Preview Changes vs GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter Vooligan

I wouldn't complain if Dangerfield were given a rest. Clearly being troubled by the ankle injury he suffered a week or two ago.
I don't reckon Dangerfield will miss a game as (acting co) captain unless he loses a limb

so what will the negative posters argument this week be for why Gws will beat us by 4-6 goals

we only beat a wooden spoon contender but wait leading into the today's game it was St kilda are playing better footy because their beat Melb and GWS.:rolleyes:

Take your hand off it mate. We're an ordinary side with next to no hope of making the 8. If you're expecting every poster on this forum to ignore that fact and be happy and merry about shithouse performances all the time, especially while the non-stop gong show that is the AFC administration continues to make us a laughing stock, you should probably go somewhere else.

Personally I had no idea whether or not we would beat the saints today and never expressed an opinion on this one way or the other, but it was a refreshing performance and a very good win. Until we see a) that kind of performance against a Top 12 side and b) some consistency from week to week though, it doesn't mean a whole lot. That's reality. St Kilda were widely tipped to win the Wooden Spoon this year, and if they continue to play like they did today, they'll still give it a real shake.

As for next week, I don't think any tipster could really select the Crows to beat GWS with a great deal of confidence. Most will tip us. Few will be hugely surprised if we lose. That's where we're at. If we can win these next 3 games against young sides like we should, we'll hopefully gather some momentum and be able to challenge some of the better teams in the tough run that we have coming up after the bye.

I don't reckon Dangerfield will miss a game as (acting co) captain unless he loses a limb

Can't remember what I was watching or who was saying it but they passed on someone's view on ankles. Might have been 360. Anyway, the view was that there is no such thing as a 1week ankle. It's either ok with strapping or it's at least 4. Haven't really heard that before, not sure how accurate that is.

Yeah I remember "Knuckles" Kerley saying something similar years ago. Homespun football wisdom, ankles are either 0 weeks or 3+

Certainly rings true from the times I've had ankle injuries playing in the ammos.

so what will the negative posters argument this week be for why Gws will beat us by 4-6 goals

we only beat a wooden spoon contender but wait leading into the today's game it was St kilda are playing better footy because their beat Melb and GWS.:rolleyes:

I was one that wasn't confident about this game, but what I can't remember is you beating your chest about our chances in this game like you are now.

Take your hand off it mate. We're an ordinary side with next to no hope of making the 8. If you're expecting every poster on this forum to ignore that fact and be happy and merry about shithouse performances all the time, especially while the non-stop gong show that is the AFC administration continues to make us a laughing stock, you should probably go somewhere else.

Personally I had no idea whether or not we would beat the saints today and never expressed an opinion on this one way or the other, but it was a refreshing performance and a very good win. Until we see a) that kind of performance against a Top 12 side and b) some consistency from week to week though, it doesn't mean a whole lot. That's reality. St Kilda were widely tipped to win the Wooden Spoon this year, and if they continue to play like they did today, they'll still give it a real shake.

As for next week, I don't think any tipster could really select the Crows to beat GWS with a great deal of confidence. Most will tip us. Few will be hugely surprised if we lose. That's where we're at. If we can win these next 3 games against young sides like we should, we'll hopefully gather some momentum and be able to challenge some of the better teams in the tough run that we have coming up after the bye.
We are not an ordinary side, we are an average to ok side that could finish anywhere from 6-12. Of course there is hope of making the top 8, it's round bloody 4 and we are technically one win outside the 8 at present, with some key players to come back before our bye. Take your hand off it, not everyone expresses your cynical view on things. Clearly your view on the admin is clouding any unbiased judgement.

Anyone tipster with any remote sense of reality would tip the Crows with 100% confidence next week, especially at AO, and especially considering they have never got within 10 goals against us (well, maybe they got a bit closer in that game in the wet we played against them in 2012).

We are not an ordinary side, we are an average to ok side that could finish anywhere from 6-12. Of course there is hope of making the top 8, it's round bloody 4 and we are technically one win outside the 8 at present, with some key players to come back before our bye. Take your hand off it, not everyone expresses your cynical view on things. Clearly your view on the admin is clouding any unbiased judgement.

Anyone tipster with any remote sense of reality would tip the Crows with 100% confidence next week, especially at AO, and especially considering they have never got within 10 goals against us (well, maybe they got a bit closer in that game in the wet we played against them in 2012).

Haven't you heard? We are a great team now, lynch and co. won't get a game

Happy with those changes. Reilly hasn't been good so far this season and was comfortably our worst on ground today (at least until Brodie "Fumbles" Martin entered the fray in the 4th).
Get of Brodies back, ran hard for the 13 mins he was on the ground, back and forth. He is fumbling because the way Sando has used him he has lost confidence but still only fumbled his first mark. He touched the ball on five occasions and did not fumble any other possession . One bounce went slightly astray but running at full pace but he still regained his composure. You need to have confidence that the people around you have confidence in you to start performing. Brodies career has been ruined by the sub rule.

Apparently the Big Mummy is no guarantee to come back next week which would be handy. I mean... we should beat them regardless (and fmdt) but he's a colossus and influences games massively.

Lynch in, Martin out.

Grigg for Petrenko/Reilly would be GOLD.

We can drop Reilly without affecting our structure because it looked as though Laird played up the ground today. Would give us a back 7 of Talia, Rutten, Hartigan, Jaensch, Smith, Brown, Laird.

Already ruled out for a minimum of one match.

IN: Lynch, Grigg
OUT: Martin, Reilly

But give Grigg another week to recover if he's not 100%. And I can't really see Sando dropping Reilly. So probably only be Lynch in for Martin.

Get of Brodies back, ran hard for the 13 mins he was on the ground, back and forth. He is fumbling because the way Sando has used him he has lost confidence but still only fumbled his first mark. He touched the ball on five occasions and did not fumble any other possession . One bounce went slightly astray but running at full pace but he still regained his composure. You need to have confidence that the people around you have confidence in you to start performing. Brodies career has been ruined by the sub rule.

Brodie martin carrer has not be ruined by the sub rule the fact he has played 20 games only and made his debut in 2009 shows he is only a depth player who
is almost certain to be cut at the end of the year.

IN: Lynch, Grigg
OUT: Martin, Reilly

But give Grigg another week to recover if he's not 100%. And I can't really see Sando dropping Reilly. So probably only be Lynch in for Martin.

Abdominal strains can be tricky to get right so I won't be surprised if Grigg misses another game

Lynch, he obviously plays well against GWS, was top 10 in our B&F so coaches would rate him easily in our best 22 however the question is whether he needs another gallop considering he has only played 5 qtr of footy all year

My only concern is that Lynchy did not register a tackle in his 31 possession game so I would want that part of his game fully tested in a competitive session before he is selected

Still played well though
These things are relative. The guy is an absolute champion and made the most of his limited possessions, but he was still a shadow of his normal self.
Agreed. I don't think it's likely that he'd be rested, but I do think it would be a good idea.

Brodie, accept it. You were absolute rubbish. I know you didn't come into the game until late, but you fumbled it every time you got your hands on it. You made Reilly look competent - and he was easily our worst player until you entered the fray. Watching you play was nothing but comedy relief. Seriously, if you ever play for the AFC again it will be an absolute travesty of justice.

In: Grigg, Lynch
Out: Martin, Reilly

I would assume that Grigg not playing today was pretty precautionary. Shouldn't need another week unless he's aggravated something. CEY in if Grigg doesn't come up.

Brodie Martin needs to be permanently shelved. It's embarrassing watching him at AFL level. Reilly is surplus to our needs with Smith, Laird and Jaensch playing well and Brown returning to some form today.

Lynch will add a lot to the half forward line with his tireless lead up play. Can also play in defense if required.

Brodie Martin came into the game with 13 mins to go in the last quarter, what the hell do you d---s (VADER also) want him to do in that time. He had a run down the wing which lead to a goal, ye he may have fumbled his bounce but was good enough to recover and he had a shot on goal which was a point. The guy gets treated like crap by the coach so how the hell is he supposed to play with confidence cause he is always in and out and then sub . Why Sando didn't at least give him a quarter and a half when we were certainties to win the game is beyond me.

I wonder what odds the bookies will give you on us finishing in the 8? Maybe you should get on. :thumbsu:

As for GWS, yes, we have beaten them very comfortably in previous meetings, which is largely irrelevant considering they are now an infinitely better side than they have been in prior years. Did you watch them in Round 1 dismantle the Swans? The same Swans who dismantled us at AO?

I'm not saying I think GWS will win, but I'm saying this whole 100% confidence thing is a ****ing joke considering the form the two sides are in.

What's your view on the admin? Doing a good job are they? How was chants practice?

Thought so.

Brodie Martin came into the game with 13 mins to go in the last quarter, what the hell do you d---s (VADER also) want him to do in that time. He had a run down the wing which lead to a goal, ye he may have fumbled his bounce but was good enough to recover and he had a shot on goal which was a point. The guy gets treated like crap by the coach so how the hell is he supposed to play with confidence cause he is always in and out and then sub . Why Sando didn't at least give him a quarter and a half when we were certainties to win the game is beyond me.

Not fumble and **** up every time he touches the ball.

Did you miss his other fumbles? Dropped mark? Running into goal with no pressure from 35 out and missing?

Unfortunately the guy couldn't do anything right today. The sub is hard but the momentum was well and truly with us and he should have taken advantage of this. Instead he continually fumbled and missed an easy goal.

He was given a full game in Round 1. He was an embarrassment to the jumper. The only reason that performance didn't end his career is our lengthy injury list.