No Oppo Supporters Geelong defeated by Richmond in PF by 19 points

That match wasn't in Sydney - this is what you said: Did you see them play hawks in Sydney it was horrible, but they got their s**t together .

And the last time GWS hosted the Hawks in Sydney, the Giants actually won by 11 points (misread first time), final score of 95 def 84
Canberra same shit. GWS actually better record there. Don’t be cute and pedantic ! GWS GOT THIR SHIT TOGETHER! No excuses cats!

Hawks 85-GWS 29 round 21 then they got flogged by dogs. Poor form in lead up to finals, yet they got it together. A credit to their organization I would’ve thought.
Another telling difference is personnel options.

For us- lose a very good good player and replace with an average player.

For them - Lose an elite player, replace with a very good player.

He responded to Roo's question reg. the professional criticism by saying that 'not all decisions will be agreed with 100%.' In my eyes he is either a) deluded, b) deflecting, or c) setting up the 'full support of the board' stance which will been Scott will shortly be removed. Unfortunately, the rest of his nonsense suggests it is option a and b.
I my eyes it is option d) none of the above.

Hawks 85-GWS 29 round 21 then they got flogged by dogs. Poor form in lead up to finals, yet they got it together. A credit to their organization I would’ve thought.
Their 12 or so high first rounders probably didn’t hurt. All in their prime in terms of age and experience now.
Who knows. They might even give the tigers a run for their money.

Indeed Spazz. Our home ground advantage is very over rated IMO. It helps to have the home crowd noise but good sides still get up ( GWS anyone ). The one game against a finals side showed it too. We play 6 games against modest to poor sides and win and 2 against strong sides and go 50:50
Yeah for sure, & back in that period when a lot of interstate sides were the best , Port, Brissy, WC, Sydney we got beaten heaps at KP cause they were better.

Their 12 or so high first rounders probably didn’t hurt. All in their prime in terms of age and experience now.
Who knows. They might even give the tigers a run for their money.

I think they definitely can. If Richmond are off they'll get rolled. They'll need to be very good to beat them.

Yep, am warming to the idea. They are playing well-strong all over the ground and they were so gritty the other day. I thought pies would get them but they really fought-it was impressive. They have the players to stop some of the tiger stars.

I still maintain looking at ladder position with us is dangerous... our home games against junk sides cant inflate that figure.
We have less home games then other teams who also play junk sides at home. So no it doesnt. Our home and away record reflects where we should be. Its our horrendous self inflicted mistakes at team selection and match day coaching in finals combined with our bizarre inability to perform after byes (who knows what causes that) that results in us not performing in finals.

I don't think our home ground inflates our ladder position, I believe it's our list.
We have a brilliant top end, top 5/6 players who are the equal or better than any other team however we drop away sharply from there.
Those top players are good enough on their own to will themselves to win games of footy that we otherwise probably wouldn't, we've seen plenty over the years of super close games where a colossus performance from Dangerfield or Selwood or Hawkins drag us to victory. That inflates our winning record and our ladder position, then we enter finals where you NEED 22 players all pull their weight and we fall apart.
This year was the best chance we had because we genuinely had 22 finals quality players, we either didn't pick them, didn't play them in their positions or lost them due to injury/suspension, then we didn't bother turning up in the first final...

Scott has made some selection and positional mistakes that cost us. He has to take responsibility for those mistakes when it costs a GF berth. His position needs to be looked at.
Can't help thinking about that first half as well. Given the way we played, surely Hawkins would have improved our score by a couple of goals? A lead of 5 goals at half time may have made a difference. Hawkins on the ground giving us something to kick to in the second half may have made a difference.
I know its all hypothetical now but he is almost on par with Scott in the responsibility stakes.
We really shot ourselves in both feet this year. Reckon it was really winnable. That's what hurts the most.

Another telling difference is personnel options.

For us- lose a very good good player and replace with an average player.

For them - Lose an elite player, replace with a very good player.

This is a quote from an article about GWS not drafting Grundy, and you can't tell me that they don't still have the same mentality when it comes to drafting youth:

But GWS insiders quickly dismissed that theory yesterday. Instead, they said the draft mantra early days was to simply stockpile the best kids.
Wind up with a surplus in one position? Who cares — that’s when you trade away for your needs.

Keep drafting the best kids, when some then want to leave you get high draft picks in return which can then be used to draft the best kids & the cycle continues

Clubs maybe should be looking at who isn't in their best 22 because if they start to get thinned out with their reserve players going elsewhere, they don't get the same high draft picks in a trade & there isn't necessarily the same quality in waiting. Keep taking from their best 25 & they keep doing as they are

What are you talking about??? O'Connor had 18 touches, more than many of our mids including Guthrie, Parfitt, Menegola, Blicavs and Narkle, and while they were being torched up and down the wings in the second half guess what O'Connors opponent was doing....faark all.

O'Connor was excellent defended well one goal saving tackle 18 touches

I thought it was a good year - i had us 7th at the start of the year

Last 2 weeks - i think Geelong have played really well - very good win against the Eagles - and then the 1st half against the Tigers thats the best Geel has played since 2013- but in the 2nd half the better side ( they wernt $1.30 faves for no reason ) played irresitible football and won . It was like when Geel played Port in that final in 13 - Port led by about 4 goals at half time - and every one knew the big comeback was on the cards - and the big comeback eventuated - just like Frid night

If Geel were eliminated playing like they did in that 1st final against Coll - then you would be dissappointed - but how the Cats played the last 2 weeks - they they couldnt have played any better . As Chris Scott said - it is a wasted opportunity ( any Prelim beaten team that applies ) however he then added that we just wernt good enough - and thats it - Richmond were too good - Richmond were the better side

The trouble with Big Footy posters - with 90% they know everything ( and they have probably played 1st grade nothing ) they will tell you that Chris Scott hasnt got a clue that Malcolm Blight couldnt coach - Ross Lyon is a dill - Roos talks rubbish - its endless . The problem with Big Footy posters - is they want a player in 6 spots at the same time - and they have never played or coached at the highest level - but they have got the solutions for everything

If Geel keep playing the brand of football they played in the last 2 weeks then i think the future is ok

Correct, was arguably our worst player over the finals series.
Not entirely his fault of course, played out of position for some reason only the Coach/MC could (but won't) explain.
Not arguable. Clearly our worst and one of the worst finals performances by any player in a decade.
His opponent was our oppositions best player in the first two finals. In the third final he had a measly 10 possessions as a mid and most of those possessions were poorly disposed. The killer being the missed set shot from less then 20 metres directly in front that would of had us more then four goals ahead.

Last 2 weeks - i think Geelong have played really well - very good win against the Eagles - and then the 1st half against the Tigers thats the best Geel has played since 2013- but in the 2nd half the better side ( they wernt $1.30 faves for no reason ) played irresitible football and won . It was like when Geel played Port in that final in 13 - Port led by about 4 goals at half time - and every one knew the big comeback was on the cards - and the big comeback eventuated - just like Frid night

If Geel were eliminated playing like they did in that 1st final against Coll - then you would be dissappointed - but how the Cats played the last 2 weeks - they they couldnt have played any better . As Chris Scott said - it is a wasted opportunity ( any Prelim beaten team that applies ) however he then added that we just wernt good enough - and thats it - Richmond were too good - Richmond were the better side

The trouble with Big Footy posters - with 90% they know everything ( and they have probably played 1st grade nothing ) they will tell you that Chris Scott hasnt got a clue that Malcolm Blight couldnt coach - Ross Lyon is a dill - Roos talks rubbish - its endless . The problem with Big Footy posters - is they want a player in 6 spots at the same time - and they have never played or coached at the highest level - but they have got the solutions for everything

If Geel keep playing the brand of football they played in the last 2 weeks then i think the future is ok
we werent good enough cos the coaches fu*** up. We best richmond by 70 points earlier in the year ffs. Coaches again refusing to take responsibility. Disgusting.

Why are you putting all posters together and assuming they are one single inconsistent being? Ofcourse such a being would be inconsistent as they arent the same fu*** person.

Probably because he is describing the 'crowd psychology' or mob-mentality that is now so predominant on this board. Seems an accurate observation, really. Right down to your outraged censuring of his opinion. You guys should organise a nice public burning--perhaps an effigy of Scott. You might find it cathartic.

Interstate teams get 11 games at home instead of 9.
We have to play the junk sides somewhere. Do you reckon we'd lose against them at Etihad?

Yeah more likely to lose there. We are kidding ourselves playing on our toy ground every second week....That and the coach and his appalling finals record all add up to us losing.

Agree with a lot of this.

The effort against Collingwood was steady as she goes on all fronts - very disappointing. Then West Coast on the G . Played with more flair and dug deep in the last to end back to back hopes of W.C. At half time v. Tigers the moves Scott had made could not be questioned we had neutralised the flag favourites and were looking good (Lynch had 2 but why change things then?). To add salt Geelong kicked 2.5 in the last half of the quarter when we were in control. 5.2 would have done the job. After half time the tigers to their credit went past and we couldn't respond this time ( Thats where Hawkins should hang his head - when run is gone a couple of strong marks can be invaluable) .

It struck me watching GWS stop to a walk in their PF last quarter that the old advantage of not having to play 3 finals still has something in it especially if a big effort is need right to the end of previous game.

Anyway. My thoughts on Scott don't revolve around poor coaching but I do take into account tenure - 8 years since his first year win.
He has done well since but hasn't had the success he and we all want. Maybe he should put his hat in the ring for Freo job? Out there, but he knows the place. He would get it (I think) and then many BF supporters would be happier. Probably won't happen but it would be good for him and give someone else a crack at it.

Have no idea who would take over at Catland!

This is a quote from an article about GWS not drafting Grundy, and you can't tell me that they don't still have the same mentality when it comes to drafting youth:

Keep drafting the best kids, when some then want to leave you get high draft picks in return which can then be used to draft the best kids & the cycle continues

Clubs maybe should be looking at who isn't in their best 22 because if they start to get thinned out with their reserve players going elsewhere, they don't get the same high draft picks in a trade & there isn't necessarily the same quality in waiting. Keep taking from their best 25 & they keep doing as they are

Astute. So far clubs seem to be falling for the swap with a round 1 pick game. This will keep them up for a very long time. They optimised this strategy. Meanwhile, GC mistimed this. If they were successful, then the same model would work for them too.

The reason it worked for GWS is because the pool for the rest of the teams was severely diluted, so in the peak age group for success (25ish), there are currently a bunch of players forming the core of a lot of teams that are the same age as the Giants stars, but are significantly inferior. The only way that these teams are doing ok is through excellent coaching and development.

The GC should have done better during the Hawks years of dominance, except that they had a bunch of kids in a party city, a disconnect between professional players like Ablett and these kids and an inability of the coaches to reign it all in. So instead, they keep moving to back of the queue and lose their kids way too early prior to success - becoming a feeder club - and they can only attract older players looking for cash.

No Oppo Supporters Geelong defeated by Richmond in PF by 19 points