Opinion Draft preview (Thread closed, pls move discussion to new draft 'review' thread)

Well reading the Media. It seems like it is out of Lavarde and De Goey and Langford as a Roughy.

Your thoughts on that Knight?

I have no insight as to which way we will go.

I'd personally prefer one of Laverde or Langford and I don't have a strong preference between the two and really like both of them with Laverde having all the tricks and Langford having monsterous scope to improve as a guy who is growing and growing rapidly (vertically and horizontally) then add in his overhead marking and scoreboard impact when used forward of centre. And I like them both.
De Goey while appealing as a tallish midfielder who can take a grab overhead, there are just too many better performed alternatives for me at 5 to personally take him seriously as an option.

But they're just my views of those who seem in the mix.

I have him at 30 to us and I wont see it as issue but thats the mail. Look up his brothers height and he had same trajectory.

Nathan Blakely is 195cm as a key defender for Swannies out West. I'm familiar with his game and he had a breakout year this year at that level anyway. Interesting if clubs think Connor will get to that height.

Not sure if you're an NBA fan but it has a Magic Johnson feel in so much as being a 6'8 point guard, he has the skills of a smaller guy and that only adds to his advantage and Connor in that same regard has that same feel to me anyway in the sense that he has the skillset and ball winning ability plus more of a mid and that additional height by position will only be a further point of difference that only enhance his upside and career prospects.

just watched mason cox's video on the collingwood website. It seems that he is planning to model his game on sandilands and by all accounts he has really fast tracked his development, largely due to how fast he is able to pick up the fundamentals. If he does happen to become a sandy 2.0 down the track then we will have 3 starting ruckman in our list, interested to see how hine plans to balance that list should that scenario eventuate.

I'd personally prefer one of Laverde or Langford and I don't have a strong preference between the two and really like both of them with Laverde having all the tricks and Langford having monsterous scope to improve as a guy who is growing and growing rapidly (vertically and horizontally) then add in his overhead marking and scoreboard impact when used forward of centre. And I like them both.
De Goey while appealing as a tallish midfielder who can take a grab overhead, there are just too many better performed alternatives for me at 5 to personally take him seriously as an option.

Nathan Blakely is 195cm as a key defender for Swannies out West. I'm familiar with his game and he had a breakout year this year at that level anyway. Interesting if clubs think Connor will get to that height.

Not sure if you're an NBA fan but it has a Magic Johnson feel in so much as being a 6'8 point guard, he has the skills of a smaller guy and that only adds to his advantage and Connor in that same regard has that same feel to me anyway in the sense that he has the skillset and ball winning ability plus more of a mid and that additional height by position will only be a further point of difference that only enhance his upside and career prospects.

thats him pal. I'd take him he's just a natural footy player and I think a chance at 30

Well, The lack of Touches is the Only real Negative I can find about De Goey.

IF Hine rates then you back him with his Record.

Well, The lack of Touches is the Only real Negative I can find about De Goey.

IF Hine rates then you back him with his Record.

It's less Hine as it is Rendell now.

Rendell is actually our head recruiter.

I imagine Hine will be the one talking to the media and on the Collingwood website but Hine is now our list manager rather than head recruiter. Hine still calls out the name on draft day and he'll weigh in as to who we should be taking as a part of that recruiting team but from what I understand it's really Rendell with Dom Milesi his right hand man.

One interesting finding in the afl.com weirdest recruiter question video. For the rising star Darcy Moore nominated team-mate Toby McLean (B.O.G in the grand final for Oakleigh).

You can't help but wonder if Darcy might rate Toby more highly than team-mate and potential pick 5 overall in Jordan De Goey. Not to say Darcy would be unhappy playing with De Goey though that could be one interpretation but instead that he really likes Toby's game and personally I think Darcy is pretty close to the mark and has good reason to like Toby's game having watched him throughout the season.
It could also be Darcy giving a mate's draft stocks a boost and Darcy is smart enough to do that but I do think it's none the less interesting Darcy nominated Toby for the rising star.

As for a bit on Toby. He has come from nowhere as an unknown coming into the season and has gotten better and better and improved rapidly as the season has progressed going from a high flying small forward to someone who can also go through the midfield. Toby is well performed, had a strong finals series. He looks a genuine second round prospect and while we probably take someone else who better fits out needs, he is very much a Collingwood selection as a big game and big moment player. In this draft in terms of style he is probably that more Jamie Elliott type as a small marking forward with the ability in the air and potentially up the ground also, just without as much strength as Jamie.

It's less Hine as it is Rendell now.

Rendell is actually our head recruiter.

I imagine Hine will be the one talking to the media and on the Collingwood website but Hine is now our list manager rather than head recruiter. Hine still calls out the name on draft day and he'll weigh in as to who we should be taking as a part of that recruiting team but from what I understand it's really Rendell with Dom Milesi his right hand man.
Yeah, but 'In Rendell we trust' doesn't have the same ring to it.

I am probably with you. My order is:

Laverde - just has special talents and does things that few others in this draft can. height, speed, strength, good 1:1 and can turn a game in a minute.

Ahern - He is just class. Sure he needs to be more consistent but doesnt most of the kids in this draft bar the top 3.

De Goey - I do like him but he lacks the x factor of the other 2. he is a work horse though and tough. Doesnt get enough footy the reason he is 3rd.

Langford - I like him but his decision making I think at times in big games has been an issue. Will still go 10-20 but just that little issue for me. Ben Reid was a bit the same though and when grew into body became a star.

Weller - Forgotten one in all this. Probably the best and most consistent mid in the draft.

Whats your view Knighta

One interesting finding in the afl.com weirdest recruiter question video. For the rising star Darcy Moore nominated team-mate Toby McLean (B.O.G in the grand final for Oakleigh).

You can't help but wonder if Darcy might rate Toby more highly than team-mate and potential pick 5 overall in Jordan De Goey. Not to say Darcy would be unhappy playing with De Goey though that could be one interpretation but instead that he really likes Toby's game and personally I think Darcy is pretty close to the mark and has good reason to like Toby's game having watched him throughout the season.
It could also be Darcy giving a mate's draft stocks a boost and Darcy is smart enough to do that but I do think it's none the less interesting Darcy nominated Toby for the rising star.

As for a bit on Toby. He has come from nowhere as an unknown coming into the season and has gotten better and better and improved rapidly as the season has progressed going from a high flying small forward to someone who can also go through the midfield. Toby is well performed, had a strong finals series. He looks a genuine second round prospect and while we probably take someone else who better fits out needs, he is very much a Collingwood selection as a big game and big moment player. In this draft in terms of style he is probably that more Jamie Elliott type as a small marking forward with the ability in the air and potentially up the ground also, just without as much strength as Jamie.

I've been over Toby all year.

Managed to watch quite a lot of the Chargers games (but less than the cannons) and I think he is something special.

Barring the leap and ability to take the ball at it's highest I don't really see the Elliot comparison though.

He is much more evasive and creative with the ball in hand. That's why I prefer Breust and Gray as comparisons.

Not saying he will end up as good as either of them, but he has similar traits.

Would be keen to bring the 3 chargers boys through together if we are to go De Goey... On the proviso Big Reece isn't available.

mclean at 48 and c. daniel at 75 ??

Very happy to get McLean at 48 but more focussed on #5. I went back and watched De Goey again last night with some of the vision I have and his good is v good but he just doesnt touch it enough. Interestingly go back 12 months and we were saying the same about Freeman who was playing as a midfielder and averaging circa 15 so maybe over playing it as think everyones happy with Freeman.

If you do want to go with De Goey then you have to ask the question is Weller better and I struggle to form a view he isnt. I think you could also start asking if Gore was to be around at #48 why not wait until then to get a good inside mid.

Nonetheless, the other interesting issue is if you go De Goey at 5 then not sure you need another inside sort of player at #30 such as Blakely so surely into the reckoning comes McKenzie, Viojo-Rainbow, Menadue and Cavka.

So maybe a:

Laverde / Ahern and Blakely

or

De Goey / Weller and Cavka / McKenzie / Viojo

At 48 I would be keen on guys like McLean, Bampton, Gore, Howe, McGrath, Newman, Boekhurst, Reece mcKenzie etc.

The last selection will really be only be used if one of their top ones drop otherwise I think they'll upgrade Jack and leave it for the rookie draft. With this draft think you could almost bank there will be a big slider they go for.

FWIW, ST.Kilda mate with some good inside info has them taking Reece McKenzie with one of their 20's picks.

On another note, not trying to derail thread, they asked for picks 4, 6 & 7 from GWS for pick 1 and another pick/player. Flogs.

FWIW, ST.Kilda mate with some good inside info has them taking Reece McKenzie with one of their 20's picks.

On another note, not trying to derail thread, they asked for picks 4, 6 & 7 from GWS for pick 1 and another pick/player. Flogs.

If true, that's ludicrous.

I am probably with you. My order is:

Laverde - just has special talents and does things that few others in this draft can. height, speed, strength, good 1:1 and can turn a game in a minute.

Ahern - He is just class. Sure he needs to be more consistent but doesnt most of the kids in this draft bar the top 3.

De Goey - I do like him but he lacks the x factor of the other 2. he is a work horse though and tough. Doesnt get enough footy the reason he is 3rd.

Langford - I like him but his decision making I think at times in big games has been an issue. Will still go 10-20 but just that little issue for me. Ben Reid was a bit the same though and when grew into body became a star.

Weller - Forgotten one in all this. Probably the best and most consistent mid in the draft.

Whats your view Knighta

I want Connor Blakely and Reece McKenzie most. If I knew I could get Connor at 30 and Reece at 48 I'd do that and go someone else at 5 (Pickett if there or if not then Laverde). But it would be all about maximising how many players I have rated high on my draft board I could get and that would be my objective going into the draft.

If Blakely is not going to be there at 30, or there was a lack of certainty that he would be there I'd take him at 5 and Reece at 30 or 48 again depending on that pick we were certain we could get him with. If it turns out we think Reece won't be there at 30 (I expect he will be) I'd then take him at 5 if necessary as for me although I'm probably the only one in the country with this view, he would be my priority with Blakely that second priority and that second player I'd most want.

Wright and Lever from this shortlist I'd be inclined to pass on and cut from that Collingwood list at 5 given getting Reece McKenzie up forward, wanting him more would be enough and Mason Cox as a further developing depth ruck is enough there. Then down back while I like Lever I don't see him as a necessary addition either give our key defence depth. So essentially both would be cut from that shortlist from a Collingwood perspective at 5.

My top 12 is as follows:
1. Christian Petracca (VIC – Mid/Fwd)

2. Angus Brayshaw (VIC – Mid)

3. Isaac Heeney (Syd – Academy - NSW – Mid)

4. Darcy Moore (Coll - F/S – VIC – KPF/KPD)

5. Patrick McCartin (VIC - KPF)

6. Reece McKenzie (VIC – KPF)

7. Connor Blakely (WA – Mid)

8. Peter Wright (VIC - KPF/Ruck)

9. Jarrod Pickett (WA – Mid/Fwd)

10. Jake Lever (VIC – KPD)

11. Jayden Laverde (VIC – Util)

12. Kyle Langford (VIC – Util)

--

More specifically out of the four who Collingwood seem to be considering in Laverde/De Goey/Langford/Ahern.
My preferences would be in this order:
Laverde
Langford
De Goey
Ahern

De Goey and Ahern to an even greater extent just aren't as well performed and neither look like top few on list talents for me. Laverde and Langford would definitely of those be my two preferences. Laverde I like for the variety and quality of tricks and Langford with that sheer rate of growth. I only slightly prefer Laverde, he is in my view clearly the better player today but long term I project them pretty evenly with Langford seemingly still growing and someone I see being roughly as good long term.

You also mentioned Weller and I like him. Not at 5 but I definitely favour him to Ahern and I rate him while completely different, roughly on par but probably slightly behind De Goey.

It's hard to see St Kilda going for R.McKenzie if McCartin is the pick at 1 for them. Can't see them both fitting in the same team with both genuine full forwards.

When will Emma Q's phantom come out? That's the one I want to read. She got the top 8 right last year so should be around the money with our pick 5.

Emma usually brings it out on draft day from what I recall.

Just watched Toby's highlight package http://www.afl.com.au/draft/draft-machine and he looks very impressive. Would be happy to see us pick him up later in the draft if still available, looks capable to offer a lot more than what Blair has already.