Autopsy flogged by hawks, back to game over at half time times

Nobody banters footy with me anymore, at work etc. They feel sorry for North supporters.
They kinda want us to do well out of pity.

It’s like we don’t even belong in this league anymore.

Looking forward to chatting footy with the Hawks guy at work today 😵‍💫

Nobody banters footy with me anymore, at work etc. They feel sorry for North supporters.

"You guys have a lot of good kids"

"I like the way you guys are going about jt"

That's the nice end of the range of feedback I get when I chat with someone whose team just flogged us by 60+.

The worst is that most people don't even recognise us as an AFL presence. Even our drubbing are mostly off Broadway and there's so loud media voices to agitate for change,

You're right, but I also don't feel that's unique to NMFC.

The evolving way people watch footy these days means most 'fans' don't watch any games their club isn't playing in. There's ****-all footy on free-to-air, and most young people don't even watch free-to-air tv anymore anyway.

Everything is streaming and on-demand, and very few people go out of their way to watch a game of footy that their team isn't playing in.

The only exception to this is Friday night footy, which still attracts a lot of viewers largely based on the friday afterwork/friday night drinks culture at pubs and restaurants. But even that is massively dwindling.

You're right, but I also don't feel that's unique to NMFC.

The evolving way people watch footy these days means most 'fans' don't watch any games their club isn't playing in. There's ****-all footy on free-to-air, and most young people don't even watch free-to-air tv anymore anyway.

Everything is streaming and on-demand, and very few people go out of their way to watch a game of footy that their team isn't playing in.

The only exception to this is Friday night footy, which still attracts a lot of viewers largely based on the friday afterwork/friday night drinks culture at pubs and restaurants. But even that is massively dwindling.
Agree and it's why I think AFL figures league wide are cooked to get sponsor dollars coming in.

There is a lot less interest in all clubs both for social change reasons as you say but also because the product is so poor.

The expansion clubs have kneecapped the comp and left it as open slather for clubs able to navigate around the cap or use academy advantages.

Melbourne and Dogs (which was borderline fixed) are the only flags I recall in the last decade not built off some kind of dodgy basis.

He's a lot weaker and doesn't have the body-work to compete in the ruck.

And I love Finnbar!

If there’s a time to do it to give x a chop out (and darling a break) it’s against English who isn’t physical and Darcy who is a similar size to Maley

Kano showed this slide on AFL today. He asks a legitimate question about why are we still getting belted with our so talked Midfield. Mitchell is living in Clarko’s head rent free. 4 - 0 by an average of 70 points.

Surely this week in front of so many club legends we would not shit the bed 2 weeks in a row?

ps No Leslie Nielsen Gifs please 😎

Attachments

• IMG_2477.png
    IMG_2477.png
    443.7 KB · Views: 28
Forrest Gump Running GIF

how does our midfield actually get beat that badly, look at our players who we have there compared to them.

Don't you dare banter with North on their socials either lol

We need to accept those performances are "just part of the process" and maybe we can wait for another 5 years on the bottom.

Lol but seriously we are becoming irrelevant in the comp. If fans or anyone thinks last weeks lost was bad but ok, not too much worry, that's fine, then what is the point. If the team we support can shut off and provide little to no effort at any time, then success is never entrenched, It's fleeting!

"You guys have a lot of good kids"

"I like the way you guys are going about jt"

That's the nice end of the range of feedback I get when I chat with someone whose team just flogged us by 60+.

I too have noticed this.

Once upon a time, of the small melbourne clubs, it felt like we were always the most hated, targeted or talked about by both the media and the broader public. You could open up a bigfooty thread related to North and oppo fans would revel in us choking a lead, being poor, or getting flogged. The dogs, melbourne and St Kilda kinda generally flew under the radar and nobody hated them because they were indifferent to them. If I compiled the number of North stories and opinion pieces in the media compared to those other clubs over the last 30 years, I'd say it's a safe bet we are miles ahead. But people hated us, implying on some level we were relevant, and you knew we were doing some things right by being an uppity small club punching above our weight.

Now we are just another small club. We're going to need a witch doctor to find the shinboner spirit.

I was stuck working on Saturday and haven't seen any of it. Not a single highlight. And that's how it's going to stay. But I am planning to go on Thursday night and we better not pull our pants down early and bring our own lubricant

Hawthorn v North Melbourne​

8 Jack Gunston (HAW)
8 Karl Amon (HAW)
7 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
4 Mabior Chol (HAW)
2 Conor Nash (HAW)
1 Lloyd Meek (HAW)

I too have noticed this.

Once upon a time, of the small melbourne clubs, it felt like we were always the most hated, targeted or talked about by both the media and the broader public. You could open up a bigfooty thread related to North and oppo fans would revel in us choking a lead, being poor, or getting flogged. The dogs, melbourne and St Kilda kinda generally flew under the radar and nobody hated them because they were indifferent to them. If I compiled the number of North stories and opinion pieces in the media compared to those other clubs over the last 30 years, I'd say it's a safe bet we are miles ahead. But people hated us, implying on some level we were relevant, and you knew we were doing some things right by being an uppity small club punching above our weight.

Now we are just another small club. We're going to need a witch doctor to find the shinboner spirit.

After attending games for 62 years Cyber, l'm not sure the Shinboner Spirit exists anymore mate.
Did Bard kill it ? Covid & the hub ? It used to be the standard that we set and lived by. If people think it's old hat or ancient history it's not, it's always been our 1 wood.
Saturday should have seen it emerge in all it's glory. An old foe, away from home, a 124 point belting there last year...." 13....13....."

Sadly l don't think it will magically appear Thu.night 🙄

After attending games for 62 years Cyber, l'm not sure the Shinboner Spirit exists anymore mate.
Did Bard kill it ? Covid & the hub ? It used to be the standard that we set and lived by. If people think it's old hot or ancient history it's not, it's always been our 1 wood.
Saturday should have seen it emerge in all it's glory. An old foe, away from home, a 124 point belting there last year...." 13....13....."

I reckon it went AWOL on Elimination day in 1987, came back in '93 (although that was probably more sheer talent than something mystical), came and went in the 00's and was put out of its misery under Scott.

Hasn't been seen since.

Did Bard kill it ? Covid & the hub ? It used to be the standard that we set and lived by. If people think it's old hot or ancient history it's not, it's always been our 1 wood.

I remember Bard saying something along the lines of we needed to be known for more than that. I think that's when it started to die. Instead of complimenting it, we over corrected while he told players to worry about owning a house first and foremost. Boomer and Petrie's exit were really the last gasps of it, and pride in the jumper is treated almost as a sin. Losses are not taken personally with this lot, and it shows.

I have massive blues with my boss about North. He always says I'm an idiot for following them.
And I work for myself.
This gag never ages hahaha. One of my favourites iterations is 'when you're plowing the boss' daughter but then remember you're self employed'

Autopsy flogged by hawks, back to game over at half time times