class. No one lasts that long unless they can seriously play and I find it sad that so called supporters feel the need to be disrespectful of any players who have given so much to our club over many years.

Without going through the game and highlighting the errors Radar made, I remember a dreadful kick in, and a dreadful pass in the middle of the ground. Both of these resulted in Port shots on goal.

Then, you have the White vs Reilly run. Why in the world didnt Reilly have common sense to cut the angle and meet White at the point post? Instead he tried to go stride for stride in his chase. He could easily see that there was no centre pass option. Whites only option was to run for goal. Reilly could have forced a snap shot, or pressured White into an attempt at evading Reilly where he would have been cleaned up by Smith. Dumb Play

Next there was the centering pass from Grey that landed in front of Polec. Reilly can be seen in the pocket as Polec charges for the ball. Polec manages to push the ball into the goal square where Reilly comes back into frame jogging 1-2m PASSED Polec, before throwing an arm out in an attempt to smother. There was no logical reason you would run passed the opposition player in the goal square, you would go to the man and tackle. Reilly had hours of time to do that, and his mistake there meant Polec could swing the ball over his shoulder for a goal.

Both these were blatantly obvious from my seats high up in the grand stands, and can both be viewed at around 0:20 and 1:00 on the AFLs highlights package for any who feel the need to top up their dislike for Reilly feelings

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2014-06-29/highlights-adelaide-v-port-adelaide

I think you're being a bit harsh on Reilly there regarding the White goal, though I have no problems with your other criticisms. Reilly wasn't the only Adelaide player present - but he was the only one who was actively trying to stop White from scoring. Smith was White's direct opponent and gave up before the ball even entered the F50. Reilly deserves some credit for persevering, despite being in a tail chase with a faster player.

Agree with you Vader.

I dont think anyone is ever faulting Reillys effort. We dont think hes not trying.
His skills and footy brain just arent up to standard...

Agree but pretty sure Smith was on Monfries, not White.

Is Charlie going to get up for this? We will want to be at maximum for the Hawks, would be nice if he could warm up against the giants

Fair enough, it may be my bias speaking.

Agree but pretty sure Smith was on Monfries, not White.
There were two pairs of players running towards the ball, as it landed just outside the 50m arc. Smith was with White, not sure who Reilly was running with. Radar then chased white, while Smith peeled off to the inside. I didn't see what happened to Smith, as the cameras chose to focus on the Reilly/White pursuit.

Henderson will have at least one more sanfl game surely? One more poor game by Reilly and you could see him replacing him the week after.

It was good to see Porps come in and play well. But I would like to see Cameron come back in if he's fit.

Not sure who Laird and Kerridge will replace (if fit). Probably kerridge for Lyons.

There were two pairs of players running towards the ball, as it landed just outside the 50m arc. Smith was with White, not sure who Reilly was running with. Radar then chased white, while Smith peeled off to the inside. I didn't see what happened to Smith, as the cameras chose to focus on the Reilly/White pursuit.

They showed it from behind the goals. When Smith saw Reilly chasing he changed angles to try and cut White off. Unfortunately he didn't start working hard enough until it was too late. I certainly didn't think it was Reilly's fault and Smith probably did the right thing albeit not quickly enough.

Pretty sure none of those players will get up, Henderson will be okay but i think they'd give him another week in the 2's.

What about Cameron? I'd have him in over Porplyzia. Otherwise unchanged.

They showed it from behind the goals. When Smith saw Reilly chasing he changed angles to try and cut White off. Unfortunately he didn't start working hard enough until it was too late. I certainly didn't think it was Reilly's fault and Smith probably did the right thing albeit not quickly enough.

What about Cameron? I'd have him in over Porplyzia. Otherwise unchanged.
Cameron's missed 3 games already. No point risking him, even against GWS.

I'd go...
Out: Sauce, Talia, Douglas all rested, Reilly
In: Graham, Rutten, Kerridge if fit, Laird if fit, Cameron if fit, M Crouch, M Grigg.
need to win but also need to be cherry ripe for the hawks...
will need to beat the hawks as well...

Don't get the calls to rest players, if we loose to GWS this week which is a possibility by doing this, there's no point being cherry ripe for the hawks, if your fit to play you play. Especially as we have the bye the week after.

Don't get the calls to rest players, if we loose to GWS this week which is a possibility by doing this, there's no point being cherry ripe for the hawks, if your fit to play you play.

if we are going anywhere this season we need to be able to account for GWS without some of our banged up...
I see Mumford as the most likely to derail our season...
Talia back spasms before the game...
Dougie i think can go on wanting to kill Ward a little longer... cant have him getting reported again...
Dougie will snap him again...surely?...

Don't get the calls to rest players, if we loose to GWS this week which is a possibility by doing this, there's no point being cherry ripe for the hawks, if your fit to play you play. Especially as we have the bye the week after.
Agree - with our WLWL etc etc I've a feeling we will go hard at this game

Smith got closer to tackling White than Reilly did o_O