Autopsy NMFC vs WBD

When, when, when! Fans are hurting that these losses are mounting. We could have easily been 2-2 if not 3-1 if we kicked straight against west coast, Waites (1.7) could of put us in a better position.

Dogs, cats games both teams were below their best and we matched it. Dogs are very very venerable and we exposed them and surely if they play like that they won't be much contenders.

I don't know when the next win will come but I'm very much so over these close losses.

Surely I hope you're right.

It's very frustrating when you consider we haven't actually won a game in ten million years, but it's all about swings and roundabouts, our time will come.

No idea when, but it will.

Was that garners best game for north?
It was simpkins.
More positives than negatives IMO.

In terms of winning the ball for Taylor, I think it was his best game . I just hope he can polish his disposal up a bit next week

Well it was great day and great game, stiff to lose but liked what i saw from Garner, Turner, Simpkin and Dumont. Cunners was huge and even Thompson showed some courage for the first time in ages. Must have been reading this board. Take note Brad, a bit of tough love goes okay;)

If we're competitive but lose those 50/50 games and snag a top 5 pick then its probably the year we have to have.
We need some elite midfielders, add in Ahern and a big fish next year and we have the bones of a decent team going forward.
Skill level and defensive setup/transition is very poor. We are not hard to play against defensively and other teams/coaches know it.

I can't recall that, but would you say it was a concentration problem? I really like Luke and he 'goes about it the right way', but I sometimes think his brain is turned off. He seems to frequently make poor decisions or look a little lost.
Was just a poor decision. No excuses for it. Suckling is softer than my pillow.

The Thompson turnover in the first quarter was terrible.
Then the Swallow handball missed that cost us a goal.
But gee Ziebell gifting Suckling a goal when we were up by 5 goals and then Higgins hitting the post from five metres - these were the momentum killers. By Leaders.

Was that garners best game for north?
It was simpkins.
More positives than negatives IMO.

Agree. His poor kicking wasn't as bad as being made out. He had two poor kicks and a missed shot at goal. Others were under pressure. But he found heaps of the footy, played with aggression and made lots of opportunities for team mates in the forward line. Along with Simpkin and Turner they formed a great trio.

I hope his body holds up long term.

Glad I'm not the only one who isn't completely discouraged by what we've shown so far - plenty to take from tonight's game just like last week.

The danger of tonight's game was being embarrassed and losing our stranglehold on the fixture for the next decade, so I'm very proud of the effort we put in as a unit, especially the young blokes.

The Thompson turnover in the first quarter was terrible.
Then the Swallow handball missed that cost us a goal.
But gee Ziebell gifting Suckling a goal when we were up by 5 goals and then Higgins hitting the post from five metres - these were the momentum killers. By Leaders.

Then straight after that Atley missed two targets in a minute and they kicked another one. That five minute period lost us the game.

Yeh I posted in the Player Thread about this.
Even Bwuce mentioned Atley should be playing like Johanisson.
The most disappointing player on our list by far.

Hours have passed and I'm still gutted by the loss. So close. So bloody close. As many have posted our skills are ordinary. Too many errors for guys who are being paid a pretty penny at the elite level. It's Frustrating to watch poor kicking and misdirected handpasses again and again. At least we had a red hot crack. Our endeavour can't be questioned.

Cunnington had a cracking game. He was a class above hitting targets by hand and foot.

That was Hrovat's best game for us. Mullet's kicking was good. Ziebell' effort is first class but shit he coughs it up at time. Liked that Garner found plenty of it but again he was another that suffered from sloppy disposal. Simpkin has great evasive skills.

Pleasing that Scotts made some positive moves in an attempt to win the game. Jack up Forward in the last. Taz was swung forward late as well.

Also pleasing that we won both the clearances and contested ball. This was a vast improvement from last week's efforts in these areas.

And yeah LOL at all those pretentious ponces bemoaning the quality of posting on this forum whinging about the whingers. I have 2 words for you Turkeys. Sack Scotts! :stern look

Just was listening to SEN and they said there is a stat that North over the past few years or so have won 4 and lost 14 games decided in under 6 points. Such a bad stat.

The only close ones we win are when we are up by a lot and the opposition rally and fall just short.

Wow. Gave Loogie a 3. That seems bloody harsh to me.

Speaking of Loogie, is it just me or has he learnt how to spoil? I seem to remember him often going for the mark when a spoil was the right option, but this year he seems really good in that regard.
Has definitely improved. Looks a lot more versatile now.

Saw him do some nice things including quick hands to moving receivers in traffic. Composed player and was solid.

Would be great to have a section of the board that is "opt in", for people who post quality. Invite only, mods control. maybe keep it to a changes and post game threads.
Post Quality you say? Well that excludes you for starters. :stern look

Let's face facts. A "Section" like this on the board would consist of only Me, Fish, Onip and Clokey discussing all matters of NMFC and I don't think that's very fair. :stern look

Post Quality you say? Well that excludes you for starters. :stern look

Let's face facts. A "Section" like this on the board would consist of only Me, Fish, Onip and Clokey discussing all matters of NMFC and I don't think that's very fair. :stern look

You're thinking of a different type of "sectioning" ;)

For reference we had 395 touches today. Four players had 41 turnovers between them, meaning at least 10% of our total disposals were turnovers - contributed by just four players!

Our club just doesn't utilise the pre-season to push skills sessions when the players are fatigued. You can't do those kind of drills during the season. Everyone looks good hitting targets in the warmup, it is your ability to do it under pressure and fatigued which counts, we could do a lot more to simulate match conditions over the pre-season.

I just don't think we focus enough on the skills or game play. Sure, fitness is important but there is scope to do a lot more than what we do.

We have some of the poorest skills in the AFL and it undoes a lot of hard work that we do. Our endeavour so far this season has been great and we have done very well in the hardball stats.

Negative- The constant barracking by the commentary box. They're supposed to be impartial callers but they constantly jizzed about the dogs like there was only one team out there.
Monotonous isn't it?
Anyone hear the pitch Dunstall on Thursday night ? Where he questioned the hit from Le Cras?? He almost burst into laughter when saying he chose to bump but made contact to the head.......West Coast are playing Hawthorn next week by the way.

We did get a "its frustrating following North" from Kingy by the way.
Thats all we get.......give me Dal Santo potting Scott and offering his thoughts any day.

Excuse the intrusion, I come in peace

I thought north would slide this year, but they have suprised me

You can't question the endeavour of the team

Loss to west coast, over here. Margin was not ideal but playing with a bit of largely unexposed youth, no biggie with pups and the lack of cohesion

Loss to Geelong by 1 point. Yes it burns and any passionate supporter loathes these and honourable losses but for a semi rebuilding team, was impressive

Gws could Flog any team from 4th-18th this year

You had the dogs. Poor disposal and less so leg speed hurt you. That and Ziebull not being in the square late in the 4th

Preuss
Would love this bloke in my team (as I expect most would). Mobile, strong, good over head, lays tackles, agile, the modern prototype ruckman. Could be anything as his ceiling is unknown

Browny
Tracking nicely. Big bags inthe horizon. Scary how good he could be in 2019

Garner clearly has potential, hopefully he reaches it.

Marley Williams is creative and has good foot skills (which north need). Rate him. Will be good to very good

Miles of potential in simpkin

You have a few aging list cloggers which I won't get into as I'd rather focus on the positive, and those players will be pushed out / traded / retire over the next few trade periods.

So in summary of my waffle, north are still competitive, with some great prospects and are performing better than thier ladder position suggests. Not all doom and gloom, or long term pain

Wow. Gave Loogie a 3. That seems bloody harsh to me.

Speaking of Loogie, is it just me or has he learnt how to spoil? I seem to remember him often going for the mark when a spoil was the right option, but this year he seems really good in that regard.
That's rubbish. Loogie gave Cloke a bath.