List Mgmt. General Trade/Draft/Free Agency Discussion/Speculation

• Thread starter Thread starter Membling

If the club changed it's mind and decided to take tippett tomorrow is say we had an excellent free agency /trade/ draft period

In: BUDDY FRANKLIN!, Laidler, derickx,jones( excellent pick), that Tasmanian ruckmen, Hewitt,allir ,Perris , Tippett??

Out: Mumford, lamb, everitt,

I'm happy with that

If the club changed it's mind and decided to take tippett tomorrow is say we had an excellent free agency /trade/ draft period

In: BUDDY FRANKLIN!, Laidler, derickx,jones( excellent pick), that Tasmanian ruckmen, Hewitt,allir ,Perris , Tippett??

Out: Mumford, lamb, everitt,

I'm happy with that

Is this like the Blackadder episode whenever someone mentions McBeth the actors had to do that silly saying and dance and clash heads so they called it the Scottish play.

If so.... Nankervis.

Has anyone actually considered that J.Tippett might not be that good, that's why we didn't pick him up? Astounding thought I know.

We didn't pick up Darling, Garlett, H Taylor and J Marsh and it sure wasn't because they aren't good enough.

However I agree with you on Tippett.

Was Ted Richards good when we picked him up and gave Essendon pick 19? J.Tippett fits our criteria of getting the most out of a player and is a defender ready to go who has 6-7 years left.

Part of me thinks we weren't interested as the money we gave to Derickx and Laidler could of been used for J.Tippett.

We didn't pick up Darling, Garlett, H Taylor and J Marsh and it sure wasn't because they aren't good enough.

However I agree with you on Tippett.

Darling was overlooked by all other clubs until he was eventually selected, and there have been rumours about him tanking draft interviews with all other clubs except the Eagles for quite some time (Would you really want to draft a player who doesn't want to play for you?) (Same rule applies to Rioli and Hawthorn)

Garlett was overlooked by all clubs except Hawthorn twice, we are not alone in this decision it's possible the club just didn't want to take a risk on him and you know what? I am willing to back their decision on that.

Harry Taylor went at pick 18 in the 2008 draft and was actually expected to go a little bit later in the draft, it's quite possible we could of been looking at him at pick 26 instead of Meredith.

As for J Marsh he went at pick 77, he was overlooked by every other team in the draft so it's pretty obvious that most clubs had questions on the kids consistency, I am not too worried about not picking him up.

I will be one to say I watched him over here (SA) for a few games and he's developing into what could be a good AFL standard defender. I'm not saying we should have gone out of our way to get him but he's certainly better than the general perception was before his last few months of development. I wish him well as a Roo though. Hopefully he'll make something of himself and get a regular senior gig.

It's a bit sad to see Jolly try to push on for that 1 year too many. The development of Collingwoods young ruck stocks this year obviously surprised him as I believe he was expecting to be handed one more year then call it quits. Unfortunately when it's time it's time.

Despite the bad taste he left after he left us he did give us some good years of service so I congratuate him on a good career with some increadible highlights (premierships) many players don't get the chance to achieve. I suppose the good news for him is he'll be able to focus on his media career now...

I said many times on here that Marsh would be a mistake with our first pick and look where he ended up

Looking for the Port board? :P

I wasn't lol!!! Draft tracker listed him as a swan so I posted here. I was even surprised because I knew Port were very keen on him. I double checked and it had swans emblem next to him. Weird!! Oh well good pickup for them. But just quietly you blokes have a ripper in Hewett.

It's a bit sad to see Jolly try to push on for that 1 year too many. The development of Collingwoods young ruck stocks this year obviously surprised him as I believe he was expecting to be handed one more year then call it quits. Unfortunately when it's time it's time.

Despite the bad taste he left after he left us he did give us some good years of service so I congratuate him on a good career with some increadible highlights (premierships) many players don't get the chance to achieve. I suppose the good news for him is he'll be able to focus on his media career now...

Nah ..........fook him.

He wanted Collingwood!

He got them. Now he has to taste every thing that they have to offer.
When the have finished with a player & had enough, there is no worse team at the treatment of their former players.

Didak, Jolly, Dawes, Tarrant when he went to Freo, Heath Shaw,, Josh Fraser, Heath Scottland, Paul Williams...........the list is a long one.

Watch & learn Jols.
This team eats their owm.

I wasn't lol!!! Draft tracker listed him as a swan so I posted here.

I saw it to mate, I was thinking WTF but was stoked as he would have been great depth of the rookie list......well done port.

Things I noticed with this video

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/2013-11-29/draftees-settle-in

- Gary Rohan is being a pain :p
- Zak Jones has very high ambitions as he wants to be consistently at training so his goal over the preseason is to show up to training more often than not :D

It is wonderful to hear the kids before they gp through extensive media training and learn to say inane things deadpan.

The two talls look like they are going to be seriously big units when they grow up.

The more I see aliir aliir , the more I like him. Is it just me or does that kid seem to be over the moon at being at the club. Really great to see, I get a feeling he is gonna be the kind of bloke that comes on leaps and bounds really quickly . I won't be surprised if he gets a senior call up this year

His 2 previous clubs would argue otherwise.

He did not play in defense at his two previous clubs he played as a forward/ruckman. some of the best defenders were failed forwards, our own Reg, Leo Barry, Stephen Silvagni (started footy life as FF and even played as FF and kicked a lot of goals for one season later but originally put back through necessity) the list could go on for kilometres.