A Section Premier Section 2023

I think you will find it is becoming harder and harder to get most kids to play sport as adults now post leaving school in an organised environment, so whether it is at a local club or an old boys club, I think that's far better than nothing at all.

Most clubs have decent connections with the school / school side otherwise they simply would not survive.
Except Old Mentone

The constant talk of privileged old boys is a bit tiresome. Granted that a couple of strong, well-resourced and very well run APS clubs who work extremely hard on recruiting and networks will likely remain at the pointy end but for the foreseeable future, for the rest of us it is a constant struggle. Since last year Old Mentonians have folded and Yarra Old boys merged with Manningham. Both highly regarded AGSV schools with a history in the VAFA. Salesian could not find a decent facility and struggled to retain players so were forced into a merger with St.Mary’s. They survive in name only and the merged entity is pretty much entirely St. Mary’s FC. Westbourne have been rebadged in another comp, likewise St. Francis Xavier. Rupertswood and Eltham OC moved to other leagues as they could no longer compete with the paying competitions. Both the clubs relegated from A grade where old boys clubs, as was the one club relegated from B. That particular club is the old boys affiliate of a large, prestigious APS school and has arguably the best playing facilities in the VAFA. A recent Local leader article on said club suggested they have won 5 games in 4 years (or was it 4 in 5?). Either way I’m not sure how “lucky” they feel on the back of those outputs and a double demotion. Last year 7 old boys clubs made up Div 1. If being a school affiliate is such a leg up why is the 4th grade of the VAFA predominantly made up of old boys clubs? Shouldn’t they all be in A or B?.

For my own club the pre-xmas optimism has been extinguished as the playing stocks have taken a hit due as a couple of clubs from Bedford’s favourite comp opening the cheque book. Being geographically wedged in between EFL and SFL territory, this happens every year and the fact we are an old boys club makes absolutely no difference. Have heard that St Bedes and Mazenod likewise impacted, although to a lesser degree. So the perception that all school based clubs have an automatic leg up is not entirely true. Every club, whether school, uni or suburban based has challenges.

The constant talk of privileged old boys is a bit tiresome. Granted that a couple of strong, well-resourced and very well run APS clubs who work extremely hard on recruiting and networks will likely remain at the pointy end but for the foreseeable future, for the rest of us it is a constant struggle. Since last year Old Mentonians have folded and Yarra Old boys merged with Manningham. Both highly regarded AGSV schools with a history in the VAFA. Salesian could not find a decent facility and struggled to retain players so were forced into a merger with St.Mary’s. They survive in name only and the merged entity is pretty much entirely St. Mary’s FC. Westbourne have been rebadged in another comp, likewise St. Francis Xavier. Rupertswood and Eltham OC moved to other leagues as they could no longer compete with the paying competitions. Both the clubs relegated from A grade where old boys clubs, as was the one club relegated from B. That particular club is the old boys affiliate of a large, prestigious APS school and has arguably the best playing facilities in the VAFA. A recent Local leader article on said club suggested they have won 5 games in 4 years (or was it 4 in 5?). Either way I’m not sure how “lucky” they feel on the back of those outputs and a double demotion. Last year 7 old boys clubs made up Div 1. If being a school affiliate is such a leg up why is the 4th grade of the VAFA predominantly made up of old boys clubs? Shouldn’t they all be in A or B?.

For my own club the pre-xmas optimism has been extinguished as the playing stocks have taken a hit due as a couple of clubs from Bedford’s favourite comp opening the cheque book. Being geographically wedged in between EFL and SFL territory, this happens every year and the fact we are an old boys club makes absolutely no difference. Have heard that St Bedes and Mazenod likewise impacted, although to a lesser degree. So the perception that all school based clubs have an automatic leg up is not entirely true. Every club, whether school, uni or suburban based has challenges.
Great post. We lost one of our best kids to a SFL club , didn't have a job so they're paying him . The money is crazy in that comp and it's probably the worst in the Metro area.

Uni Blues pinching players from VAFA clubs again.

I have a daughter working in admin at Mentone Grammar. She has never heard of 'Old Grammarians Football Club' mentioned in the staffroom by teachers, sports personnel nor admin staff.
I havent heard of "Old Grammarians Football Club either...........(just joking)

Very good post. Jimmyjack, I see your mob have lost a few good players but managed to regain star onballer Liam Murphy who was a star of the competition when he was 20, so I assume a few years down the track he will be even better.

I know our club really struggled to field a reserves side at stages last season and we are in premier section. Mind you, we weren't the only premier section club with this issue either.

As I have mentioned on here, footy is now either serious or very social. Once blokes realise they are unlikely to get a game in the seniors most weeks, the idea of playing reserves football becomes a chore and they'd either rather play in the thirds, train once a week, or go off travelling, go to a club in a lower section where they know they'll get a game every week or just not play at all.

Eastern and southern leagues also come after Collegians players due to where they live as well. I know Caulfield Grammarians have a similar headache as well. This is part and parcel for most clubs, it seems every year you may gain a few, but lose a few too, but in these tougher economic times plenty of blokes are happy to listen to clubs who are going to pay them a few hundred dollars a game to play.

The issues facing old boys clubs are almost the exact same as at district clubs.

I have a daughter working in admin at Mentone Grammar. She has never heard of 'Old Grammarians Football Club' mentioned in the staffroom by teachers, sports personnel nor admin staff.
That is not a shock to me at all. Other than the staff members who play at Collegians or have played there in the past, of which there would be no more than 5 spread across two campuses with hundreds of staff members, I doubt anyone would sit around in the tea room and even know who Collegians are let alone care too much about the club. The school's role is to educate their current students, not to heed to the need of the old boys / old girls football club. That's just my opinion.

Probably because they are called 'Old Mentonians Football Club'.

Very good post. Jimmyjack, I see your mob have lost a few good players but managed to regain star onballer Liam Murphy who was a star of the competition when he was 20, so I assume a few years down the track he will be even better.

I know our club really struggled to field a reserves side at stages last season and we are in premier section. Mind you, we weren't the only premier section club with this issue either.

As I have mentioned on here, footy is now either serious or very social. Once blokes realise they are unlikely to get a game in the seniors most weeks, the idea of playing reserves football becomes a chore and they'd either rather play in the thirds, train once a week, or go off travelling, go to a club in a lower section where they know they'll get a game every week or just not play at all.

Eastern and southern leagues also come after Collegians players due to where they live as well. I know Caulfield Grammarians have a similar headache as well. This is part and parcel for most clubs, it seems every year you may gain a few, but lose a few too, but in these tougher economic times plenty of blokes are happy to listen to clubs who are going to pay them a few hundred dollars a game to play.

The issues facing old boys clubs are almost the exact same as at district clubs.

That is not a shock to me at all. Other than the staff members who play at Collegians or have played there in the past, of which there would be no more than 5 spread across two campuses with hundreds of staff members, I doubt anyone would sit around in the tea room and even know who Collegians are let alone care too much about the club. The school's role is to educate their current students, not to heed to the need of the old boys / old girls football club. That's just my opinion.

Agree with all of this. However cost of living is certainly becoming more of a factor

Reckon every interest rate rise makes guys in their late 20's (with a mortgage) think that cashed up country football is worth the drive (don't train, just play and take the $1k+ per game)

Agree with all of this. However cost of living is certainly becoming more of a factor

Reckon every interest rate rise makes guys in their late 20's (with a mortgage) think that cashed up country football is worth the drive (don't train, just play and take the $1k+ per game)

Why go "bush" when you can go to Balwyn??

Fair point and the rigidness of having to get to training by 5:30pm each Tuesday and Thursday becomes harder and harder for professionals and even some tradies these days.

Covid has definitely changed a lot of people's financial circumstances, I used to begrudge people leaving for paying competitions but I don't anymore.

Getting to training tuesday and thursday has been going on since they first put air in the footy..... In fact since Covid, the whole world has invented the working from home syndrome. This I thought, would have eased the reigid office lifestyle of 9 - 5 working day. As for Tradies, whats changed? They have been going to training, tues and thurs for over a 100 years plus.

I know plenty of blokes now who work from home on Tuesday and Thursday to get to training. Good luck to them for being able to do so, but I agree with the modern workplace pretty much existing 24/7, despite if you're at work or home with access to emails has made it slightly harder for young men and women to find a balance, but footy or any sport in general is great for that, as it gives you a solid timeframe to do what it is you want to do at those times and tell your employer to leave you alone!

The modern economy dictates that many professions operate outside of the traditional hours, then throw in cost of housing which has forced most younger people to live further away from where they grew up so many will have to commute home from work and then to training, then throw in complexities of the older players having young families and the time commitment involved in playing high level VAFA footy becomes consuming, its usually okay for the top level players who are afforded flexibility from the coach but the fringe players who have to do everything right to be selected int he 1s it often becomes too much, especially if there is $ offers from suburban and country clubs that come without the time commitment.

I see from the transfers that Uni Blues have stemmed the tide of departures by luring in Tom Cutler (ex Essendon and Brisbane) and Dane Crognale from Caulfield Grammarians.

On that note, there seems to be a number of departures out of Glenhuntly Oval. Is there a particular reason for this? I know that at the end of 2019, a good chunk of players left Collegians due to a combination of work commitments, overseas work opportunities and retirement. I note that the fields reserve team had 9 wins last year and unders finished fifth in premier 19s, so hopefully these players can step up, but it does seem a big task. Good luck to them.