RooMatera

Good win yesterday.
Just wanted to say, I liked the purple/white outfits yesterday, I prefer them to the red,green, pruple,white one.

Oh I'll also slap Chris Connolly if he even considers about dropping T-Lo again. Hes a gun! After Koops' shoulder injury in the Aboriginal Allstar game earlier this year, he is a shadow of his former self and doesn't rate against T-Lo.

Thought the performance was barely adequate, although i'm prepared to accept the strength of the wind as a mild excuse. But I agree with you about the jumpers, I thought they looked bloody good, it seems to give the club a bit more identity.

Skills were a bit of a worry at times.
And on the T Longmuir issue I think he should be traded to the eagles.
So he had one good game,frankly hes a wasted talent at the club and does as many bad things as he does good things.
Everytime I see him, he seems to commit a unforced error or just kicks the hell out of it in hope.
Trade him I say

Originally posted by sabre_ac
So he had one good game,frankly hes a wasted talent at the club and does as many bad things as he does good things.
Everytime I see him, he seems to commit a unforced error or just kicks the hell out of it in hope.
Trade him I say

You make me shake my head more than Chris_Judd does...

I have always been critical of T lo's errors when he finds the pill. But his form has been good and he has been keeping his turn overs to a minimum. He should be playing on the HFF I reckon we would get better use from him there. I reckon he's done enough to be offered another contract for another year.

Originally posted by Scal
You make me shake my head more than Chris_Judd does...

Um
Beauty of this site and board in particular is you can post your opinions on players and the team.
T Longmuir in my opinion is overated and a liability more often than an asset when he is on the field.
He has perfected the "boot the hell out of it and hope" ploy.
I believe we should trade him as we have no room in our side for players like that.

Trade him I say

Did he steal your lunch money when you were at school together?

I don't think we should trade T Lo.

His market value would be less than his value to us on the field and we wouldn't get as much as we demanded for him at this stage.

He adds some toughness and grunt to our midfield & half forward line and is very strong overhead. Pound for pound he is the strongest at the club along with Medhurst.

I agree with sabre he sometimes tends to kick the footy as far as he can in hope, but if he has the skill of kicking the ball 60 metres, he may as well utilize it when the time is right. Hopefully Connolly and Ball will improve his vision and phase the 'blind kick' out of his game.

And I agree the purple/white jumper gives the club more idendity than the purple, green, red and white jumper. I like to think of the purple jumper as a combination of red and blue, the colors of South Freo and East Freo respectively.

Um
Beauty of this site and board in particular is you can post your opinions on players and the team.
T Longmuir in my opinion is overated and a liability more often than an asset when he is on the field.
He has perfected the "boot the hell out of it and hope" ploy.
I believe we should trade him as we have no room in our side for players like that.

I repeat, you make me shake my head more than Chris_Judd does. Believe it or not, that's an opinion too, that's why I posted it.

He has been in our top ten players in the last two games. The one-percenters he does when he throws himself at the ball are excellent. We are a team screaming out for a long kicking midfielder, which is a reason that Headland was so well suited to our midfield. Unfortunately, he hasn't been great this year.

I believe T-Lo has performed more than well enough to keep his spot in the team. I won't make any predictions for trade time as it is still a long way away. Why bother talking about it when we have at least 5 games left. What happens if T-Lo tears opposition teams apart in the next few weeks?

Conversely, he may also play crap for the next 5 weeks, justifying your claim to trade him.

My point is, saying we should trade him as of this point in time is ludicrous. Trading seems to be your solution to lots of problems. Don't you think we would be better off holding the team together so it learns to get better and better as a team? I mean, that's the way premierships are won, not by trading madly at the end of every year and turning over your list.

You've even specified to trade him to West Coast. How do you know that they are going to have anything we want?

Since you want opinions, here's one. Luke McPharlin played a lot worse than Troy Longmuir yesterday, his disposal was absolutely shocking. Graham Polak didn't play as well as Longmuir. Des Headland didn't play as well as Longmuir last week.

Do you want to trade them too? After all, you've made the decision to trade T-Lo after he's played two good games, why not trade all these guys that have played average recently?

We can't afford to trade anyone. We need a core group of 26-28 top liners if we are serious and the all need our support and not turn on them (like E-girls supporters) when they have a bad run with form/injury or not quite being able to make the best 22 on the day.

Don't get me wrong, if the right trade comes along, you should take it. We would have been silly to pass up Headland last year.

For example, let's say at the end of this season that Daniel Kerr wanted to be traded to the Dockers. We'd be silly not to have a go.

But, throwing up a name to be traded with weeks to go in the season is sillier.

Apart from that, I agree with you completely Ripper.

My point is, saying we should trade him as of this point in time is ludicrous. Trading seems to be your solution to lots of problems. Don't you think we would be better off holding the team together so it learns to get better and better as a team? I mean, that's the way premierships are won, not by trading madly at the end of every year and turning over your list.

Somebody mentioned that Conolly would probally trade him.
I agreed that he should be traded.
Conolly gave him one more year and I dont think he has done enough to warrant having his contract extended.
My only two other suggestions of trading have been Croad and Hadrill. And it is because we are still at least one midfielder short of a premireship. Yet we have an oversupply of Key position players where as most other clubs have a shortage.
Its good logic if I do say so myself.

You've even specified to trade him to West Coast. How do you know that they are going to have anything we want?

I dont...no one does on this site...its a site for discussion of possibilities.

Since you want opinions, here's one. Luke McPharlin played a lot worse than Troy Longmuir yesterday, his disposal was absolutely shocking. Graham Polak didn't play as well as Longmuir. Des Headland didn't play as well as Longmuir last week.

Yes but firstly they are younger.
Secondly we have seen there best and its a damn sight better than his best.
Thirdly their worst is a damn site better than his worst.
Finally they produce their best far more often than he does.

Do you want to trade them too? After all, you've made the decision to trade T-Lo after he's played two good games, why not trade all these guys that have played average recently?

Hes played a handful of good games in what 3 years?
He kicks in hope,rarely hits targets and frankly is a selfish player.

I give up. I feel like I'm beating my head against a brick wall.

Tell me, why do you agree that he should be traded given that you have no idea what in the hell is available?

I agreed that it is certainly a possibility, but your statement was "I think he should be traded to the eagles". Why? Do you not wish to see what is possibly available, and if nothing is available, trade him anyway? Maybe the eagles will give us a bag of chips for him...

My point, and I do have one, is why worry about trade talk when we still have a few games to go in the season. Especially when the guy has been playing well (yes, he has, really). Let's face it, we have most of our list available and he has forced his way into the team...

You talk about him only having played a handful of good games. I find it hard to judge players from when Drummy was coaching, and the handful of good games he has played this year is only because he has been given a handful of opportunities.

Sorry to babble, but it just seems, sabre, that you are more prepared to stick a knife into the guys you claim to support than actually support them.

Somebody mentioned that Conolly would probally trade him.
I agreed that he should be traded.
Conolly gave him one more year and I dont think he has done enough to warrant having his contract extended.
My only two other suggestions of trading have been Croad and Hadrill. And it is because we are still at least one midfielder short of a premireship. Yet we have an oversupply of Key position players where as most other clubs have a shortage.
Its good logic if I do say so myself.

Same logic Hawthorn used, and gee, they've gone places, haven't they.

hasn't done enough to warrant his contract being extended? How about busting his ass in the WAFL and breaking into a top 8 team that has an almost non-existant injury list?

And I think my argument is just made better by the fact that you want to trade Hadrill.

On the hadrill issue dont get me wrong I wouldnt just throw him away.
I said all along Kerr is all I would take for him, if Kerr was offered I would hope that everyone would take that deal.
The T Longmuir issue he has to play more than 2 good games for my opinion to change on him.
I think hes just making up numbers while we search for another midfielder.
Kicks the ball in hope,doesnt hit targets,selfish player.
I dont believe hes in our top 22 player...so sue me.
And on the issue of trade talk its a fantasy, thats all it is on this site.
None of us have influence on who is traded we pretend and discuss. Lighten up

I said all along Kerr is all I would take for him, if Kerr was offered I would hope that everyone would take that deal.

If Kerr keeps playing like he has been this season, then no thanks. If he returns as the Kerr of old that would go in and under and put his body on the line, then yes, we all would do that trade.

The T Longmuir issue he has to play more than 2 good games for my opinion to change on him.
I think hes just making up numbers while we search for another midfielder.
Kicks the ball in hope,doesnt hit targets,selfish player.

T. Lo used to kick blindy but I think he has really improved that area. What makes you think he is selfish? He has been making some great plays for the team last couple of weeks as well as doing the 1%'ers.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
If Kerr keeps playing like he has been this season, then no thanks. If he returns as the Kerr of old that would go in and under and put his body on the line, then yes, we all would do that trade.

He struggling a bit at the moment but I think thats a good thing, as it could mean that the eagles would be more inclined to trade him.
Some times we forget how young he is and that players do go through lulls.
Haselby went through one in his second year, so I think Kerr is worth the risk.

Originally posted by Kenny_01

T. Lo used to kick blindy but I think he has really improved that area. What makes you think he is selfish? He has been making some great plays for the team last couple of weeks as well as doing the 1%'ers.

Get him within 50 meters of goal anywhere on the field and regardless of who is free and he just puts the boot in and trys to be the hero.
I cant stand that

Get rid of Hadrill ?
Dockers trade him for a midfielder and you guys will have the skinnest backline around. (Or atleast come close to the dismal eagles one -mcintosh)

Keep a hold of him until either Polak or Pharlap get a bit of meat onto them.

Parker can't do all the heavy lifting back there.