Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud

I couldn't care less if the AFL cracks down, Been going to the footy most weekends for 10 years now, crowd behavior has gotten worse. Seen more fights, seen fans scream racial and homosexual slurs towards umpires and players these days. Everyone's acting like the fans are purely innocent and its all political correctness

The reality is, just like the increasing dislike for science, the increasing dislike for media, increased dislike towards migrants, there has been an increase in dislike towards umpires. Every single game day thread these days is complaining about umpires, every single one. And its not fans just booing poor calls, which is fair enough, but still a stupid cop out.

It's gotten to a point where people are booing, abusing and complaining purely for the fact they are umpires. Fans are now screaming murder when an obvious clear as day free kick is ruled called against one of their own. Gets worse and worse each year. Anyone who denies either lives with head up ass, or is annoyed called they cant cross the line no more. Watch the umpire correctly award a free kick against Carlton for a push in the back, clear as day, the rules are obvious. Fans behind the fence start screaming and carrying on at the umpire, one even appear to make a gesture like the umpire is retar-ded. Remember, this is not for a questionable call or terrible umpiring, it was for a freaking correct decision, seriously?

If I'm at the game and a fellow fan next to me sooks about the right call, I tell them to STFU, and they end up getting all moody

I seriously freaking doubt you're gonna get kicked for swearing or being to loud, when it happens heaps every game, otherwise there'd be mass evictions if the AFL was going all trivial. If anyone gets kicked out and says they did nothing wrong, that starts a debate on here about innocent man getting booted, its BS. Everyone who does wrong is always innocent in their own eyes, wouldn't trust a thing that comes from their mouths.

People just want a free reign to be angry flogs these days
IMHO, best response on here and well said!!

I couldn't care less if the AFL cracks down, Been going to the footy most weekends for 10 years now, crowd behavior has gotten worse. Seen more fights, seen fans scream racial and homosexual slurs towards umpires and players these days. Everyone's acting like the fans are purely innocent and its all political correctness

The reality is, just like the increasing dislike for science, the increasing dislike for media, increased dislike towards migrants, there has been an increase in dislike towards umpires. Every single game day thread these days is complaining about umpires, every single one. And its not fans just booing poor calls, which is fair enough, but still a stupid cop out.

It's gotten to a point where people are booing, abusing and complaining purely for the fact they are umpires. Fans are now screaming murder when an obvious clear as day free kick is ruled called against one of their own. Gets worse and worse each year. Anyone who denies either lives with head up ass, or is annoyed called they cant cross the line no more. Watch the umpire correctly award a free kick against Carlton for a push in the back, clear as day, the rules are obvious. Fans behind the fence start screaming and carrying on at the umpire, one even appear to make a gesture like the umpire is retar-ded. Remember, this is not for a questionable call or terrible umpiring, it was for a freaking correct decision, seriously?

If I'm at the game and a fellow fan next to me sooks about the right call, I tell them to STFU, and they end up getting all moody

I seriously freaking doubt you're gonna get kicked for swearing or being to loud, when it happens heaps every game, otherwise there'd be mass evictions if the AFL was going all trivial. If anyone gets kicked out and says they did nothing wrong, that starts a debate on here about innocent man getting booted, its BS. Everyone who does wrong is always innocent in their own eyes, wouldn't trust a thing that comes from their mouths.

People just want a free reign to be angry flogs these days

But we’ve paid money to be able to do ‘support’ our teams.

This is another BS argument that gets banded about

Honestly I've never had or seen a problem attending the footy in Melbourne, which is surprising considering I'm always in the minority, usually drinking a lot and making a lot of noise with a loud mate or two.

Hey It’s becoming like soccer in Europe, next the AFL will need away fans at one end of the ground to reduce the risk of any poor behaviour.

Been to many games in Adelaide and barring the occasional idiot fans are pretty well behaved, except for the piles of rubbish left behind. We don’t need this.

Heard reports of guys getting taped on the shoulder from security last night for being too loud, vocal, etc

This game has gone to absolute **** on every level

The rule changes, PC ********, crowds and the love affair with the bookies

Won’t be going to another game this year and even lost interest with the game this year

I can tell you first hand that I saw 3 blokes get tapped on the shoulder and it wasn't for being "too loud or vocal". They were outright abusing other fans and looking for a fight. Ashamed to say they were fellow Hawthorn brethren.

Wait, Dwayne says going to the footy doesn’t give you the right to abuse people.

Then goes on to call people idiots and “half a brain.”

Dwayne f***ing Russell is hardly a brains trust and needs to close his mouth a lot more often. Guy can barely string more the 2 words together other than the usual humdrum and monotonous sh*t that regularly comes from his "thoughts".

The irony I have with all of this is the worst fan I have ever sat next too was Gil McLachlan at the Eagles vs Demons prelim final. Visibly cheering for the Demons and being antagonistic in the Eagles sponsorship area.

Thats standard behavior for the inner circle east coast boys club at Perth Stadium.It comes from anxiety and percieved threat due to the Eagles and WA in general imo.

Hey It’s becoming like soccer in Europe, next the AFL will need away fans at one end of the ground to reduce the risk of any poor behaviour.

Been to many games in Adelaide and barring the occasional idiot fans are pretty well behaved, except for the piles of rubbish left behind. We don’t need this.
As a soccer fan I prefer having away fans away from me tbh.
I never understood why people like having opposition fans around them.

This is my security moment I saw at last years qualifying final vs Collingwood. Guy was pretty passionate/vocal/nervous and had his arm in a sling from a footy injury i overheard (so easy victim). A ton of swearing but nothing that was I guess threatening. More like "****ING SHIT" when Collingwood kicked a goal and what not

Anyway another guy infront turns around and says "Ive had enough of your swearing. My kid does not need to hear that. If you dont keep quiet ill make you quiet". Now this guy was 8 beers in, was being a smart ass to everyone and spent a good 2 minutes ranting about the bad phone reception not letting him put a bet on at half time for Eagles to win and had been standing up for a ton of the game, anytime ball got in the forward 50 he would stand to watch essentially.

Security guys come and well approach the guy that was swearing asking him to stop. At this point everyone says "Can you ask the guy to stop standing and being rude and aggressive". They said they hadnt got a text message about it and walked off. They dragged the guy swearing out of his seat to talk to him for 5 minutes after the end of the game

In the end I went up to security and had to tell them "Mate, you are throwing the wrong guy out". Luckily they came to their senses some 15 minutes later but to me it shows that alot of the time those reporting anti social behaviour and are actually using it as a barrier to excuse their own anti social behaviour that is about to take place.

Could people be reporting opposition supporters who cheer now they know how easy it is to get them removed?

In my case with Gil, he should have been removed. He was in a Eagles members section as a invited guest cheering the opposition. Its antagonistic and anti social at best. If you invite me to your wedding im not gonna go up to both of you and say "Gee hope you two get a divorce" now am I?

So more evictions during the Carlton vs Bulldogs game, and of course highlighted by the Media.
Not to condone bad behaviour, but given the apparent tighter enforcing on spectator behaviour are others reporting things to Security that would've normally been let go previously, increasing the amount of antagonism being fans.

So more evictions during the Carlton vs Bulldogs game, and of course highlighted by the Media.
Not to condone bad behaviour, but given the apparent tighter enforcing on spectator behaviour are others reporting things to Security that would've normally been let go previously, increasing the amount of antagonism being fans.

ie. Gil doing Gil things

Finding a problem and then enhancing its existence and height by inventing a absurd rule change to put the spotlight on it

Gil is the kind of guy who gets a pimple and on his forehead so draws a red arrow that points to it. The red arrow will distract them. Its the perfect plan

Just no

Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud