EDFL Division 1

Smith
Kyte
Cronin - he has had his doubters but when enjoying his footy and fit is a gun!
Clothier
Lill
Calvaresi
Barnes
Ellard
Brown
Thomas
Nabbout
Prestia
Anderson
Ross

on that list all but 3 are 23 and younger. So there is plenty of senior development in that list along with of course some genuine A grade footballers eds would need to recruit to compete. Such as 2 key backs and 3-4 top line midfielders!

Gee I'm glad Sciberras was left off this list. He wouldn't be in the long term plans of EDS.

But you can add Ronaldson to the mix, another quality kid under 23.

Im from EDS and can say that the general feeling i get is that we should be there at the end of the season in the finals however there is a long way to go yet. Nothing wrong with having such aspirations and nothing wrong with with wanting to win the flag. There are arrogant players/supporters in every club including mine so i wouldn't worry about that. And ill give Craigieburn credit as in the played wonderfully well after the first quarter and the game could have gone wither way and they won and showed real grit :) They are very reliant on the Clokes which is obvious and thats not knocking the other players as they have a few others that are good and we have been there with the like of Minton-Connel/Aaron James etc in previous years. I like our team as in its pretty even and think we will give it a shake and you know what if we win it will be great and if we don't i will be disappointed however its only a game and life goes on all.

Even though I'm from EDS i don't know all of the facts so would assume that most on here wouldn't anyway didn't EDS want Cronnin and initially didn't chase Kite/Ronaldson? Then they wanted to play as were disgruntled with Glenroy? Two 6" 3" key position forwards, with one being able to asset in the ruck want to come you your club when you have lost a few players what is one to do? Are we saying that EDS should have said no? What about why all of these players want to leave Glenroy thats what id be looking at, we had the same thing a few years back and some were disappointed as quite a few left with some going to same club but we had to have a look in house and make it a better place so people don't want to leave.

Or maybe I'm wrong and EDS have done the wrong thing and Glenroy are right, and we are arrogant try hard bullies that think we are just going to take the flag. If so i don't like those traits so will look for another club to support.

Back on topic great to see Oak Park doing well, a lot of respect for the Oakers and look forward to when we play them as always good to catch up for a beer with a few of the boys :)

THE DREBSTER

What about all the freekicks the umpires missed to the Clokes lets hope there egos keep growing like that .Also sad if as stated on here Glenroy people were threatened with Solicitors Letters just shows they will do anything to win the flag bet if it was Glenroy or Craigieburn sending solicitors letters to the EDS people would have been a complaint to the EDFL.

Threatening letters and late night mystery phone calls to Glenroy people trying to bully them into clearing the two...

If that's fair dinkum what has local footy come to?

If I was from Glenroy I'd be getting the numbers of some of the Douttas 18s who are ready to play Div 1 footy now, but who will hardly get a look in.

Hey mate, I usually like reading your posts but don't agree with clubs poaching other clubs juniors. Clubs should grow there own talent, and recruit around them preferably from outside the EDFL..

What about all the freekicks the umpires missed to the Clokes lets hope there egos keep growing like that .Also sad if as stated on here Glenroy people were threatened with Solicitors Letters just shows they will do anything to win the flag bet if it was Glenroy or Craigieburn sending solicitors letters to the EDS people would have been a complaint to the EDFL.

That's pretty low by EDS. We all understand they poached these 2 players from Glenroy as they work with an EDS sponsor I'm told.

However I do believe EDS are a club that should be in premier league as they are usually a pretty good club with a strong junior base..

Gee I'm glad Sciberras was left off this list. He wouldn't be in the long term plans of EDS.

But you can add Ronaldson to the mix, another quality kid under 23.
I think the recruiting at eds has been clever. Building with quality kids like mentioned and the experience of players like
Carey
Myles
Ramsey
Laverde
Gervasi

I'm hearing that the Tulla coach is trying to poach some premier clubs young reserves players with promise of senior footy and $$. Pretty low act if you ask me..not much integrity..

Hope he remembers what goes around comes around, so be careful..

Im from EDS and can say that the general feeling i get is that we should be there at the end of the season in the finals however there is a long way to go yet. Nothing wrong with having such aspirations and nothing wrong with with wanting to win the flag. There are arrogant players/supporters in every club including mine so i wouldn't worry about that. And ill give Craigieburn credit as in the played wonderfully well after the first quarter and the game could have gone wither way and they won and showed real grit :) They are very reliant on the Clokes which is obvious and thats not knocking the other players as they have a few others that are good and we have been there with the like of Minton-Connel/Aaron James etc in previous years. I like our team as in its pretty even and think we will give it a shake and you know what if we win it will be great and if we don't i will be disappointed however its only a game and life goes on all.

Even though I'm from EDS i don't know all of the facts so would assume that most on here wouldn't anyway didn't EDS want Cronnin and initially didn't chase Kite/Ronaldson? Then they wanted to play as were disgruntled with Glenroy? Two 6" 3" key position forwards, with one being able to asset in the ruck want to come you your club when you have lost a few players what is one to do? Are we saying that EDS should have said no? What about why all of these players want to leave Glenroy thats what id be looking at, we had the same thing a few years back and some were disappointed as quite a few left with some going to same club but we had to have a look in house and make it a better place so people don't want to leave.

Or maybe I'm wrong and EDS have done the wrong thing and Glenroy are right, and we are arrogant try hard bullies that think we are just going to take the flag. If so i don't like those traits so will look for another club to support.

Back on topic great to see Oak Park doing well, a lot of respect for the Oakers and look forward to when we play them as always good to catch up for a beer with a few of the boys :)

THE DREBSTER
Disgruntled or jumped ship as they both were happy to re sign contracts hence all the drama, ive heard kyte reason for leaving was work told him would have to work saturday unless he went eds (rubbish) and ronaldsen wanted to leave to play with mates. If the roys had one of the 2 playing would almost be 4-0 had more scoring shots in every loss, i wonder how these 2 home growns would feel if roys do get relegated? as they have left there club high and dry and alot of blame will get pointed at them.

I think the recruiting at eds has been clever. Building with quality kids like mentioned and the experience of players like
Carey
Myles
Ramsey
Laverde
Gervasi

G'day mate,
Some of the above mentioned players should be good in div1 but are well past premier standard. You could build a div1 side around them but what are there plans for next year?? However I still believe if Kade Carey was fit and free of injuries he could still play premier in the right side if he was not the main focal point. Played out of pocket maybe..

I'm hearing that the Tulla coach is trying to poach some premier clubs young reserves players with promise of senior footy and $$. Pretty low act if you ask me..not much integrity..

Really a coach looking at reserve players in a higher division that's unheard of turbo

Yeah but they are young kids who have played at the club all there juniors. Not some 25-26, not getting opportunities.
So are you saying this is acceptable? Then premier clubs will try and poach the good div1 18s players to come across to premier..IMO not a lot of integrity but each to there own. People have long memories....

Yeah but they are young kids who have played at the club all there juniors. Not some 25-26, not getting opportunities.
So are you saying this is acceptable? Then premier clubs will try and poach the good div1 18s players to come across to premier..IMO not a lot of integrity but each to there own. People have long memories....
You mean the kids who play all there juniors at a club then end up playing reserves for 3/4 years because there club recruits and pays overs for players from outside there club

Hey mate, I usually like reading your posts but don't agree with clubs poaching other clubs juniors. Clubs should grow there own talent, and recruit around them preferably from outside the EDFL..

U18 is senior footy. If you think it doesn't happen already, then you're living in a fantasy world.

You mean the kids who play all there juniors at a club then end up playing reserves for 3/4 years because there club recruits and pays overs for players from outside there club

Are you reading correctly? They are trying to poach kids just out of 18s from premier clubs. They have or will play seniors..

All clubs recruit but not all pay overs. Some clubs pay what a player is worth and there are some decent footballers out there that don't go to the highest offer but the best fit for them..

U18 is senior footy. If you think it doesn't happen already, then you're living in a fantasy world.

My point is it's not right.. Not all coaches do it just the ones with little or no integrity.. It's not a common way to recruit. That I can assure you..

Abers are probably working to the highest budget ( I'm guessing) and do they need to poach other teams kids. Answer is no as I can't name one..

My point is it's not right.. Not all coaches do it just the ones with little or no integrity.. It's not a common way to recruit. That I can assure you..

Abers are probably working to the highest budget ( I'm guessing) and do they need to poach other teams kids. Answer is no as I can't name one..

It might not be common, but it happens and if clubs choose to fill their rosters with recruits, why shouldn't other clubs be free to try and recruit senior players from that same club?

Been doing it since he took the job but he's certainly not the only one and yes you are guessing about Abers working to the highest budget...

Are you reading correctly? They are trying to poach kids just out of 18s from premier clubs. They have or will play seniors..

All clubs recruit but not all pay overs. Some clubs pay what a player is worth and there are some decent footballers out there that don't go to the highest offer but the best fit for them..
You clearly said he is trying to recruit reserves players so yes I am reading correctly !

Are you making your post up as you go or do you consider what you say in a public forum because you seem to be waffling

Last edited by a moderator:

You are joking of course , trying to get a rise obviously, its been going on form day dot, good kids getting poached from other clubs doesn't happen does it!!!
They normally don't make it to seniors before being poached.
As for Tulla and i am not from there and actually don't like the club, what is he supposed to do, he has walked in to a job where most of the senior list has left,
they have no under 18's, he is trying to build a list from scratch, if one of your 10 clubs you seem to know everything about was in this predicament what would you want them to do, roll over and shut the doors. Tulla need to be very careful or they will be in trouble they need youth to rebuild, i actually think they have done a remarkable job in recruiting a competitive list.
Poor premier clubs losing good kids , give me a spell.

Last edited by a moderator:
What about this weeks games?
West meadows v Tullamarine
Can Tullamarine take a big scalpe and if so does that give them a shot at finishing top 4 after testing craigieburn for three quarters in round 2? Tullamarine by 9 points

Glenroy V Essendon Doutta Stars
Personally I think there will be spot fires all day after all the off field drama. Glenroy will be in this contest all day. Eds talent should get the job done and send some concerns thru glenroy at 0-5
Eds by 19 points.

Top of the table clash.
Craigieburn V Oak Park
What a match this should be. Oak park are the unknown and will be tough as they always are! Craigieburn just starting to click and will be just too strong. Craigieburn by 17 points.

Good round of footy this will be.

You are joking of course , trying to get a rise obviously, its been going on form day dot, good kids getting poached from other clubs doesn't happen does it!!!
As for Tulla and i am not from there and actually don't like the club, what is he supposed to do, he has walked in to a job where most of the senior list has left,
they have no under 18's, he is trying to build a list from scratch, if one of your 10 clubs you seem to know everything about was in this predicament what would you want them to do, roll over and shut the doors. Tulla need to be very careful or they will be in trouble they need youth to rebuild, i actually think they have done a remarkable job in recruiting a competitive list.

Agree, people are kidding themselves using the old integrity bullshit. What's the difference between going and poaching a clubs senior player by offering him heaps more money than his existing club can afford or going to speak to a few kids and telling them your club can offer them an opportunity to play senior football.

Since money has gotten out of control and the results at a season end being in order of what has been paid (more or less), in all divisions. You can stick "integrity" up your backside.

Everyone has to do what they can to survive!!!

Hey let's remember that club had a lot of juniors not so long ago and now where are they. Tulla didn't play many of there own home grown talent for many years due to bad club management. Now they are going after 18-19 year olds from premier clubs and sneaking around. I don't like the way they are going about it.. Grow and look after your own backyard.

Do we see the strong clubs like Abers & Greenvale go sneaking around div1 clubs trying to poach 18 year olds. And these clubs (and other premier clubs) have the money to throw at kids.

I understand having a crack at 22-25 year olds that are playing reserves at premier level and can't crack it for a game after trying for years to obtain a regular spot but not kids who the club has invested time in..

Watch out for the guy snooping around your ground on Saturdays or training nights. He might be wearing a disguise to..

Anyway I'm moving on..

EDFL Division 1