Game Day Draft Day 2020

Ignorance is bliss, eh?

If you don't see that this sort of stuff sets a dangerous precedent, and would affect the wider AFL competition, then you've got the blinkers on.

Sounds like some would prefer a VFL competition...
I think this is a fair call. The whole point of the draft is to equalise the comp. Make it more even across the board. (Some might say the Northern Academies go against that but that is for another thread.)

I imagine Victorians would be annoyed if someone like DGB or Izak Rankine came out before the draft and said they didn't want to go interstate either. (I know where Rankine ended up too, its not the point.)

I admire Perkins honesty, because I think a lot are in a similar boat but are not confident enough about getting picked up if they say the truth.

That being said, I am a bit worried about the resilience of someone who isn't prepared to make that kind of sacrifice for his career.

I think we are in the position where we are coaching kids to lie and the interview process is now more about trying to figure out how dishonest they are instead of having an honest conversation and finding people who would be a good fit for respective clubs.
Agreed. I reckon there will be a fair few who think the same. Only a first round prospect could probably openly state it. Later rounds would diminish their chances to be picked up.
Not sure about the lying part. They would definitely get coached into what to say during an interview. Not really any different to any other job interview.
Like any other company recruiting you need to be able to see past the interview and resume.
We have recruited some absolute doozies at my workplace who interviewed really well and had fantastic CV's.
On top of being hopeless they stuffed up the workplace culture.
I'd prefer they were honest, but they would have never been recruited in the first place.
Archie didn't say he would never go interstate just said he wasn't ready yet.
Got no problems with that and would love him at North!

Personally I think it's a bit young to conscript young players to leave home and move across the country. Period.

For every Chris Judd who adapts swimmingly (being a best in league talent in a strong side probably helps get you through a few teething issues too) there'd be a zillion unseen kids who struggle with their move across the country with little to show for it at the end of their brief AFL career.

Moving at an age equivalent to the end of a degree, apprenticeship or qualification circa 20-21yo would be much better for all parties imo.

But of course this will never happen. The machine would be far too scared of losing potential money-spinners to other pursuits.

Anyway a topic for another day.

Then don't have a national competition......

Personally I think it's a bit young to conscript young players to leave home and move across the country. Period.

For every Chris Judd who adapts swimmingly (being a best in league talent in a strong side probably helps get you through a few teething issues too) there'd be a zillion unseen kids who struggle with their move across the country with little to show for it at the end of their brief AFL career.

Moving at an age equivalent to the end of a degree, apprenticeship or qualification circa 20-21yo would be much better for all parties imo.

But of course this will never happen. The machine would be far too scared of losing potential money-spinners to other pursuits.

Anyway a topic for another day.
As Lomas said, country kids deal with it. (Or don't as John Barnes and a few others show. Tho Barnes did eventually come back to the comp and play.)

Tho the bolded is a good point I think. AS much because of the physical maturity needed to play as well.

I think this is a fair call. The whole point of the draft is to equalise the comp. Make it more even across the board. (Some might say the Northern Academies go against that but that is for another thread.)

I imagine Victorians would be annoyed if someone like DGB or Izak Rankine came out before the draft and said they didn't want to go interstate either. (I know where Rankine ended up too, its not the point.)

Totally mate. The judgement of any player who does including Grant, Perkins, Blakey etc is fine. My correction is only that doesn't translate to them not being able to produce an excellent career.

I wish it did. I wish that Nick Blakey spurning us to take the 'easy' option means he'll lack the fortitude to run up sand dunes in summer or produce one last effort in a tight game that reveals his inherent mental weaknesses.

But it doesn't. Being mentally unwilling to move away from family and friends doesn't correlate to not producing mentally as an athlete imo.

As Lomas said, country kids deal with it. (Or don't as John Barnes and a few others show. Tho Barnes did eventually come back to the comp and play.)

Tho the bolded is a good point I think. AS much because of the physical maturity needed to play as well.

They do and it's commendable. But they don't have a choice.

You can't live in Broken Hill and tell clubs you don't want to leave home.

“We’re really satisfied with the depth and quality of the pool,” Forster-Knight said.

“It’s going to be a combination (of needs and best available). We don’t want to walk away with the same type of player. We’ve got some areas that we want to address in this draft, but we’re confident we’ll walk away with some long-term Essendon players.

“A big focus this year is bringing in players who are really aligned to Ben Rutten’s game plan and (general manager of list and recruiting) Adrian Dodoro’s vision for the list as well. We’re going to bring in players aligned with that who have particular values. We just want players to come in and contribute to our on-field success for a long time.”

Then don't have a national competition......
In the US kids finish high school a little later, go to a College where they are usually roomed onsite and looked after then are drafted to the highest level comp after finishing tertiary education. That national comp drafts people in their early 20s. Even the college intakes are older than us and part of a long established pathway that the talented kids are preparing for from about year 9 or 10.

We can have a national comp and draft kids a year or two later when they are a little bit more mature to get around this can't we? it would make drafting a bit less hit and miss too and maybe give kids leaving school a taste or real life before entering the footy bubble.

"They have a really clear picture of what they are wanting to do there"

"He knows Kayne Turner and Jack Ziebell from the Wodonga Bulldogs days."

- Ben Hollands

They do and it's commendable. But they don't have a choice.

You can't live in Broken Hill and tell clubs you don't want to leave home.
So why should city kids be able to and not have recruiters mark that against them?

Let’s face the facts whoever we select with our 1st and 2nd pick MUST MUST MUST play Round 1 no excuses the supporters must have something to look for mind you even it’s a 5pm game in WA against the Eagles or Dockers

I couldn’t give a stuff if they play round 1. I just want them to be a gun in 3-4 years and still playing for us 12 years down the track.

Hollands definitely won’t be playing round 1 if we pick him.

So why should city kids be able to and not have recruiters mark that against them?

You're applying your own value judgement there mate.

Yes, city kids digging their heels in and refusing to move to play AFL makes them less endearing than the country kids or anyone who moves cross-country or even across the world to try and play AFL.

But if you're a recruiter from the home state and the kid has the talent ... who cares? It's about results.

Word was Liam Ryan would not leave WA if drafted. Eric Wallace moved continents to kick the dew in the VFL reserves, he was that desperate to make it.

Who played in a premiership?

I think a perfect result would be us trading back to #4 and still picking up Hollands. There's a slight risk that Hollands ends up going to Sydney in that scenario, but you'd have to imagine that a quick call between Blakey and Longmire would give us a pretty good idea of what the Swans are thinking. I'm also pretty sure that if Paul Roos wanted to know if Sydney rate DGB ahead of Hollands then he'd be able to find out pretty quickly.

Getting the player that we want while also picking up another 2nd round pick seems like a gigantic win. If we somehow get a first out of it then even better.

I also think that Richmond should be a club that we need to keep an eye on. If the reports that they want to trade out of this draft are correct, then I can't imagine they'll be able to do much better than our 2021 second round pick. I doubt a club would give up a first for what's going to end up being about #20+ in this draft, so I think their selection would be ours for the taking if we wanted it. Collingwood, GWS and Melbourne would also be clubs that we'd be offering our 2021 second to if we had already picked up another future second from Hawthorn.

If we do both trades we'd basically be picking up another first round pick this year while maintaining our 2021 draft position.

In: #4, #17, Hawthorn 2021 2nd
Out: #2, North 2021 2nd

Without further ado it's time for the National Tiles Draft. I'll be higher than Joe Cocker* if we can nail this.

So to Mark Finnegan, Brady, Nifty Nev and Peter De Raunch I just want to wish you all good luck, we're counting on you.

*not literally and not figuratively

Liked not just for the sentiments expressed but also because Hilly can spell "ado" correctly. As distinct from the morons, who get up to introduce a speaker, who say "Without further 'adieu' ..."

Game Day Draft Day 2020