Autopsy Geelong lose to WC by 9 points at Optus

Few things: Was a pretty good effort backing up after the absolute slog on Monday. We knew what we were getting with Rohan, he has always been a low possession player so we cannot blame him, he is delivering what he always has.

Sav: Few costly mistakes but I think he competed pretty well for a kid against the best tap ruckman in our game right now.

Fog: I do not see it with him, I know he is probably being played out of position, but nothing he has done has made me think he will make it.

Blitz: Like someone said earlier, the more time he has the worse it is for us. Can get easily overwhelmed by options.

Danger: Seems a little off, I feel like he sometimes picks and chooses his contests, he will do a little three-quarter jog until he realises he can probably actually make a contest then goes all out. As we know he is not the most defensive minded player going around.

Chook: I feel some around here overrate him or I underrate him, have not made my mind up yet.

All up disappointed to lose, but gave a decent account.
Agree with most of that but I'll say Fogarty played some games in his first year that were afl standard. He has really gone backwards and I'm not sure why. In a year like this maybe he's just struggling with the hubs etc

People are deluded if they think he will make it. Compare him to a bloke like Ben King. Sav is so far off the mark it's not funny
LOL

Ben King highly touted Top 5 or 10 pick. Footy all his life

Sav pick in the 40's in his 3rd season playing as a ruck he was not drafted to be - more as a forward - against one of in not the most influential ruck in the league who was a pick 2 and has about 9 seasons behind him.

I laugh at this over reactionaary kinda thought process (not directed specifically at the OP btw)

Im not gonna defend the missed shot for goal, the bad sideways kick and the misseed handpass.
They are skill errors no doubt that hurt us. And he needs to work on them and should have made them.

That said he aint alone here. PFD, Menegola, Rohan, Dahl and even Tomma have missed gettableset shots this season. It happens. They can all improve here.

With regards to the sideways kick - IMO he wanted to go long first and then did the "team" structure overpossession thing and missed the kick.
He joins a long list of our players that have missed those - some Carji Greeves winners and AA in there too. Guthrie, Menegola, Parfitt, BLltz, Henry, Stewart, Miers have all missed those kicks this year - added to losses we have had as well. Sin bin them too?

And the handball - add Sav to the team list that's missed them

The point is this - we have not had the ability to drafet at pick 6. WE dont get the top end prospects. And when we do get blokes, they need to learn. SAv missed some shit here and it turned into scores against us. Ugly as ****. Yes. Hangable offence. Hell no.

It comes with development. If people want to skewer Sav, then go ahead. But you'd better take some much more expereinced and high rated players as well for making the same mistakes.

His ruck work and genenral play has improved from game 15 to game 30. He's getting better. Keep playing him.

GO Catters

What's the deal with Fogarty. He was a first round draft pick and has had time to develop. He was like a fish out of water last night. Liked your comment about Blicavs. He ummed and ahhed and actually ran around in a circle before running out of time and turning it over. I was screaming at the TV to just get him off the ground.
Where are people getting this "first round draft pick" thing from? He wasn't a first round draft pick. He was taken in a part of the draft that was starting to get speculative. What pumped up his tyres was his first year form not his selection order.

I don't know if he's going to make it or not but last night he played like a kid who has played midfield in the 2s for two years and was dropped into the forward line to cover an injury.

Don't you think it's about time Scott introduced a young tall to our forwardline?
I mean it's a great time for a young guy like Kreuger to do a quick apprenticeship under TH in this short season.
We need a Kennedy type who can mark over his head.

LOL

Ben King highly touted Top 5 or 10 pick. Footy all his life

Sav pick in the 40's in his 3rd season playing as a ruck he was not drafted to be - more as a forward - against one of in not the most influential ruck in the league who was a pick 2 and has about 9 seasons behind him.

I laugh at this over reactionaary kinda thought process (not directed specifically at the OP btw)

Im not gonna defend the missed shot for goal, the bad sideways kick and the misseed handpass.
They are skill errors no doubt that hurt us. And he needs to work on them and should have made them.

That said he aint alone here. PFD, Menegola, Rohan, Dahl and even Tomma have missed gettableset shots this season. It happens. They can all improve here.

With regards to the sideways kick - IMO he wanted to go long first and then did the "team" structure overpossession thing and missed the kick.
He joins a long list of our players that have missed those - some Carji Greeves winners and AA in there too. Guthrie, Menegola, Parfitt, BLltz, Henry, Stewart, Miers have all missed those kicks this year - added to losses we have had as well. Sin bin them too?

And the handball - add Sav to the team list that's missed them

The point is this - we have not had the ability to drafet at pick 6. WE dont get the top end prospects. And when we do get blokes, they need to learn. SAv missed some sh*t here and it turned into scores against us. Ugly as fu**. Yes. Hangable offence. Hell no.

It comes with development. If people want to skewer Sav, then go ahead. But you'd better take some much more expereinced and high rated players as well for making the same mistakes.

His ruck work and genenral play has improved from game 15 to game 30. He's getting better. Keep playing him.

GO Catters
Spot on. I also think his first half was really good, but he just does not have the tank to sustain it. He was too gassed to make any kind of decent disposal. If Fort plays and they share the ruck then none of these negative impacts from Sav happen and everyone is singing the praises of our pick 42 roughie mixing it with NicNat

On a positive note, Close actually impressed me more tonight than he did on debut last week, even though the hype was bigger against Freo. Thought he did a few clever things tonight.

There was no hype against Freo. People said he showed some good signs against Freo, and he showed more good signs this week. It helped that he wasn't playing in a swimming pool.

Nope, in none of those cases has the tap work been as dominant, effective and significant as it was last night.
I agree. Ill admit I mainly only watch us, but last night and the last time we played Nic Nat without a ruckman are the only times I remember taps being so effective in a fair while.
He's an amazing player. Enjoyed watching him actually.

I agree kind of. I love his effort. I love how he contests everything too.
But he just can't kick. It's a bit poor by him (and the club too) that he hasn't improved his kicking over the pre-season and the Corona pre-season.
I think he should have a break and really think about how much extra effort he wants to put into this if he wants to make it.
We simply can not afford the luxury of him not being in our team at present. He still contributed to some goals yesterday, and as you say, that contested effort is great. What sort of message is it to dump him now? The skill errors will improve through training and by volume of work.

Blicavs cost us in the last quarter he cannot handle pressure. Both he and Sav are good athletes but are lacking in footy skills. I also get so frustrated watching Tom Hawkins. He does some good things but he chucks a hissy fit and withdraws from the contest whenever his opponent plays him close or impedes his progress to the incoming ball. All you want from a big forward is a contest, either mark the ball or bring it to the ground. Sometimes he just doesn't bother to compete because the ball is not delivered lace out. The midfielders have busted their guts getting him an opportunity and he just turns his back on it. It happened a couple of times in the Game last night. So incredibly frustrating.
He is probably terrified that if he touches another player he will be reported and suspended. Have no doubt that will be foremost in his mind.

Agree with your comments. Henry was caught flat footed ball watching in the last quarter as his smaller opponent pretty much took an uncontested mark in the goal square. Blicavs imploded in the last quarter. Dangerfield's numbers have been down all year, he is rarely in our best players. Gone are the days he would dominate a game. We really missed Gary Ablett's clean ball handling last night.
And therein lies a problem. Abletts skills are very much missed. The little things that he does , the big things that he does. Missed that and missed Selwoods footy skills and experience. They are the difference, not Dangerfield

Credit to Henderson tonight... still got it. Lot of criticism of his selection but geez you watch kolo and Henry And you get why he's in the team.

Sent from my SM-J810Y using Tapatalk

Hendo was and is still afl standard.

Sorry i am late...
Worked last night watched it all again this morning.
Beaten by a kick or two vs the Flag Favourites on their own turf.
We missed a few blokes... but they did in McGovern.
Disappointed yeah. But Geezus, some blokes on here. Fair dinkum get a grip.
A stray kick here a bad hand ball there and the result couldn't been different.
A few players looked gassed and the same old culprits still can't kick... nor ruck rove nor... ahhh never mind.
SMH how a 2 time B&F still can't hit a target week in week out.
As for the young blokes... great game to experience. Will do them good.
Cheers folks.

It's a risky game plan to absorb pressure and try to counter-punch. Every decision needs to be spot on, and a couple of Sav sideways disposals, Guth play-on, MOC slow high switch, Close missed target off half back really hurt. Almost panicky, and we've seen it before in big games. Very gettable set shots from Sav and Rohan cost us as well. We carried a few on the night.

We had a decent crack but in the end we were terrified of every stoppage. NicNat was as dominant as anyone I've seen in a while.

A short 4 day break to face a suddenly inspired NM side doesn't bode well.

We simply can not afford the luxury of him not being in our team at present. He still contributed to some goals yesterday, and as you say, that contested effort is great. What sort of message is it to dump him now? The skill errors will improve through training and by volume of work.
Fair enough. I think your right.
It just annoys me, not just with him, but other players across the comp who haven't improved their kicking as well.
They've had the time this year.
It would be great while they've got nothing to do atm if Tommy could spend a couple of a hours a day with him, pass down some knowledge on decisions, kicking, handballing, ruckwork.
Tommy can do it all. Would be a great skills coach.

I do not think Sav will make it.
He does not stick his marks.
Gives away free kicks

Does not have a tank

GEELONG SHOULD GET A RUCKMAN FFS.
HOW MANY YEARS HAS IT BEEN.

I am sure SCOTT would explain it but it is too hard for us to understand

And please tell us which player(Ruckman) wants to come here and what it will cost in players picks money???
Last time i looked, those worth a pinch of salt aren't driving down the highway.
I have no doubt they have kicked the can on a few players but to no avail.
Even Goldy who was laughed at as being an old slowing dinosaur by a fair few on here didn't want $600k paO to drive down the highway.
Oh.. and please take note.
Sav isn't our number 1 or number 2 choice as a ruckman. He is being groomed as a key forward that can pinch hit in the ruck.
Our Ruck division is Stanley & Fort. Both injured.
Cheers

Shouldn’t have been a mark at all. He put his hand on the shoulders.
That rule is gone now I think. If they pull it off they pay the mark every time.
If the drop it they pay hands in the back.
That mark looked bloody spectacular from the front.